? 1/24/26 Pudge AMPS 257

kitten68

Member Since 2024
1/23/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

..been up and down making sure he eats enough at these numbers. :( nugget isn’t feeling too good.. he hasn’t gone potty (1) in a little either.. (???) the amounts also are a little less.. im hoping not blocked or something and maybe medicine helping.. hes going (2) ok.. had some more yesterday. he isnt used to being this high.. then the come down.. maybe why not feeling so good either. 😰

he also seemed not wanting to eat; i needed to check.. because he MUST get his dose this AM.. more Mirataz.. (how soon can the ear be cleaned after application? some of his skin flaked off a little when i cleaned it to put more.. not bad, but wondering.. also need to remember to alternate.. (must do so if days get skipped/not applied?.. it does give ear a longer break.. will alternate either way..)

i feel so silly i didnt increase earlier.. those greens threw me off. :( then of course i misread the sticky. oh well.. i just hope this didnt hurt his body too much while hes trying to heal.. 😞😩..

:note: also i see why Ondansetron is good to have too.. Cerenia is expensive!! i mean.. 🙃.. its like $4.25 a dose.. 🧐..
 
Last edited:
1/23/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

..been up and down making sure he eats enough at these numbers. :( nugget isn’t feeling too good.. he hasn’t gone potty (1) in a little either.. (???) the amounts also are a little less.. im hoping not blocked or something and maybe medicine helping.. hes going (2) ok.. had some more yesterday. he isnt used to being this high.. then the come down.. maybe why not feeling so good either. 😰

he also seemed not wanting to eat; i needed to check.. because he MUST get his dose this AM.. more Mirataz.. (how soon can the ear be cleaned after application? some of his skin flaked off a little when i cleaned it to put more.. not bad, but wondering.. also need to remember to alternate.. (must do so if days get skipped/not applied?.. it does give ear a longer break.. will alternate either way..)

i feel so silly i didnt increase earlier.. those greens threw me off. :( then of course i misread the sticky. oh well.. i just hope this didnt hurt his body too much while hes trying to heal.. 😞😩..

:note: also i see why Ondansetron is good to have too.. Cerenia is expensive!! i mean.. 🙃.. its like $4.25 a dose.. 🧐..
Yes, Cerenia is expensive! I buy at Chewy (but you have to plan for that as vet has to approve the medication and they have to ship it to you.
(They have a generic, a little cheaper).
So you can’t leave it till the last minute when you need it.

Definitely alternate ears with Mirataz. Clean with warm water (and clean ear well). Helps with absorption of medication to apply to clean ear.
Make sure to wear a glove on your finger.

Fluids will help with constipation too. And the MiraLAX or psyllium husk helps too 🙏

Don’t be upset about the increase, just do it now that you know. Give yourself grace. You’re dealing with a lot of factors 🫂

I hope he eats well today and you both have a calm day 💓💕🐈‍⬛🍀🍃🍀🍃💝💝
 
the stress of all of this has broken us both, i really dont know what im doing or what to do half the time.. and im by myself doing it.

appreciate the advice and guidance here so much.. but ultimately its up to me what gets done and where to go. :( its on me.. and of course there are differing opinions and advice, too, sometimes; theres not complete consensus. sometimes its confusing. was so confused about his dose today that he got it 50 min after his breakfast (he ate very well tho).. im just gonna try to make sure he eats more.. he also gets a +1 and +2.. thus went with 1.25 because i couldnt take any more time to think about it. he doesnt feel well today. i needed to increase him a day or two ago.. just his numbers werent too bad and i thought we had time cuz ive been afraid because of his appetite.. and those blasted greens.. i was going slowly. how things rip apart your plans..

i just hate where his numbers are rn. im just going to take him back up, as was suggested.. 1.5 u tonite. my only thing is that he’s been off it about 10 days.. idk if thats a problem. he needs his insulin tho. im hoping its uneventful and things get better..

just.. is any of this worth it at this point? we’ve tried so hard.. and its just been new thing after new thing to get in our way.. life i guess? but idk. feels cruel sometimes. the cat doesnt feel well. we sought help and didnt get it in time from doctors, or they couldnt be bothered.. life is really scary and uncomfortable rn. im hoping these antibiotics show good.. and that his sugars didnt interfere w him getting better by hurting his organs etc.. esp his kidneys. want him as strong as he can be. :( this came on fast….. infections do that.. and idk if its been caught on time. we’re holding out to see how his blood looks.. but im tired. i feel stupid and overwhelmed all the time.

❤️‍🩹
 
I see you've even been to 2.75, and since you know he can handle that, I wouldn't worry about going up to the 1.5 quicker. But that's just my take. When you get so many bits of advice, you just evaluate it all, and then choose what 'feels right' for you. People can all give great words of wisdom, but only you know your cat through and through. Your will be his best advocate and healer.
And it's definitely worth it to keep trying. I've got several cats with multiple issues. My current worst, now that Nico had gotten past his worries, is my Angel. Has allergies and asthma✔️. Ibd✔️. And now has intestinal cancer. BIG✔️! But you do what you can and keep on fighting. As long as they're in it, we help them through. Heck, I had to run to the vets yesterday afternoon because she started squinting one eye and had been for 2 days. Sent a pic to my doc (she's given me her cell and home number as she knows I do rescue & always in need), and she said... You better come get some meds before the storm hits!
So now on top of the fluids twice a week, chemo and B12 shots once a week, and meds given 4x a day? We have this. But at the moment, she's just sitting at the window, chirping at the birds. So I know she's not ready to throw in the towel yet.
So we continue. ;)
Hang in there. You'll get him back on track and easier days will come
 
Oh yeah! I forgot to, but another thing that can help with the appetite, are massages. Kid you not. Giving your cat a massage helps get the blood flow going, and more oxygen throughout the body. Which will increase their hunger, as well as make them feel good.
With my current 'in needs' girl, I have a big, comfy chair right next to her spot to watch the birds, and here's and they're throughout the day, I give her massages. You can tell they like them, when they're leaning into it or reposition themselves. Angel loves her mid to back section rubbed. She'll turn so I get what spots she wants.
They may be unsure at first, but it works
 
Sending healing vines and lots of hugs. 🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿 You and Pudge have been fighting so hard, and you love him so much. I can't blame you for feeling overwhelmed! Give yourself credit and grace for doing your best for him.

(I'm alone in caring for my cat, too. The advice and support on this board are invaluable and I'm not sure I could manage without it, but it's true that the buck stops with me and it is a lot. Solidarity. ❤️)

I'm not going to try and advise, since you've been getting lots of that and I feel pretty out of my depth. But ... if you need help just sorting through all the information you've been given, one thing I have a knack for is organizing information. I could take a crack at streamlining some of it for you, if that makes sense and would be helpful? Let me know, I don't want to overstep. :bighug:
 
::update::

so.. just gave some fluids. and it went great.. glad for that. I wasn't nervous and know more how to go about it.. he got around 50 mL.. yay. hope its ok tho w time.. trying to fit in everything and its hard. doing best. time between fluids and shot will be around 1 hr 40-45 min or so..

I appreciate everyone so much. 💖
will answer more when get some time tonite..

1.25 U is doing nicely tho so far???.. brought things down.. see where goes.. or still just go back to 1.5 tonite? @Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @Suzanne & Darcy @Staci & Ivy shot time around 8:40.. (this morning got delayed a lot..)
 
Last edited:
You can't tell what 1.25 units is going to do for him until the depot is built, so six cycles. New Dose Wonkiness can also be a factor. Having said that, 1.25 units was not his good dose before all this started. You hold the syringe, your decision.
 
You can't tell what 1.25 units is going to do for him until the depot is built, so six cycles. New Dose Wonkiness can also be a factor. Having said that, 1.25 units was not his good dose before all this started. You hold the syringe, your decision.
right.. think its worth a shot?? 🥰 Or should just go back to the good one (1.5)? right nope it wasnt.. not 1.25.. hadnt bern reached yet. 1.5 is the last good one. and was thinking.. u dont go past good ones until youre supposed to? 😬

(its so hard sometimes wendy.. ❤️‍🩹 cus idk. 😅.. but u and others do a lot.. idk 🙃🫶🏼)
 
..maybe will take tonite, increase in AM?..
You can't tell what 1.25 units is going to do for him until the depot is built, so six cycles. New Dose Wonkiness can also be a factor. Having said that, 1.25 units was not his good dose before all this started. You hold the syringe, your decision.
whats new dose wonkiness again?
 
..maybe will take tonite, increase in AM?..

whats new dose wonkiness again?
New dose wonkiness is when they go a bit higher before they drop back down when you’ve given an increase. The depot needs to settle to see what the increased dose can do for Pudge.

Glad fluids went well. You’re doing great 💕💓💕💓💕💓
 
New dose wonkiness is when they go a bit higher before they drop back down when you’ve given an increase. The depot needs to settle to see what the increased dose can do for Pudge.

Glad fluids went well. You’re doing great 💕💓💕💓💕💓
tysmmmm 🫶🏼 i decided.. to go back to 1.5 u 😬.. it was his dose before everything.. and i had reduced to just get a handle on things.. those numbers the past two cycles were really hard on him. :( i could tell.. im still trying to adjust, but we out of time.. these numbers. 🫤

ty for explaining! i tried reading but my brain has evaporated for the time being 🫠🤡🫶🏼
 
Back
Top