1/24 BooBoo AMPS 366, +4 66, +12 368

Status
Not open for further replies.

BooBoo Kitty

Member Since 2011
Update: BooBoo's nadir on Humulin today at +4 was 66. I am thinking that I need to switch her first thing tom morn to the Lantus because she was doing ok before today with 1u of Humulin N, and her AMPS was higher this morning than it has been the last couple days and was too low at the nadir so I am thinking 1u is too high now (rebound? could be she was low at the nadir last night and didn't bother to check cause I thought she was doing ok). I could start tonight, the only prob is staying awake to keep an eye on her and also having to be completely awake to check the BG's. Obviously daytime would be preferable. My hubby will be bringing home test strips with him after work, so I will be ready to go today and I also have a negative read for ketones now and those were the 2 things preventing me from getting her on the Lantus today...

Good morning all...

Wanting to make the switch to Lantus this morning, I have not been able to get a keytone test, and I am almost out of test strips. Should I just go ahead and start at .5? I will have to run out of the house for about 1 hour to go get the test strips that i will need today but am wondering if that is gonna be ok to leave her for an hour or not. Should I just give the Humulin 1u since I know she is fine on that and make the switch to lantus when i have all necessary items and will not have to leave her? Need to give the shot in 10 minutes... please advise!

Just tested her again and got a read of 366. My toddler was running around and being loud when i tested 1st, so BooBoo may have been stressed.
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 416! Yikes!!!

I think it's up to you, Stephanie...it would not be a bad thing to stay with the N until you are prepared to switch, her numbers are not terrible on N. There really is not a big rush, so if you want to wait until you are more prepared, that's fine. If I were you, I would wait until you can confirm that there's no ketones.
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 416! Yikes!!!

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
I think it's up to you, Stephanie...it would not be a bad thing to stay with the N until you are prepared to switch, her numbers are not terrible on N. There really is not a big rush, so if you want to wait until you are more prepared, that's fine. If I were you, I would wait until you can confirm that there's no ketones.
Will do. Thanx! I needed some reassurance. i am gonna give Humulin N til I can get a keytone test... so so nervous about making the switch!!!
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 416! Yikes!!!

Just to give more of an explanation, so you understand my thinking....she's getting a decent drop into nice numbers on the N, even though the duration isn't long enough. When you switch to Lantus, she is likely to stay in higher numbers for a period of time while her shed fills, and then longer still if the dose is too low and you need to adjust upward. That's due to the way Lantus/Levemir work, and for a kitty without ketones, the short term high numbers are not a cause for concern. However, if there are ketones involved, you want to keep that time as short as possible so she doesn't end up with serious issues from the ketones...so you would want to start at a higher dose. That's why we keep asking about the ketones...it makes a big difference on dosing and adjustment strategy. Safety first....ketones are not something to be taken lightly, they can become a life-threatening emergency if you are not careful (and sometimes even if you are....)
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 416! Yikes!!!

Yikes! Thanx!!! maybe it's working out the way it should. I'm nervous about switching and lowering the dose too because she just doesn't seem to be doing that bad. i do understand though that the Humulin is hard on the kitties and also that the duration is not long enough. I do want to switch, I am just so nervous. Not too mention I already had her on a super high dose because the vet told me "1' on a 100cc syringe that had 1cc marks. I think the vet prob told the vet tech "1" meaning 1 unit but the tech pointed to the 1cc mark on the syringe! When i joined up on here, everyone couldn't believe BooBoo was still alive! Also she prob was diabetic for a good few months before we got some advise from my sister because I told her BooBoo was urinating ALOT and drinking alot and she said I had better get her tested for diabetes. I just thought she was getting old! So after all this and now that I know that I am doing well and she is doing okay with the Humulin because of being able to hometest, I am just nervous about changing her and bouncing her around more. Just starting to see better #'s and hate for her to have to go through this all again but I do know that Lantus is the better choice...

Sitting here just waiting on BooBoo to pee is annoying tho! I think I already missed 2 chances since last night, darnit!!!
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 416! Yikes!!!

Haven't had the chance to say hello yet over here in Lantus Land, but wanted to give you a hello and welcome! Willie and I are about 6 weeks into this FD business, and I can say, it will get easier. Because it usually takes a few days for the shed to fill on Lantus, I might suggest waiting until Wednesday am to do the switch, with the thought that if BooBoo were to react super well to Lantus and head downwards quickly after the shed fills, that would likely happen over the weekend when you might have more time to home test frequently if needed.

Just remember that you are not doing this alone... you have lots of support here, and ultimately, BooBoo is blessed to have a Bean that is not only taking good care of her, but is even worried about how to give her the best care possible.

good luck!
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 416! Yikes!!!

BooBoo just tested negative for ketones!!! Maybe I should start on Wednesday then as suggested above?
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 416! Yikes!!!

Christie & Willie said:
Haven't had the chance to say hello yet over here in Lantus Land, but wanted to give you a hello and welcome! Willie and I are about 6 weeks into this FD business, and I can say, it will get easier. Because it usually takes a few days for the shed to fill on Lantus, I might suggest waiting until Wednesday am to do the switch, with the thought that if BooBoo were to react super well to Lantus and head downwards quickly after the shed fills, that would likely happen over the weekend when you might have more time to home test frequently if needed.

Just remember that you are not doing this alone... you have lots of support here, and ultimately, BooBoo is blessed to have a Bean that is not only taking good care of her, but is even worried about how to give her the best care possible.

good luck!

Thanx!!! It's been quite a ride thus far and I'm sure more to come...

#'s way down at +4, but too high at AMPS. Could be too much N now for BooBoo? I'm thinking I should start tom morn and be sure to give a skinny dose tonight of the Humulin. Does that sound ok?
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 366, +4 (peak N) 66!!! Yikes!!!

At this point, I'll leave the advice-giving to the more experienced users... it does look at this point as if you're going to be doing a lot of testing at some point no matter which option you take... perhaps it would be better to just get the transition over with!

Good luck!
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 366, +4 (peak N) 66!!! Yikes!!!

I also wanted to pop in and say welcome to Lantus Land :mrgreen: I love the gang here. Their support and advice has been incredible.

BooBoo is adorable!!!!
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 366, +4 (peak N) 66!!! Yikes!!!

I agree with Laurie -- it's up to you when you switch over to Lantus. I would keep in mind that you do want to try to get mini-curves during the initial few days (i.e., testing at +3, +6 and +9) as noted in the Tight Regulation sticky. How available you are over the next several days may be something to factor in.

Also, just a housekeeping detail. Generally, it's best to not add new information to your first post. If someone has already visited your thread (we call them "condos"), they will skip over the material they've already read by clicking on the "First Unread Post" link. Rather, add a new message to the thread which will have the added benefit of bumping your condo to the top of the Board.
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 366, +4 (peak N) 66!!! Yikes!!!

Ok, will do... Still new to all this. Fortuately, I am free to do whatever right now because I am a student and the semester doesn't start up til Feb. 8th. I would like to have her doing well by then because I will not be around as much then. I think at least tonight I need to give her a skinny dose of her N because of the numbers today, but that is just my feeling on it. What do u all think?
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 366, +4 (peak N) 66!!! Yikes!!!

Hi, just wondering what u all think I should do tonight as far as giving a skinny 1u of the Humulin N, or maybe even a .75 til I start on the Lantus tom? BooBoo's #'s were kinda of a rollercoaster today...
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 366, +4 (peak N) 66!!! Yikes!!!

Hi & Welcome to lantus land--My Moonie was on N when we first started-She was up to 3U, when my then vet said give her 4U I said NO! She was not responding well on the N-hiding, scared, very fractious..
I had already been posting here at that time & they told me not to up the dose--to try a different vet
Started with a new vet who said go on lantus--We started on 1 unit of lantus 2 days later & the improvement was great.--If you feel you want to start fresh
that is just fine..Lantus is so much more gentle than N, and the curve is softer--N is a harsh insulin...
I think you are making the best choice.
 
Re: 1/24 BooBoo AMPS 366, +4 (peak N) 66!!! Yikes!!!

Thanx! So do u think starting in the am is a better choice? I don't do so well on no sleep and it is imperative that I sleep when my 3 yesr old sleeps cause ain't no sleeping when she's awake!, lol!!! Anyway, I would like some feedback on what to give tonight as far as the N goes. As I said from #'s today it almost looks like the 1u of N is too much now, and so i was thinking of a smaller dose tonight, perhaps a skinny 1u or .75? Lantus for sure in the am! No brainer there and now I can start cause ketones were negative!
 
+12 PMPS back up to 368...so I went ahead and gave a skinny 1u dose because #'s were higher at +12 marks and nadir was way low. I am definitely starting the Lantus tom and will get up early so I can possibly start a condo and get some last minute advise. I know that I have been told to start at .5, which sounds good considering I am starting to think the 1u of Humulin N is too much now. Also I know that I should do the normal AMPS read, then at +3, +6, and at +9. Anything else?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top