1/23 Rocky PMPS 317 +2 344 +5 234

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
OMG.. so tired this morning.. Definitely btb after helping Rocky and feeding all the kitties in the cat room. I-)

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=112390

Recap of Rocky's bg yesterday:

AMPS 290
+3 353
+6 330

PMPS 278
+2 369
+4 362
+9 364



Rocky showed negative for ketones last night, so that was good.
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky AMPS 422 +3 299 +5 379

Hope you got some good BTB time this morning Tina!

This disease causes a lot of stress on us beans too, so it's important to try to get some extra rest when you can.

Sorry to hear about the ringworm..that stuff is so frustrating and hard to get rid of. Hope the stuff you bought helps! I know that lime dip, although very effective, takes it's time to work too.

You're sure giving your patience pants a work out!
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky AMPS 422 +3 299 +5 379 +7 328

I wanted to let you know that i will be adding Milk Thistle to Rocky's food as soon as I can order or find the one made be Jarrow Formula's. It is suppose to help heal the liver. The study found that it was most effective if you could give it 3 to 4 times a day. One of the hospitals had told me that looking at the ultra-sound, Rocky looked like he had a 'diabetic liver.' I didn't ask what that meant.

I KNEW that he was having pancreas pain and instead of trying to feed him anything, the vets withheld food from him, not even a feeding tube, for like 4 days!!! I was so P.O.d. I think this is old school how to heal a pancreas. I believe new research suggests giving small meals throughout the day.

http://www.littlebigcat.com/health/milk ... nder-herb/

The other thing is that I know an all protein diet can make the liver work overtime. I read that somewhere about the Atkin's Diet for people, that it can be harmful. I realize the cat bodies are not human bodies and that cats are strictly carnivores. Nevertheless, I am considering switching him to a canned wet food that has a very small amount of carbs in it. Perhaps another Instinct variety flavor to perhaps give his liver a rest too.

What I am trying to say is that Rocky may have been suffering from fatty liver because he was not eating.

Because Rocky continues to stay in the 300s for an extended period of time during each day, I worry about long term damage to his pancreas. Although his poop is 'normal' in color, it is still kind'a large. But Rocky is big boned cat, but not fat. He only weighs 12 pounds. I'm not certain if his poop is the right size. I feel like it is still too big.

Rocky has had no diarrhea, no vomiting, is not dehydrated, and does not act in any kind of pain since he has been home.

I would like your opinions of his continued pinky numbers, and if you think this is harming his pancreas in any way. I cannot increase his dose tonight or tomorrow morning as I will be gone all day tomorrow. I have tried today to switch up the times I am taking his blood tests to see if I get anything away from the 300s. So far it is not showing that. He is maintaining an even line of 300s..

In addition, wouldn't spitting his meals up into 3x a day, as I have done, perhaps increase his BG too?
:roll: :?: In other words, his body is having no time to come down with the insulin dose after eating? The vet had advised me to feed him only 2x day.

I started applying the Fungisan to his skin last night and this morning and he hates it!! :lol: I have never seen him run away from me so fast.. hehehe I think I DO already see some improvement though. No scratching overnight. That is a first. I wanted to give him a bath today with SkinGuard KC but time got away from me. It looks like I won't be able to give him a bath now until at least this coming Sunday.
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky AMPS 422 +3 299 +5 379 +7 328

Although that DKA episode is behind Rocky, it's still visible in the rear view mirror.
Kitties with a DKA history are vulnerable for a while. Something important to consider in your dosing decision.

BTW - great job checking for ketones.
Persistence prevails :cool:

Tina & Rocky said:
I believe new research suggests giving small meals throughout the day.
I didn't read any research on that but BK ate mini meals in between his shot time meals - around the clock.
It seems plausible that it would be easier on the pancreas. Whether it made a difference - who knows.
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky AMPS 422 +3 299 +5 379 +7 328 +9 331

Yah, those ketone tests will have to come when the opportunities present themselves rather than when "i" demand that they happen.

Found Rocky sitting in that "bun" position several time today which worries me a lot. I don't want him to suffer and have another pancreatic episode. I found this happens often when cats are dehydrated. Although with the skin pull test he doesn't seem like anything is wrong, I wonder if giving him 100mL of fluids would help him to feel better and also bring down his bg.

He is only getting 6 tablespoons of water in hi food per day. I honestly do not believe he will eat his food with any more than (2)tbs of water, per meal.

What are your thoughts and concerns?
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky AMPS 422 +3 299 +5 379 +7 328 +9 331

I thought you were feeding him 4 times a day. I would not feed any less than that. yes, small frequent meals are best. some cats are grazers. some cats do best if they don't have food in the second half of each cycle (ie, from +6 to +12) but some cats can handle it.

Personally, I would always feed at least 4 times a day. i think i probably told you i fed punkin at preshot and +3, both cycles. spreading out the meals actually makes it easier on their pancreas because they aren't getting a big load of carbs at once.

Fatty liver comes with too fast of a weight loss. has he lost weight? i don't know if a cat can get it without being accompanied by the weight loss.

yes, fluids are one of the treatments that help cats with pancreatitis. if you didn't read the post "primer on pancreatitis" that would no doubt be helpful. it's near the bottom of the "new to the group" sticky.

i think at your next opportunity you should increase his dose.
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky AMPS 422 +3 299 +5 379 +7 328 +9 331 +11 374

Hi Julie,

No, I first fed Rocky only 2x per day as the vet instructed. Then, I was advised by someone here that I should not feed after the PMPS. So, I have fed 3x a day with the two meals within 3 hours of each other. The first meal at AMPS and the 2nd meal at +3. The last meal at PMPS.


I can never find the "stickies" no matter where I looks. HOw do I specifically get there? What forum is it under?

I am thinking of increasing Rocky's insulin dose upwards by .25u tonight. That would put him at 1.25u. It just so hard to read those syringes. I wish that they made syringes with even a smaller barrel, and that we could clearly see those .25 markings on them. Otherwise, I sort of feel like I'm just guessing. :YMPEACE:

FYI- I had a very old cat, "Jomo," with severe pancreatitis for nearly 4 years. She had a good and happy last four years of her life. I found her as a street kitty who was nearly ready to die. I know a lot about pancreatitis. However, I would like to read the information that is shared with the FDMB as well.

Thanks! -Tina
 

Attachments

  • My little Jomo.jpg
    My little Jomo.jpg
    29.9 KB · Views: 249
Re: 1/23 Rocky AMPS 422 +3 299 +5 379 +7 328 +9 331

I don't have experience with subq fluids so I cant' speak to that. However there is no shortage of folks around here that can. :cool:
Tina & Rocky said:
He is only getting 6 tablespoons of water in hi food per day. I honestly do not believe he will eat his food with any more than (2)tbs of water, per meal.
2T per meal is way more than I can get away with adding to any of our cats food. 6T per day sounds pretty good to me. It's 6T you know for sure he is getting.
Is he a drinker?
Tina & Rocky said:
What are your thoughts and concerns?
DKA. Sick kitties with high numbers raise a red flag in my mind. Hate to see it happen. It's important for you to factor the potential for ketone development when making dose decisions.It's also important for anyone stopping by Rockys condo to keep in mind when offering help.

Remember the recipe that sets the stage for ketones: Infection/Inflamation + not enough calories + not enough insulin

It's important for a CG to be vigilant. However when all sorts of health issues requiring attention and treatment start happening to your cat at once, and the cat is one of 30 or so others in your household I'm sure vigilance can be tough.
That's the beauty of lots of extra eyes - watching out so something important doesn't inadvertently slip through the cracks :cool:

Regarding his history, am I mistaken that he had an episode of DKA before you landed here?
I'm not seeing it anywhere on the ss or in your signature info and I don't see a profile...
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky AMPS 422 +3 299 +5 379 +7 328 +9 331 +11 374

Just a reminder, I will be out of town all day this coming Friday, January 24, and won't be able to monitor him or test his blood until his PMPS time.
In your Tuesday condo.

IMHO if you won't be around to monitor, you should not increase the dose tonight.
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky AMPS 422 +3 299 +5 379 +7 328 +9 331 +11 374

Just a reminder, I will be out of town all day this coming Friday, January 24, and won't be able to monitor him or test his blood until his PMPS time.
In your Tuesday condo.

IMHO if you won't be around to monitor, you should not increase the dose tonight.
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky PMPS 317

Even though cats are obligate carnivores, some cats' numbers are better when they are getting a bit higher carbs in their diet.

Regarding the sticky notes, if you look at the board, the top section, right under the LANTUS (GLARGINE) - Tight Regulation header, is labeled, "Announcements." The next section is labeled, "Topics." At the top of the "Topics" section are are 5 posts authored by Jill & Alex (her name is in green). These posts have a star on the left side and each of the posts begins with "Sticky." The first of these is titled, "STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - NEW TO THE GROUP? PLEASE READ... " These are the starred, sticky notes.
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky PMPS 317

Here is Marje's post on pancreatitis. Another way you can test for dehydration is to rub a finger along the gums. Wet and smooth is OK, sticky means dehydrated.

Multiple small meals with some carbs is a good idea. I've seen somewhere that the average mouse or bird has a few% carbs if you include the stomach contents of seeds/fruit, which a cat would eat. Some cats do better with a bit of carbs to help counter the insulin.
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky AMPS 422 +3 299 +5 379 +7 328 +9 331 +11 374

You can find the stickies near the top of this forum, scroll up the condo list and you will see a thick blue line with 'TOPICS' in white.
Just below there you will find the stickies. They have a star icon and a little lock icon.
A whole world of info.
FWIW I agree with both Julie and Barbara -
Consider raising the dose at your next opportunity, after you return from your travels and can be around to monitor.
Safety first. :cool:
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky PMPS 317

Even though I am gone tomorrow at AMPS +3 and not home likely until AMPS +10 or +11, I raised Rocky's dose to 1.25u tonight. I think it's going to be all right.

I hope that he can come down into some nice sunny yellow by overnight tonight. If not, we wait again.
 
Re: 1/23 Rocky PMPS 317

General" Guidelines:
•Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
•Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...). [underline added]
•Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top