http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...n-what-do-i-do-if-green-amps-tomorrow.189999/
Well I guess bouncing into yellow is better than bouncing into red.
Well I guess bouncing into yellow is better than bouncing into red.
A skip will mess with the depot, but sometimes it is necessary. It's better to have the depot messed up than to have Silver go too low when you're not at home. You can always get back on track. I'm glad you don't have to skip this morning.I have skipped a green and a blue before but it wrecked his depot as someone on here told me.
I am concerned that nothing has really changed with his numbers as the change of meter is what has lowered the numbers so I am worried about accuracy. Glad he is clearing bounces faster though. On the Accu-check he was 329 this am and I know I need to stop doing that - but its hard not to compare. Worst case scenario I could put more food out as I am walking out the door - I feed him at 6 and leave at 6:30 - but he would scarf it down right away and/or the other civvie would.When I started to respond this thread wasn't up and running, and you hadn't got the amps.
here is what I said
Let's just see what number he is at.
I wouldn't be surprised if he is quite high.
Because of your personal circumstances, a skip is the safest course of action if he were green/low blue(not that I like skipping), but as silver can't have food left out and with the limited data on how he reacts to a low PS it certainly would be safest.
Looks to me that his PMPS last night was him on the rise, I wouldn't be surprised if he went a fair bit lower somewhere in that am cycle yesterday. It looks like he bounced of those blues on Jan 21 and cleared the bounce yesterday Jan 22 in the am cycle. So it appears that he is clearing his bounces quite quickly.
Even if he is high this morning I wouldn't be surprised if by this evening you would be looking at lower numbers.
Me too. I hate skipping too as I feel like I am starting over with a depleted depot. Thankfully so far his lows have been in the evening cycles.That's not bad for a bounce. I hope Silver comes back down slowly today.
A skip will mess with the depot, but sometimes it is necessary. It's better to have the depot messed up than to have Silver go too low when you're not at home. You can always get back on track. I'm glad you don't have to skip this morning.
That’s where I get confused as he WAS in the pinks on his usual meter I just switched. But it was also blue on usual meter last night.Not a bad bounce after his first green pre shot number. Lots of kitties would be in the pinks.
As you see, he is coming down. You will make yourself crazy using two meters. Decide on which one you will use and only use that one and follow the protocol other wise you will be second guessing everything.That’s where I get confused as he WAS in the pinks on his usual meter I just switched. But it was also blue on usual meter last night.
I agree Bobbie, you know how I was/am about testing, I would have driven myself nuts, my solution, only have one brand of strips in the house, I wouldn't have been able to help myself otherwise.As you see, he is coming down. You will make yourself crazy using two meters. Decide on which one you will use and only use that one and follow the protocol other wise you will be second guessing everything.
I switched because DCIN gave me a FSL and strips but I wanted to wait til accucheck strips were done. I saved back a few accucheck strips in case I saw a really low number and was too chicken to shoot. The accucheck higher reading night help me decide. Take last night for instance. 5.3 on freestyle and 9.4 on accucheck (sorry - at work so can’t see ss to give US numbers). I think that’s a big difference even in small numbers. Green and blue.I agree Bobbie, you know how I was/am about testing, I would have driven myself nuts, my solution, only have one brand of strips in the house, I wouldn't have been able to help myself otherwise.![]()

Actually I don’t do that much testing. I know he is safe. I will get a bedtime test as usual which is generally +4. I don’t see a need for hourly testing. He always food spikes too so no worries about him dropping too low in the first couple hrs.It looks like he cleared the bounce today. I'd start with a +1 and a +2. That should tell you if he went lower today and is going to bounce again or he'll surf tonight.
I agree, no need to hourly test but, when they start giving you lower numbers than previously, the +2 is a beautiful one to get. Why? Because it tells you if the cycle is going to be active or not if you get the same number or lower than the pre-shot, it's a heads up and you will know to see him through his nadir. I only do a +2 now if I know that I have to leave the house and then I might leave an extra snack for him. Also, if it's looking like the cycle could be active, you can intervene with a tsp or so of LC food to just slow it down some to help prevent a fast low drop which would result in more bouncing.Actually I don’t do that much testing. I know he is safe. I will get a bedtime test as usual which is generally +4. I don’t see a need for hourly testing. He always food spikes too so no worries about him dropping too low in the first couple hrs.
Ok. If I get a green pmps I’ll make sure to get a +2. I can do that all evenings except Thursdays as I have to go out and not back til the +3.I agree, no need to hourly test but, when they start giving you lower numbers than previously, the +2 is a beautiful one to get. Why? Because it tells you if the cycle is going to be active or not if you get the same number or lower than the pre-shot, it's a heads up and you will know to see him through his nadir. I only do a +2 now if I know that I have to leave the house and then I might leave an extra snack for him. Also, if it's looking like the cycle could be active, you can intervene with a tsp or so of LC food to just slow it down some to help prevent a fast low drop which would result in more bouncing.
Once they get used to be in better numbers and their curves flatten out, you will see it happen. A +4 in the evening is great as usually onset has occurred by then and you can get a feel for how the cycle could go. If he starts to get too low, you can steer him with some food. It will all start to make more sense as you come across each different scenario. If you need help, just yell the peeps are from all over and someone is around to help.I’ve never seen him have the same at +2 as preshot on the curves I get
Will do. Thanks loads!Once they get used to be in better numbers and their curves flatten out, you will see it happen. A +4 in the evening is great as usually onset has occurred by then and you can get a feel for how the cycle could go. If he starts to get too low, you can steer him with some food. It will all start to make more sense as you come across each different scenario. If you need help, just yell the peeps are from all over and someone is around to help.