1/23 Tessie Lou's +4 is 148 - First Blue on Lantus!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Hi all,
Tessie Lou's AMPS was 326 this a.m., and I just took her +4 and it is only 148! This is Day 7 on Lantus, and her FIRST blue number :o , so I'm thinking (hoping) maybe this is a turning point? She is acting fine, just not as hungry as usual.
 
Very nice! I would try to get a +5 since there is a good deal of momentum behind that drop at +4.

I saw your post in Princess' condo. Just a bit of info. Patricia has a huge amount of data on Princess. She's been at this for a long time. The vast majority of cats need to spend time in numbers below 100 for their pancreas to heal. Until you have worked the Tight Regulation Protocol from every possible direction and for a solid period of time, I would not assume you have a cat who will be tightly regulated or be in remission with numbers above 120 or who can earn a decrease if numbers are above the researched cut offs that we use.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Very nice! I would try to get a +5 since there is a good deal of momentum behind that drop at +4.

I saw your post in Princess' condo. Just a bit of info. Patricia has a huge amount of data on Princess. She's been at this for a long time. The vast majority of cats need to spend time in numbers below 100 for their pancreas to heal. Until you have worked the Tight Regulation Protocol from every possible direction and for a solid period of time, I would not assume you have a cat who will be tightly regulated or be in remission with numbers above 120 or who can earn a decrease if numbers are above the researched cut offs that we use.

It's already +5.5, but I'll get another one here in a minute. I appreciate your warning about Princess. I know my girl has a long way to go, and will probably not be like her.
I just want her to be healthy - even if that means daily insulin. But, I am excited about this blue number. :-D
 
Nice bit of surfing. I wanted to make sure Tessie Lou wasn't dropping further. It looks like a lovely bit of blue surfing!!

Don't be upset or disappointed if your kittie's numbers bounce back up. Tessie Lou dropped into numbers she's not used to spending time in. Often, at this stage of diabetes management, the liver panics and dumps a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones into the bloodstream and numbers spike up. This is a normal response and it can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear.
 
Sienne, I appreciate the heads up on the possible bounce. I can't wait to see what her PMPS is. I guess I'll see what it is, and then decide about spot checks through the night. I really don't think any of us get very many good night's sleep, but sleep is highly overrated, right?

Thanks, everyone, for the well wishes!
 
Sienne, don't think I know Randi/Max, but I'm sure that sentiment has made its way around this circle! :lol: Tessie did bounce tonight, her PMPS was 359. It's ok, I was ready for it. Just planning to monitor through the night...zzzzzzzs--NOT!
 
Not that I would ever discourage someone from testing, but... I'd get a +2 and then decide whether you need to do much more testing -- maybe a +4. It may be a save-a-strip night. I'm a big fan of getting sleep when you can.
 
Hi Sandy and Tessi Lou,


yeeeaaahh for Blue's :razz: . Thanks for visiting our condo today. We are excited for tomorrow.

Have a great night cat_pet_icon .
 
HI Tessie Lou I can see I missed your first blue I am so sorry its so exciting isn't it when they start to see those lower colors just wait till you see that first green :mrgreen: ~O)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top