1/24 Autumn pmps-91,+4-359, Casey pmps-334

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
No shot for Mr. Casey this morning since I have no data on how he'd handle it and I've got a ton of running to do today. Gotta start gearing up for the Superbowl we're having some friends over to watch the game and since my beloved Broncos are playing I want to get everything that I can do ahead of time done. Because once the game starts my hiney is going to planted on the couch screaming at the t.v.

Autumn on the other hand got hers but I'm already seeing an all to familiar pattern...by tomorrow or the next day she will make a run to the basement, we'll skip, she'll sky rocket. I'm trying to get her to read how she's suppose to be OTJ now. LOL

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/25 Autumn amps-170, Casey ambg-38

Where ya going Mr Casey?

Of course Lucian is in the black hole again, but I don't know what to do about it.
 
Re: 1/25 Autumn amps-170, Casey ambg-38

And I can't help you because I know nothing about PZI. But I'll be watching you two and learning. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/25 Autumn amps-170, Casey ambg-38,+2-97

Hmmm only up to 97 with food on board...come on big guy drop back down for mom on your own

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/25 Autumn amps-170, Casey ambg-38,+2-97

What dose do you have Casey at now?

I can see it being an unpredictable scale while he is losing weight.

Do all you kitties get along? Are there skirmishes? I am trying to learn not to react to them and let them play out. It is difficult to do since the wound incident of last summer. It really gets me when they go after Alska because he has leg weakness and poor eyesight which makes him vulnerable. I don't like them chasing him up the stairs especially when he runs to his chair and tries to jump up and misses. :o My BF says I should let them settle it themselves.
 
Re: 1/25 Autumn amps-170, Casey ambg-38,+2-97

Go Casey, go Casey! I'd totally forgotten the Super Bowl was this weekend. I'm kind of terrible. The only football game I've seen all the way through is my nephew's peewee. They won the championship for their league for their age last Fall. Now, if it's the Olympics, I'm glued to the TV. Don't know why cause I'm not big into sports, but I love the Olympics. I'm already trying to prepare my Mom. It's Olympics all night every night.

Good luck with the kitties Robin. I don't know if I totally agree with your BF on letting them settle things for themselves. It probably works for a lot of situations, but if someone is really getting picked on, it may not.
 
Re: 1/25 Autumn amps-170, Casey ambg-38,+2-97

Superbowl is in Feb, isn't it? The 2nd I think? Lost track. @-)

Go Casey! Would love to see him kick a$$ and not need that juice! But then, you'd get accused of breaking another one! :lol:

Lucian's back in the sunshine! I'm amazed, coming from the black hole. :o
 
Re: 1/25 Autumn amps-170, Casey ambg-38,+2-97

Got to agree with you Robin. Only when their abilities are equal, do you let them 'handle it themselves'. You're right when it comes to Alska, he isn't as agile and able to defend himself, intervene.

Because I have a decrepit 18 yo, I won't let the 6 yo mess with her. Because Lucian has cattitude, I refuse to allow him to jump in the middle of Patches when she's sleeping and chew on her, which he tries about once a day. I grab him, tell him no, put my finger in his face and smack him on the head and put him on his pillow and he stays and behaves. I don't know what that deal is! :shock: No reason for it, he's being a jerk. But I won't allow it. If they are both up and being pissy to each other, fine. I just have a problem with the whole attacking while she's asleep thing. Could be, because he knows she's younger, heavier and stronger, that is the only time he can get the upperhand. :lol: But I ain't having it! There's only so much you can do, somethings you can let slide, use your judgement.
 
Re: 1/25 Autumn amps-170, Casey ambg-38,+2-97

Hey Mel, I know there is a time difference between us, but I think it's still the 24th there. ;-)
 
Re: 1/25 Autumn amps-170, Casey ambg-38,+2-97

I am with you Holly -- I will be glued to the TV during the Olympics - I really look forward to them.

Debbie - Mel must serve a heaping lot of food if she has to start shopping TWO weeks ahead of time :lol:
and you now have me checking the PZI forum to see how Lucian is doing. I am glad you are getting a lot of advice there. You're a smart one - soon you will be the go-to for all three insulins.

Mel - I am rooting for Denver mostly because I can't stand that Sherman fella - even though they got rid of Tebow. You don't find too many Bronco fans in DC (nor Redskin fans these days) :lol:
 
Re: 1/25 Autumn amps-170, Casey ambg-38,+2-97

Superbowl is Feb 2nd. lol but yes lots of boneless buttery honey spicy chicken wings, shrimp cocktail, Amish mac salad and homemade cheeseball and cracker tray plus from scratch chocolate cake. Not cooking yet just grocery shopping. lol

Casey was at 1.5u but that's subject to change with the way he's going today with zip on board..only 180 @ +18!! depending on where he is tonight may let his shed drain and see what he does on his own or may restart @ .5

Yes only the 24th. Heehee but in my defense had been awake since 4am after not sleeping well. Because Autumn decided she wanted luvins at 4 and crawled under the covers and proceeded to sleep on my neck so she could purr in my ear. lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/24 Autumn amps-170, +6-78, Casey ambg-38,+14-97,+18-18

Thought maybe you had a crystal ball and knew what their numbers were for tomorrow.............was gonna ask you to look for Lucian. :lol:

Casey sure looks good girl!
 
Re: 1/24 Autumn amps-170, +6-78, Casey ambg-38,+14-97,+18-18

@Robin

Most get along most of the time. Very much like human siblings depends on the day. Only two that can't stand each other are Maxwell and Myrrdin but they just avoid each other. And Myrrdin actually loves Maxwell but Myrrdin is mentally challenged because he was a revived still born so his a 13lb muscular 4 year old with the mind of a 12 week old kitten. And Maxwell is a 14 year old who survived Katrina and has a healed skull fracture that causes very very mild hyperplasa (his front legs tremor) Myrrdin can't understand that he can't pounce on everyone to get them to play chase with him. So Maxwell growls at him the moment he walks in the same room or just leaves.

Occasionally the girls spat like sisters but 5minutes later they'll be grooming each other.

My rule is a long as its all noise I leave them be as long as those growling and hissing aren't touching.

Here's an easy way to know if its play or fighting. If they are chasing and wrestling and no one is making noise play ...If someone is growling or screaming its a fight and time for mom to intervene. The hard part is cats play to work on their hunting and fighting skills so it looks the same except for noise. For the most part the minute someone squeals mine break apart. Game over.

If I have to step in both combatants get punished unless one is clearly the victim. But even then I don't fuss over the victim..otherwise it breds jealousy. And more times than not the other cats will stop the fight before I get there. Autumn is famous for wading in and jack slapping the bully. Again kinda like human kids the elder take care of the younger. The only one that isn't really intergrated is Lady Jane Grey she was a mill kitty and is terrified of open spaces and lives under my dresser but she's getting better about coming out to explore more. She gets along with the others when she's out and about. Just being out scares her. At night she sleeps with Maxwell and Autumn on the bed.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/24 Autumn amps-170, +6-78, Casey ambg-38,+14-97,+18-18

That cracks me up about Autumn playing referee!!! That's what I need.

My problem is that Bing has hyperesthesia and does not stop until he has a mouthful of skin or hair - even though to him it is all play. Brio then screams and I have to yell at Bing to calm down or throw him in a room for a while. (Brio was badly wounded this summer when Bing ripped off a chuck of skin). But then Brio takes it out on frail Alska and old Emmylou and so I am worried about how these dynamics will change once the other two are here. When Emmylou's momma gets here she will give back as good as she gets. The orinch boy will just hide even though he is bigger than all of them. We will see how they react through the baby gates. Maybe she will become my referee. That would be cool! Autumn should start a school!!!

I am glad to hear that you use screeches to know when to break in. I don't mind the hissing and growling but the screeching... and the sound of the chair moving because Alska couldn't get up on it...
 
Re: 1/24 Autumn amps-170, +6-78, Casey ambg-38,+14-97,+18-18

You may find that just having Goofus there will calm some of the boys aggression. Since he's an older male. They should naturally defer to him. As well as mom could very well start disciplining the younger ones since she's raised kittens.

In the wild the oldest female and male runs the colony.

Part of your problem before adding your mom's cats was too many males (3) to one female and one male ill. In nature Alska would have been driven out of the colony for being the weak link so as not to compete for the single female. Especially since the civies are close to the same age.

Now you've added a second female and an older male. Ideally adding another female also the same age or younger would be even better. Think of young studs in a bar...they're all puff and stuff over the girls until a handsome older man shows up. then they slink back to their beer. lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/24 Autumn amps-170, +6-78, Casey ambg-38,+14-97,+18-18

Mel, Lucian is back in the black hole at +10. :cry: You know that kills me. :cry:

Hoping a 10 hr or less, cycle will make it better. At least I have that option with PZI, so I guess that is good.

Start HI and end HI, today sure was one of those. Haven't seen that since Lantus. :YMSIGH:

I think part of it was the 300 pt drop this morning, part bounce, part insulin not lasting long enough.
 
Re: 1/24 Autumn amps-170, +6-78, Casey ambg-38,+14-97,+18-18

I know hon I'm checking his condo over there as much as I use to check it here :-D. Part also might be that he has two different insulins on board as you still have some Levemir in his system...Since I know zip about BCP PZI I don't know if they conflict.

Autumn finished the day at 91! Freakin Crazy logically she should be OTJ. I'll be up with her tonight checking for her to dive again. So much for catching up on sleep.

Casey was only 334 tonight and part of that is probably a bounce off that 38 and Lord only knows how much lower he went since he nadirs earlier than Autumn. But that still ain't bad for no insulin for 24 hours. Shot 1u tonight and will see how he settles on that.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/24 Autumn amps-170, +6-78, Casey ambg-38,+14-97,+18-18

I know, it just really hurts me to see him like that and I've had very little sleep too and won't get much tonight either. Know how ya feel. :sad:
 
Re: 1/24 Autumn pmps-91 Casey pmps-334

I can stay up with you tonight for moral support. I am hoping Lucian will settle soon and what's with Autumn and Casey switching places.
 
Re: 1/24 Autumn pmps-91 Casey pmps-334

Awww thanks hon I appreciate it but after this many years of dancing with Autumn staying up with her means setting my phone alarm, rolling over,grabbing the meter and flashlight, testing and going back to sleep...lol Even if I have to feed her up it takes me about 5 minutes and I'm back asleep.

I swear their competing to go OTJ together lol.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top