1/23 Sam - something's up

Status
Not open for further replies.

KristenP&Sam

Active Member
AMPS - 381
+2 320
+6 - 304

I upped his dose from .5 to .6 this morning and I get numbers like these? Something's wrong. I'm going to retest him to see if that 304 I just got was some kind of anomaly. (I would have had more tests today but we've been at church.)
 
Just rechecked and he was 284, so we're definitely getting a high reading for what should be his nadir. There's nothing foodwise that he could have gotten into, so it's not that. I just don't know what to make of this.
 
That's a good question. Klinger always went through his vial well before the exp date, so I can't answer, but based on your numbers it seems like it.
If you could get another vial soon, it would at least help rule out other reasons for Sam's higher numbers.
 
Great catch, Marcy! I've never had it expire before I used it up either...I guess that's a "perk" of a high-dose kitty. :roll: I hope a new vial will take care of Sam's high numbers. You may want to go back to .4 when you get it just in case!
 
It looks pretty much the same to me, but I can't think of any other reason for these numbers, so first thing Monday, I'm calling the vet for a new bottle.
 
Sam was diagnosed pretty recently. It's strange that they sold you a vial with an expiration date so close. I bought charlie's vial last month and it doesn't expire till may 2012. Since your dose is sooo tiny, I would check the date before you leave the vet to make sure it won't poop out on you before you use it up.
 
At the time it was the only vial they had and I honestly thought that at 2 units BID, we'd go through it, which we probably would have. No idea at the time that we'd be at such a reduced dose. Hopefully they have one they can sell me this morning. I called, but the vets don't get in until 8:30 and the techs can't do anything about it until then.
 
wow, pzi had a reputation of going months beyond exp. date if properly handled. this is one noted difference i would think. kind of surprised tho'.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top