Re: 1/23 Rocky AMPS 422 +3 299 +5 379 +7 328
I wanted to let you know that i will be adding Milk Thistle to Rocky's food as soon as I can order or find the one made be Jarrow Formula's. It is suppose to help heal the liver. The study found that it was most effective if you could give it 3 to 4 times a day. One of the hospitals had told me that looking at the ultra-sound, Rocky looked like he had a 'diabetic liver.' I didn't ask what that meant.
I KNEW that he was having pancreas pain and instead of trying to feed him anything, the vets withheld food from him, not even a feeding tube, for like 4 days!!! I was so P.O.d. I think this is old school how to heal a pancreas. I believe new research suggests giving small meals throughout the day.
http://www.littlebigcat.com/health/milk ... nder-herb/
The other thing is that I know an all protein diet can make the liver work overtime. I read that somewhere about the Atkin's Diet for people, that it can be harmful. I realize the cat bodies are not human bodies and that cats are strictly carnivores. Nevertheless, I am considering switching him to a canned wet food that has a very small amount of carbs in it. Perhaps another Instinct variety flavor to perhaps give his liver a rest too.
What I am trying to say is that Rocky may have been suffering from fatty liver because he was not eating.
Because Rocky continues to stay in the 300s for an extended period of time during each day, I worry about long term damage to his pancreas. Although his poop is 'normal' in color, it is still kind'a large. But Rocky is big boned cat, but not fat. He only weighs 12 pounds. I'm not certain if his poop is the right size. I feel like it is still too big.
Rocky has had no diarrhea, no vomiting, is not dehydrated, and does not act in any kind of pain since he has been home.
I would like your opinions of his continued pinky numbers, and if you think this is harming his pancreas in any way. I cannot increase his dose tonight or tomorrow morning as I will be gone all day tomorrow. I have tried today to switch up the times I am taking his blood tests to see if I get anything away from the 300s. So far it is not showing that. He is maintaining an even line of 300s..
In addition, wouldn't spitting his meals up into 3x a day, as I have done, perhaps increase his BG too? :roll: :?: In other words, his body is having no time to come down with the insulin dose after eating? The vet had advised me to feed him only 2x day.
I started applying the Fungisan to his skin last night and this morning and he hates it!! :lol: I have never seen him run away from me so fast.. hehehe I think I DO already see some improvement though. No scratching overnight. That is a first. I wanted to give him a bath today with SkinGuard KC but time got away from me. It looks like I won't be able to give him a bath now until at least this coming Sunday.