? 1/24 Buddy AMPS 86 +3 61 +5 88- More questions about dosing

lbeachstace

Member Since 2022
Buddy's numbers continue to stay in the green and some blue. This is the best and most consistent we've ever been able to hold his numbers.

We were doing TR but over the past week or so, due to his numbers stabilizing and a couple of other circumstances, we have stuck with this dose - making it more like SLGS.

That being said, we'd like to discuss lowering his dose. We know there could be other factors in play, being that he's at 6.5 units but our vet doesn't feel those are the issue.

Some history about the past and the mistakes we feel our vet and we made along the way:
He started on vetsulin with a vet who refused to learn about lantus and who also gave really poor guidance on increasing doses on Vetsulin. We switched vets and changed to Lantus. The guidance was very vague on how to properly dose. Due to this, in the past, at around 4.5 when is numbers dropped, they told us to dropped the dose immediately. So Buddy's body has never had a chance to find good numbers, stabilize at them and then move down with a plan.

So while we don't know why Buddy is at 6.5, we feel his body has been put thru a lot by bad direction over the past year.

We'd like to try lowering his dose, even if only by .1 units. Has he held is current numbers long enough for us to try?



Yesterday's Thread
 
That 49 last night means you should reduce to 6.0 units tonight. Buddy's dose, and subsequent depot, is large enough that you really need to reduce when you see an under 49. An overfull depot can be a real pain, and potentially having you fighting low numbers for many hours. It's possible that you have broken through some glucose toxicity as well, which could mean a series of reductions. Hard to say for now if that will happen, but it does mean you should be vigilant just in case.

Sorry no one responded to this yesterday.
 
sorry @lbeachstace I totally missed this thread yesterday and instead was replying to an older condo from 1/22. But yes as both Wendy and Elise (Tiffmaxee) have stated, reducing the dose to 6.0 is the way to go for sure. What great numbers he is having though, so wonderful to see. Seems like a breakthrough! :bighug:
 
Hi there I was just looking at Buddy's spreadsheet and i see you shot a full 6.25 units last night please listen to the experts here and reduce to 6.0, I am concerned for Buddy's safety

also, when his PMPS is green like last night, I highly highly HIGHLY recommend checking his BG at least one more time before calling it a night. Getting a +2 is a good, but cats often go lower at night, Hendrick's first really low number happened about midnight one night. The last two nights, when he had a 63 at +2 and a 86 at +2, personally there is no way I could go to bed and sleep well knowing he might hypo in another hour or two at +3, 4 or 5 while I slept

This breakthrough he seems to have had with all these green numbers is a very critical time where extra extra BG checks are needed. He is getting a pretty large dose of insulin, please keep him safe

@tiffmaxee @Suzanne & Darcy @Bandit's Mom maybe if she hears it from one of you? Or if you think I'm overreacting here, please let me know
 
these numbers are just amazing to see!!! look at the green streak yesterday wow. Stayed in the greens pretty much all day!!

nice job catching that nadir of 66 at +3 last night, for future reference at +4 when you got a 71, you could probably call it a night at that point because he was basically flat, no longer dropping (71 and 66 are close enough we consider that flat, or even..not climbing or dropping)

Hendrick did the same thing for a while --- greens during the day, green PMPS, then back to a blue AMPS. Good things are happening for Buddy!! Great job by you and Mike :D :joyful:
 
Back
Top