1/24 Alska AMPS=151 PMPS=294

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
We are enjoying the calmness of just the five of us in a warm house braving against the cold. Civvies are stir-crazy without access to the backyard but Alska seems to be keeping to his room because it is about 20 degrees warmer upstairs (in fact I have to throw all the windows open in the morning - even at 4 degrees - in order to get ready in the morning.)

February 1, they lose their favorite room for a long time. Back to mornings of hopping over baby gates and carrying food up and down the stairs and another LB to maintain. I am still hoping to find a home for the male cat (a beautiful, long haired orinch boy). The bank teller wants him but has to convince her husband who is still mourning the recent loss of their cat. I am also hoping to be able to integrate one or both of them but it won't be without a lot of stressful events.

I am sad that they will be locked in a room but I am anxious to get them here, to get them well and on a proper diet and for them to know what it is like to have a clean LB (my brother was not very good at the latter). They are a little freaked out with the mostly empty house and my brother starting to pack for his new home. He says they are sleeping on his shoulders at night. They have been through a lot these past two years with my parents leaving, their illnesses being ignored and now their home being dismantled. I will probably set up the airbed a couple of nights so I can spend the night comforting them. They are 14 and 16 years old. I want to make their last few years as comfortable as I can.
 
Re: 1/24 Alska AMPS=151

Man wish I didn't have all of mine or I'd take him in a heartbeat!! Wanna trade? I'll give you Casey for him. lol I keep telling Casey if he was just fluffier he'd be perfect. Its kinda ironic that I have as many short hairs as they aren't my first choice in cats.

After growing up with Persians and Himmies the fluffier the better. And always wanted a long hair orange.

So what illnesses do they have?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/24 Alska AMPS=151

I just learned that Goofus (named after the Carpenters song my mother and I used to sing in the kitchen together)- the orange fluffball -- just got out of dental surgery and had one tooth removed. I am not sure what they will tell my brother about the bloodwork but a better diet will help him and he will feel better about eating. I did notice that he drinks a lot of water but I don't see any more symptoms. My brother is weaning them off dry food. Luckily they love pate food. The mother (a long-haired black and orange tortie) has bumps on both thyroid glands and has pulled all the fur off her neck. Her teeth were not great but they were not irritated and bleeding like his were. I am going to take her to my vet to see if the bumps are cancerous.

Last weekend Goofus sat in front of me and put his head against my cheek and purred. It was so sweet. I know he is scared about what is going on and missing my mother. I am going to have to spend a lot of time with them.

You are so sweet Mel. I shouldn't complain about having six (except I am the only caretaker) but these two and their sister/daughter, my Emmylou, won't be around too much longer as they are 13 and 15 years old. I can put up with six for a few years.
 
Re: 1/24 Alska AMPS=151

For the most part I'm the only caretaker here as well. Especially in summer when Jon is working 10-12hour days or they send his crew out of town for months with only weekends home. He's the bread earner, I'm the care taker. lol

I get all the housework, animal care, lawn work except mowing only because our mower is pushing up daisies and we borrow the father in law's mower. I pay the bills, run the errands, cook, clean etc.

Which is why I get really irked when we meet people and they learn I'm house wife. And I get "Oh you're JUST a house wife...so you don't work?" Oh honey I work harder now than when I had a job!! I just no longer get a paycheck. lol

Which is something I've been trying to drive through the step-daughter's thick skull. She has never had a real job but instead gets in relationships where she expects the guy to support her, then after working all day come home clean the house and cook for them then wonders why in a few months they kick her to the curb. Because she brings nothing to the table besides sex.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/24 Alska AMPS=151

My nephew got caught up with a 16 year old girl who was just looking for someone to support her because she was not interested in ever having to work. So she lured my 19 year old nephew in, even went off with another guy on his birthday because he wouldn't sleep with her and when he finally did, got pregnant. Then when she got him all set up with child support payments - she left the state with the baby and a 30 year old guy. They finally moved back to where he could see his child and the child actually hates her mother and won't even call her mom. She is seven years old now. We tried to tell my nephew that she was just trying to trap him into supporting her - but he had to learn the hard way.

Then a couple of years later, another 16 year old girl was using all the same tricks to lure my other nephew in but he was too smart to be trapped. It turns out that this is a common thing in southern Louisiana.

Good thing I work outside the home because I could never mow the lawn. :lol:
 
Re: 1/24 Alska AMPS=151

Aww... it definitely sounds like your mother's kitties have been through a lot in the last while. They are lucky to have you!!! Hopefully, they'll get settled and feeling better and the other kitties will get used to them.

Ahh...the young. That saying that "youth is wasted on the young" is so true. Of course, when I was young, I was like whatever about that. Now with some experience, I see with different eyes.

And nice AMPS for Alska today. Max is hangin' close by at 158.
 
Re: 1/24 Alska AMPS=151

Thanks Holly for your kind words. I am glad that Max and Alska are hangin' at the lagoon today - sharing the rope swing!
 
Re: 1/24 Alska AMPS=151

And Autumn is laying in the grass watching the swinging tails. lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Had to meet BF. Shot late and lowered dose to 1.5.

Civvie Bing is chewing on the cat cicles while they are frozen so Alska can no longer get a mid-day snack.
 
Timed feeders in different parts of the house maybe? Maybe the ones where you can record your voice to call them to their feeders when it opens or just before it opens?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top