1/23 Rusty PMPS 74, +4.5 105

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87486

Good COLD WINTER MORNING, Everyone, It's -18 degrees F. in our backyard,

We all slept well, wrapped in our down quilt last night, Rusty between his beans with his head on our pillows. He ate almost all of his nighttime food and went charging downstairs this morning, eager for his test (and for the thermostat to be turned up!). Today looks like a "rest" day on the shore of the green lagoon. The LagoonMeister has bounced. We had a good test, shot, breakfast (first sitting: FF T&G; Wellness Turkey "saved" for second sitting). Rusty is getting tired of Wellness Chicken and Turkey. I'll have to find another food that he likes (and that likes him) besides FF T&G. I had hoped that the Wellness Core Turkey and Duck would be one that he would like, but his appreciation of it only lasted a day! One problem is that so many foods that are not "fish" contain fish, and Rusty has a fish allergy. He may also be allergic to beef, but I am planning to try him on Cowboy Cookout again the next time I can get to Plattsburgh to buy some. (He didn't have a respiratory reaction to it, the way he does with fish, but he did vomit after eating it. That could have been coincidental.)

I see that Linda posted that Pinkerton had a good night after his surgery. Hoping to hear more good news from her today. We continue to send healing vines to him and to all of our LL kitties and beans who need some.

Everyone have a good day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140

Hi guys .. burrr on the cold winter morning .. Can't blame rusty for wanting the heater turned up :lol: Good luck with the food search .. And it is crazy how many foods contain fish without being fish flavored .. Have a great day, and stay warm!
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140

Hi Rusty hope your day is a good one stay warm brrr that is very cold Ella its 17 here and that is cold but at least its above zero :o Do Lou loves cowboy cookout hope you are able to give it a try again and see if Rusty likes it have you tried blue buffalo? I noticed they had several grain free LC foods out now last time I was at pet smart, or earthborn chicken? http://www.earthbornholisticpetfood.com ... tcciatori/
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140

Morning Ella, I was wondering about your temps this am, as I checked PA and it's cold there and knew your area would be even colder. Brrr....keep warm and safe today. Mags is looking for the LagoonMeister this morning after her in and out day yesterday :lol: with the Bean fooling around with her food. Hope he comes down where he belongs. Mags loves the Cowboy Cookout, only thing it does cause a spike, but only in her. Others here use it with no problem. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140

Morning Ella ~O) ~O) ~O)

Not a bad start for Rusty - bounce is a low one. What I would give to ebb able to say that. :-D :cool: Back to the lagoon in a bit Rusty?

I cannot believe how cold it is there. I saw a post on FB that it is -23 without the windchill in Montreal. BBRRRRRR!!!!! Stay warm! I think it is so great how Rusty snuggles up with you guys tr night - just love that.

Good luck with the fuds. it is so hard when they tire of what was one of their fav foods. and I know on the fish thing - it is amazing on how many things it is actually in. Maybe give cowboy cookout a try again,. Mannie always liked that one too. I need to try that again with him. Since he's been sick it's been hard to find things that are appealing to him.

It was good to read that Pinkerton had a good night last night. I hope Linda is doing ok.

Enjoy your day today, and stay warm!
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140

Good morning Ella. I'm sure Rusty will give you some green numbers today. It's 58 degrees here which we consider chilly but after reading that it's -18 degrees at your location our 58 degrees is a heat wave. :lol:

Have a great day.
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140

Nice start for Rusty!!! I hear ya on the cold and the thermostat - my kitties all huddle around the heating vents when I turn the heat up.

One disturbing thing about cat fuds and allergies that our vet recently shared with us...We've been battling all sorts of food sensitivities with our civvie triplets for years, and I'm sure fish is one of the triggers for Zen. So, I always try to avoid fuds with fish (they refuse canned...'nuther very long story), which is SO not easy to do. But, my vet brought up a good - and frustrating point. As hard as we try to avoid food with fish in it, may food companies share equipment with others, so even when you think you're buying food without fish in it, it may be produced on a line that processed fish, and therefore can contain trace amounts ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile . It was so discouraging to hear that! Apparently, though, there are a FEW companies that don't share equipment...unfortunately, I don't know which, though.

Anyway...maybe a little fuds for thought, as you're trying to find fuds without fish....

Have a great day and stay warm, guys!
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140

Morning guys wow that is cold, stay warm today! Sorry for the bounce but it is a small one and I am sure Rusty will be in the lagoon soon. Good luck finding another food. Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140

What a lovely AMPS this morning from Mr. Rusty! WTG, lil guy!!! Glad you guys were warm last night. I certainly wouldn't want your outdoor temperatures, I tell you. :lol: Although, those temps could easily kill off some of our nasty bugs. Have a great day! Surf, Rusty, surf in the green lagoon, that is. :-D
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140

Ok, I won't complain about the gloomy chill here! :roll: I hope you at least have sun!

Not a bad bounce for Rusty and good luck on the fuds search. Tess barfs on beef too! And I'm amazed at all the food that have fish in them!
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140, +5.5 99, +9.5 59

The LagoonMeister is in the surf.

Thanks for the heads-up on the fish, Amy. Of course it would stand to reason that even if a company didn't share their processing with other companies, and even if the list of ingredients of one food contains no fish, they still all produce other foods featuring fish and probably on the same equipment. Well, can't worry about that too much! The only time that Rusty had a really bad reaction was when I decided to start him on fish-oil capsules. Not good!!

We had a nice afternoon "at home". Rusty played some games, enjoyed two combings, and chillaxed in his baskets. I think he has cleared his little bounce. I also think he's looking for a reducie soon. This is day 56 on this Lev. cartridge and it seems still to be going strong. A new cartridge might be the time to shave his dose. We'll keep going on this cart. for the time being, however.

bbl,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140, +5.5 99, +9.5 59

Swimming around that green Lagoon on this very cold day sounds real good Rusty!!
Glad to see such lovely numbers for him!! Moonie may have dipped in there, but I was out, & didnt catch it..
It was 11 degrees here this am, and for once I am happy this apartment is boiling hot :lol: :lol: :lol:
Tonite it is Normal :lol: :lol: --We are comfy!
If I got Moonie that pet fountain, she's drown herself ohmygod_smile she loves to sleep on the edge of her water dish..
Food, well, I have tried every food, but she just wont give up on the FF....and of course real chicken, or ground chick cooked by her bean..Hope you find something he will likie & is good for him!
Big Hugs & much Love from us!!
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140, +5.5 99, +9.5 59, PMPS 74

Rusty is really showing how it's done today. Great surfing! That lagoon looks much warmer than outside.

Have you tried Rusty on novel proteins like venison or lamb? The Nature's Variety canned looks like they don't contain fish. My kitties both love venison and lamb, although they get raw, I'm sure there's a similar flavour. Ziwipeak also does canned venison and lamb, also without fish, but it may be harder to get as it comes from New Zealand. Not all stores here stock it. I remember Vyktor was served Ziwipeak and I think Helen's Rosy also eats it.
 
Re: 1/23 Rusty AMPS 140, +5.5 99, +9.5 59, PMPS 74

The lagoon meister is firmly in residence. :mrgreen: Bundle up and stay warm!
 
It's -28 in Saranac Lake at the weather station (only -18 at our house). It may go lower, since it is only 11:30 P.M. Rusty is getting ready to come upstairs. He's playing with his toys. He had a good day today and tonight liked his Wellness Chicken.

see you all tomorrow. Thanks for visiting us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top