1/23 Ripley PMPS 170, +3 144, enema question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's condo.

Recap: (Yesterday)
AMPS 194
(unable to day-time test)
PMPS 226
+2 183
+4 74
+5 73

Her numbers seem to be back in her 'normal' range. Dusted off those patience pants yesterday.

Ripley has a vet appt. this afternoon; just lab work and check-up.
I'm curious how the vetty stress will alter her numbers, if at all; she hasn't been back there since shortly after diagnosis.

Sending vines and light and love to those who need them today! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

~Josie
 
Re: 1/23 Ripley 113

Hi guys .. ahhh the power of those patience pants! Beautiful start today .. good vetty thoughts being sent, and hopefully it doesn't rocket ripley too high .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/23 Ripley 113

Very nice start to Ripley's day. The lagoon beckons! :mrgreen: Have a good vetty appointment, Ripley.

Looking forward to your update, Josie. Have a fine day.

Ella & Rusty, LagoonMeister (at rest on the shore this morning, but keeping an eye out)
 
Re: 1/23 Ripley 113

Nice start!!! Yep, those patience pants sure do come in handy, don't they! Sending good vetty vines your way - have a great day!!!
 
1/23 Ripley PMPS 170, vet visit, enema question

Today (so far):
AMPS 113
+8.25 99
[vet visit]
PMPS 170

Hi, all! Thanks for all of the well wishes!
Ripley did fine during her visit. I’ll get bloodwork results tomorrow; have to bring her back tomorrow ~ they weren’t able to get any urine from her, try again tomorrow.

Ripley weighs 11.6 lbs.; at diagnosis in Nov. she was 10.1. Vet is happy with her current weight.

The vet said he was impressed with how diligent I’ve taken on the FD treatment. I showed him some spreadsheets, and offered to give him a printout of the protocol (he wasn’t interested in taking it). When I asked about getting a new prescription for the Lantus pens, he had no idea what I was referring to. I got the opportunity to educate him on something that he had no idea even existed!

The one thing that was a little concerning upon her physical exam is that she is constipated. This might be her first ever bout with constipation (that I know of, at least). He wants me to give her an enema at home, then perhaps give her Miralax for prevention. I don’t have any experience with enemas (for cats or otherwise), so I’m open to any advice/tips/instructions. I’m a little nervous. He said to just pick up a kit at a drug store. I’ll probably give it a go on Friday…

A ‘funny:’ Right after all of her vaccines and blood draw, Ripley was placed on the exam table in front of me; she squatted, and pooed a rather large (but hard) poo. So she’s working some stuff out! And she probably was giving them her own editorial comment. haha_smiley

Also amusing: Ripples has a habit of shoving her face into my armpit or the crook of my elbow during vet visits. I guess she thinks that if she can't see them, they can't see her. :lol: She's such a sweetie.

Thanks for your input!
~Josie
 
Re: 1/23 Ripley PMPS 170, vet visit, enema question

Josie & Ripley said:
Today (so far):
AMPS 113
+8.25 99
[vet visit]
PMPS 170

Hi, all! Thanks for all of the well wishes!
Ripley did fine during her visit. I’ll get bloodwork results tomorrow; have to bring her back tomorrow ~ they weren’t able to get any urine from her, try again tomorrow.

Ripley weighs 11.6 lbs.; at diagnosis in Nov. she was 10.1. Vet is happy with her current weight.

The vet said he was impressed with how diligent I’ve taken on the FD treatment. I showed him some spreadsheets, and offered to give him a printout of the protocol (he wasn’t interested in taking it). When I asked about getting a new prescription for the Lantus pens, he had no idea what I was referring to. I got the opportunity to educate him on something that he had no idea even existed!

The one thing that was a little concerning upon her physical exam is that she is constipated. This might be her first ever bout with constipation (that I know of, at least). He wants me to give her an enema at home, then perhaps give her Miralax for prevention. I don’t have any experience with enemas (for cats or otherwise), so I’m open to any advice/tips/instructions. I’m a little nervous. He said to just pick up a kit at a drug store. I’ll probably give it a go on Friday…

A ‘funny:’ Right after all of her vaccines and blood draw, Ripley was placed on the exam table in front of me; she squatted, and pooed a rather large (but hard) poo. So she’s working some stuff out! And she probably was giving them her own editorial comment. haha_smiley

Also amusing: Ripples has a habit of shoving her face into my armpit or the crook of my elbow during vet visits. I guess she thinks that if she can't see them, they can't see her. :lol: She's such a sweetie.

Thanks for your input!
~Josie

Miralax is a good start but be very careful to add lots of water to Ripley's food because miralax draws the moisture from the body and into the stool to soften it for smooth passing. if you do not add water to the food, or give subQ fluids in drastic cases, you will end up with a dehydrated cat.

You can start with 1/4tsp miralax in Ripley's meal.... to me, I would want to put in the pm meal so that it can get to work overnite, but it's up to you when you give it. I would give it a few days to get things moving; just watch the output and adjust the dose depending on the state of Ripley's deposits.... if a little loose, give less miralax; if still too firm or you are still seeing straining, maybe up the amount, but please mix as much water as you can in the food because it's needed.

I will say that the enemas can get very messy but if needed, ya gotta do what ya gotta do!
 
Re: 1/23 Ripley PMPS 170, vet visit, enema question

Gabby does the same thing -- her head is in the crook of my arm. I think she wants me to protect her. She really hates car travel and is pretty scared at the vet.

No advice about an enema.
 
Re: 1/23 Ripley PMPS 170, vet visit, enema question

Josie & Ripley said:
...He wants me to give her an enema at home[/u], then perhaps give her Miralax for prevention. I don’t have any experience with enemas (for cats or otherwise), so I’m open to any advice/tips/instructions. I’m a little nervous. He said to just pick up a kit at a drug store.
Don't use a human enema from the drug store, those usually contain ingredients which can be fatal for cats. You might be able to use a baby enema of pure gylcerine (if you are sure it contains nothing else) but that might not be as effective.

For cats you need a "Feline Pet-ema" which you can likely get from a vet or vet supply. It contains Dioctyl Sodium Sulfosuccinate (DSS) a stool softener in glycerine which is safe for cats. I think I got them on Amazon.

Hopefully some of our gurus can explain the proper process (I had to teach myself) but I doubt most would want to try this at home. If you can do it at home, perhaps you can keep your pet more comfortable through the entire less than pleasant process.
 
Re: 1/23 Ripley PMPS 170, vet visit, enema question

Glad Ripley gave her pressie to the vet in the clinic! :lol: :lol: That's the best!
No advice on the enema. I gave Miralax & sometimes steamed mashed pumpkin mixed with Rosy's canned & it helped her with her hard stool.
 
Re: 1/23 Ripley PMPS 170, vet visit, enema question

Sorry about the constipation, but glad everything else went well. Muffin does the same thing - hides her face in my elbow, and I used to pet her to try and comfort her. Finally I realized that SHE realized if I was petting her, she must not be hidden, and she would shake like a leaf. So now I don't pet her or talk to her much or anything, and she doesn't shake anymore. :lol:
 
Re: 1/23 Ripley PMPS 170, vet visit, enema question

Yeah the enema stuff t home would make me a little nervous. Wonder why they didn't do it while she was there?

Poor baby! I hope she feels ok.

Gracie rolls up in a ball like an armadillo :lol:
 
Thanks for all the input.

Just ordered some Pet-ema from amazon.

We'll see how it goes (but it'll have to wait 1-3 business days).

I love all the felines' survival mechanisms at the vet! We are their protectors, after all cat_pet_icon

~Josie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top