1/23 Lucian AMPS 343, +10/226, PMPS/HI!

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
1/22 Condo

'Morning,

Fell asleep about 4 something, but got PM +3 & +6.

I think he would have gone a tad lower, had he not been snacking every 2-3 hrs. He got either a couple pieces of FD liver treats or .75oz (1/4 can) of FF , each time. He had not eaten 3 hrs prior to testing.

He gets his AM shot 30 min after testing and eating. Will keep him on the same, 1.5 U, dose this morning.

Hopefully, these tests will help experienced eyes to give me some advice on dosing, I think I need to increase his dose by .5 U starting tonight or in the morning 1/24 :?: . Probably in the AM so I will be able to watch him during the day.

Also, his ears are getting sore, last few tests, he 'cries' when I poke him, no matter which ear it is. I'm using Neosporin, anything else I can do? :?:

Heading BTB in a few minutes, for a few more hrs. :smile:

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.


Thank you.

Debbie and Lucian
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343 - Dosing ???

FWIW, I test, feed, and shoot all within 5 min. I actually give Gabby her shot while her head is in her bowl. There's no chance I'm going to get distracted and leave the syringe on the counter!

Are you using Neosporin with Pain Relief? That may help. What gauge are your lancets? If you're doing well with testing, you may be able to use a thinner lancet (e.g., a 30 gauge).

I presume you're already shot if you have an AMPS? I would hold the 1.5u dose this cycle. Can you get a late cycle test today and we can take a look at what Lucian's numbers look like and decide about dose for tonight?

I hope you're feeling a bit better this morning. Lucian's numbers did come down to a more reasonable level.
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343 - Dosing ???

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me .. but are you rubbing his ears before poking, to get the blood flowing, and then once you've tested, slightly applying pressure to the poked area? And yes, make sure the neo has the pain relief in it .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343 - Dosing ???

I JUST bought a new box of lancets yesterday, 28G, because that is what I was told to get and I have been using the ones I had, which are smaller, haven't even used the 28G yet, but they are opened and I can't take them back anyway, I'm sure. I also bought neosporin yesterday, but it's not pain relief. I had to get the 'house' brand, due to the cost. I can't afford to buy these again. I'm stuck with what I have and very concerned that I won't have the money when he needs more insulin. :YMSIGH:

I'll get a late cycle test, maybe +10?

I don't rub them, I warm them with a rice sock. He doesn't care for me to rub them. I do hold them and put pressure on the site for a few seconds, so there is no bleeding, then put on the neosporin.

Debbie and Lucian
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343 - Dosing & lancets??

After a 3 hr nap, at least I have 1 eye open! ~O) More coffee......

Ya know, I do have a bunch of those 32G needle tips for the pen (like 80+)........I bet I could use those like a lancet and maybe give his ears a chance to heal up. Maybe they would be less painful. But would they be big enough to actually draw blood? or would they be so thin they would just pierce?

I thought about trying to use the device again with the 28G, but that was such a disaster for us, I don't want to risk it. He's just now getting to where he isn't fighting me severely.

Maybe I am doing it too slow, I'm not trying to, but my sight isn't the greatest, hence neither is my aim. I'll try to do it a little quicker.

Anyone else have their baby's ears hurt? Anything you can think of besides buying something else, which I just can't do.

Thank you all.

Debbie and Lucian
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343 - Dosing & Lancets??

I had to buy reading glasses and I also use a magnifying glass for dose measuring. I use 30g lancets here for Do Lou.
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343 - Dosing & Lancets??

Hi Lisa,

I wear bifocals. ;-)

Dosing hasn't been too much of an issue, just getting out that evasive tiny bubble, that causes me to lose meds every time, in order to get it out and be accurate. The lighting in my apt isn't great, but for whatever reason, the way the light hits in the bathroom, seems to be the best for seeing his dose.

Have you had any problem with your baby's ears hurting from testing? Although I bought 28G lancets, I haven't used them yet and in doing a side by side comparison, they are much bigger that the ones I am using. (don't know the size) I kept debating on the 28 vs 30, in the store, but went with the 28 since that had been recommended several times. I guess that is best when 1st starting to test. Wish I had bought the 30, they were out of 31 at the time. But now I'm stuck with them.

Thank you for the reply.

Debbie and Lucian
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343 - Dosing & Lancets??

I use the 33 gauge lancets, which are thinner than the 30 gauge. After making sure that the bleeding has stopped, I put a small amount of the Equate version (Walmart brand) of Neosporin on, but it has pain relief in it right after I'm sure that the bleeding has stopped. Over time, Blackie's ears have become hardened due to the testing, and she still feels it. I try to make sure that I poke her just enough to get a bead of blood for the monitor.

With regards to the bubbles, I also waste a bit of insulin to ensure that the bubble leaves the syringe. I draw just enough that I feel I need (about .5 unit's worth) to remove the bubble, and when the bubble goes, there's always a bit of insulin left, at which time it is removed as I get closer to her correct dose.

I wear an old pair of reading glasses compared with Mag-Eyes, which I also use for cross stitching. I have 2 lenses for the Mag-Eyes, 1 of which is stronger, and that's the lens that I use along with my old pair of reading glasses for testing, and shooting.

You could also try finding a large magnifying glass that has a string around it to put around your neck, and hopefully that'll help you to figure out the doses more easily and correctly. It was suggested to me that I try a pair of 4" calipers to help with dosing, as well. That may be something worth looking into.
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343 - Dosing & Lancets??

I've thought about changing lancet gauge before, but I just haven't had good luck with the smaller lancets. As it is, I often have to poke more than once to get a blood drop. We have been using OneTouch UltraSoft 28G lancets for 8 years.
They just seem to work the best on J.D., so that's what I go with. I buy them from EBay. The last ones I bought from EBay were less than $2 a box of 100. I save money using EBay a lot. It sometimes takes awhile, but if you're patient, you can get some good deals on EBay. And as far as needing new insulin, when you're ready, I would check out The Supply Closet on this forum from time to time. There will be people with insulin they can't use, either giving it away or selling it for a good discount.

I bought the Equate brand of Antibiotic Cream (most people use Ointment) Plus Pain Relief from Walmart. It is a lot less expensive than the real Neosporin Plus Pain Relief.
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343 - Dosing & Lancets??

I use the Neosporin cream with pain killer, too. I think it absorbs better than the ointment and it doesn't leave a sticky residue. I only put it on at bedtime, so that the ear can heal overnight.

You say that you wear bifocals. Can you see up close without your glasses? I find that if I just look over the top of my glasses I can see much better up close than I can with the bifocal part of my prescription, which is designed for "reading" distance. I use a small camping headlamp to put light just where I want it. Here's a link to one that is good and also inexpensive:
http://www.campmor.com/outdoor/gear/Product___55601

Good luck with the lancets. I would think that you could easily use the pen-needle tips that you have no other use for. Try one and see!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343 - Dosing & Lancets??

People probably recommended the 28 gauge at the beginning because it can be hard to get a cat's ear to bleed. As Lucian's ear bleeds more easily and the capillary bed is built up, you can easily go to a smaller lancet. It's a trade off. The wider gauge will allow you to poke fewer times but it can be a little more painful. The thinner gauge doesn't hurt as much but you may have to poke a few times.
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343 - Dosing & Lancets??

I do look thru my bifocals and over them each time, just to make sure. But I will need something else if he goes to less than .5 increments. Those I can see fine.

I looked at Dollar Tree in hopes of finding a 'headlamp' since they sometimes do have 'odd' things in there that you wouldn't expect, but no such luck.

I can't afford to buy anything off Amazon right now, can't do the shipping and can't spend $25 to get it free. Maybe later. Edit - Oh shoot! you said Ebay not Amazon, sorry.

Next time I'm at Walmart, I'll check on the price of the Equate brand w/ pain reliever. Money is really tight until my attorney gets my Worker's Comp picked back up and that could be a month or more. As it stands, I have my rent $$$ for Feb and not much over that. So I have to be extremely frugal and make do with what I have.

I just hate to think I am causing him pain, he already feels lousy, I'm sure. Last couple tests, he has been keeping his distance from me, even when I tried to bribe him with the FD liver treats that he loves. They are a major splurge, but the dog version @ 8.99 for 5 oz is much cheaper in the long run, than the .85 oz for cats and I just break them up.

Thank you all for the advice.

Debbie and Lucian
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343

Hey, Debbie -

Playing catch-up around here today (the story of my life), but wanted to chime in and say we test beside a lamp to give added light and use 30 gauge lancets http://www.americandiabeteswholesal...afety-seal-lancets_1221.htm?source=SiteSearch that we order the same time as our syringes and test strips. For dosing, I wear my bifocals (I have a friend on here who said she wore two pairs of glasses when dosing!), we use calipers and a lighted magnifier. We bought the calipers and magnifier from Harbor Freight. I know there's one in Durham, not sure if there's one closer to you or not. The calipers we use are on sale right now for $9! http://www.harborfreight.com/4-inch-digital-caliper-47256.html. They have different magnifiers, but here's the one we use http://www.harborfreight.com/desktop-magnifier-with-led-lamps-96358.html. It's $7.99, but in-store only. The light isn't so hot, but I like the magnifier part. They also have this one on sale for $3.99 http://www.harborfreight.com/magnifier-head-strap-with-lights-38896.html. You can't beat that with a stick!

*ETA: We bought the Equate ointment with pain stuff, but rarely used it and my son took it back to school with him. :lol:

Have a great day -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343

Thanks for the great info Libby. I will definitely look into it when I have the funds to do so. Being broke so sux! :-x

Debbie and Lucian
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343

hi Debbie

I use the head-strap magnifier that Libby listed: http://www.harborfreight.com/magnifier-head-strap-with-lights-38896.html
It works really well once you get use to the different lens options.
Honey is on 1 drop but getting there we did .75, .5, .25, .10 - you really need a magnifier then!

Honey sometimes flinches a little when I poke her ears but if she's asleep, she doesn't notice. I know its hard to think you're hurting them but it has to be done and it should get easier and bother him less as time goes on.

Denise
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343, +10/226 Yellow!

Well he made it to Yellow! A major improvement. :-D

He also let me hold and love on him for a few minutes before the test and got a strong purr going. :-D And he was 'washing up' after his dinner, just now. :-D another rarity.

Herein lies the rub........should I keep him on this dose for another couple days and see if he continues to improve? Could it take 6 days or more, to show improvement on a dose? Or should I increase the dose in the morning and hope for better numbers?

I know YELLOW ain't too great, but it's fantastic compared to what he's done for the last several tests and he, at least, resembles himself a little.

Oh, he was also very hungry, he didn't eat at 4, so he ate at 6. Should I bother testing at 7:30 as per usual before his shot, knowing it will probably jump due to his dinner?

Your thoughts and opinions?

Thanks all.

Debbie ans Lucian
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343, +10/226 Yellow!

Hi Debbie :smile:

I don't give dose advice, but someone will undoubtedly have a look later.

I will advise that yes, get the PMPS test... Always test before giving insulin. Safety First :smile:
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343, +10/226 Yellow!

Yeah, I know, just didn't want to do it more than absolutely necessary, with his poor ears being sore, just thought maybe I could save him from it.
I understand, I'm sure you do , too.
Thanks.

Debbie and Lucian
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343, +10/226 Yellow! +??

it looks like Lucian has cleared his bounce fairly quickly. :smile:

Since it looks like he is cruising in for a lower than usual PMPS, I would hold this dose tonight and try to get some spot checks to see where he goes. I don't mean staying up all night, but a few tests before bed would help. I know that's tough for you, but it looks like this is a cycle when he could potentially see some good numbers. Once we know how low this dose is taking him, then we'll know how much to increase (or whether we need to let him settle into this dose a little longer).

FYI, if and when you do increase, I would only increase by 0.25 units based on his current numbers.

From the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343, +10/226, PMPS/HI!!

PSYCH! We only thought it was coming down.

I knew it would be highER, since he ate 1.75 hrs ago, but I wasn't expecting this. :sad:
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343, +10/226, PMPS/HI! Now What?

I would give him his regular dose. See what the AMPS reading is, and if it's still up there then do an increase to 1.75u BID.

You can increase tonight if you want, but it sounds like daytime is better for you to monitor, correct?
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343, +10/226, PMPS/HI! Now What?

PS: don't focus on the high numbers! Focus on the fact that he hit low yellow and probably blue, maybe even green today and also on 1/21. That's great!
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343, +10/226, PMPS/HI! Now What?

I gave him his current dose at 8pm. I'll decide what I'll do in the morning.

Hard not to focus on high #'s when they're 600+. :sad:
 
Re: 1/23 Lucian AMPS 343, +10/226, PMPS/HI! Now What?

Hi Debbie. The +10 is terrific! Like Libby said, he probably was even lower during the day. I would definitely try to get a +6 tomorrow during the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top