? 1/23 Scratches AMPS 167

Scratches123

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-22-scratches-amps-314-5-280.224646/

Good morning! Wonderful news so far this morning. Scratches sugar started out at 167. I stalled for a half hour to make sure she wasn't dropping for some strange reason (peace of mind for me) and I shot .5
I checked her again at +30 minutes, too soon to see any difference really but again, peace of mind for me. I had to leave for work and I can't check her again for a few hours. She has food to much on. Ill be able to stop home in a couple hours (+4) to check on her.

Last night she had a nice drop with her new dose of .5 so that makes me happy. She usually doesn't do well with reductions but she seems to be doing well with it this time. Fingers crossed!
 
For next time you may not want to wait, instead shoot and then use your time to check a couple of times before leaving for work. 167 is a safe number to shoot...

I see however that you don't shoot any numbers in the blue - why is that?

At some point you're going to have to not only shoot those blues, but eventually greens -

I would recommend not skipping shots when Scratches is giving you some nice blues unless there is a history of dramatic drops after doing so which from the SS I'm not seeing.
 
For next time you may not want to wait, instead shoot and then use your time to check a couple of times before leaving for work. 167 is a safe number to shoot...

I see however that you don't shoot any numbers in the blue - why is that?

At some point you're going to have to not only shoot those blues, but eventually greens -

I would recommend not skipping shots when Scratches is giving you some nice blues unless there is a history of dramatic drops after doing so which from the SS I'm not seeing.
I actually posted about skipping shots the other day. I'm not going to do that anymore. Turns out, I was probably giving too much insulin because at a couple points she was right around 100 and not rising at all pre shot. I reduced the dose as advised and am seeing what will happen. I had a couple hypo moments a while back and I've literally never been that scared in my life, so I'm trying to get comfortable with her insulin again and I'm a nervous, anxious wreck as it is. That's why I haven't been shooting low numbers. Going to "buck up" and shoot those lower numbers now tho because I'm really seeing a change in her recently and I like it!
 
I shot 148 the other night and everything was fine. I shot 167 today. So, basically i'm getting braver and now that she's finally giving me some nice numbers I want to try to keep it that way.
 
I actually posted about skipping shots the other day. I'm not going to do that anymore. Turns out, I was probably giving too much insulin because at a couple points she was right around 100 and not rising at all pre shot. I reduced the dose as advised and am seeing what will happen. I had a couple hypo moments a while back and I've literally never been that scared in my life, so I'm trying to get comfortable with her insulin again and I'm a nervous, anxious wreck as it is. That's why I haven't been shooting low numbers. Going to "buck up" and shoot those lower numbers now tho because I'm really seeing a change in her recently and I like it!

I'm sorry to hear that and can understand that would make you 'gunshy'...and I'm glad to hear you're going to muster your courage and give her the insulin she needs - it literally is lifesaving. It's just that we, as humans just gotta test and test until we know what our kitties respond to as far as insulin and food sensitivity. Medium and high carb foods are your best friends for those times when you think she's going too low for you to handle. That and switching to a human meter since all of the protocols were written using human glucose meters - just something to think about as you learn and gain confidence with this sugar dance.

Have a great day!
 
Back
Top