? 1-23 Leo AMPS-141/ 94+5/ 303+11

La-La Leo (GA)

Very Active Member
Good morning! Leo's first curve--finally completed, 1/21/22.

I owe the vet this information, too. When I send it, do I suggest the dose amount or wait upon her? I haven't really started on a dosing protocol; thought SLGS was the way to go, but I am available for home testing, so TR appealed to me. Sorry to be so wishy-washy on this. It's all new to me. I want what's best for Leo.

Thank you!
[previous post
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/leo-newly-dx.257268/#post-2904131]
 
Last edited:
It would be interesting to get some spot checks in the cycle today, since Leo is starting with blues. In order to follow TR, you need to get at least one mid cycle test each cycle, including the evenings. Getting into the habit of a before bed test is a good idea, since at the moment you are only getting half the picture. He could be going lower at night and bouncing during the day. Whenever making dose decisions, regardless of whether you follow SLGS or TR you want to ask yourself - how low is this dose taking kitty?

Based on the curve, he probably could use an increase to 1.25u, but I'd like to see a couple of mid cycle tests today, and a few nightime tests tonight and tomorrow before going with the increase.
 
Thank you!
I should keep better notes... mid-cycle is +6 or +? I can do some today. It's already almost +3.

I have an MRI tomorrow morning an need to leave shortly after morning insulin shot, but only gone about 1.5 hours or so. (Shot is around 9:45/10am)
 
Most of us find that catching a +2 or even a +3 is a good way to get an early indication of how the cycle may go. I'd try and move the tests around, don't necessarily fixate on just a +6. With different spot checks, over time, you'll get a better feel for how the insulin is working for your cat.

With time and more data you'll get a better sense of:

  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Perhaps get a +3 now and see where you are ;). If it's much higher than preshot, you can take a pokie break.
 
I want to echo Christie's comments. The minimum number of tests that will help with dosing decisions are 4 -- your AMPS and PMPS plus at least one additional test during each cycle. It's difficult to recommend when to get a mid-cycle test since some cats can have an early or late nadir. And just to be completely unpredictable, the nadir can and does change. (My kitty has an early nadir, at around +3 except when it wasn't.) The overall goal of testing is to keep your cat safe and to give you some idea as to what a typical cycle for your cat looks like.
 
When posting on the lantus forum for today you would do it like this
1-23 Leo AMPS -147 then add any numbers you get after that Such as this EXAMPLE
1-23 Leo AMPS-147 /139+3/ 129 +6. And so on PMPS BG number and any tests after that

We do a new post everyday and link your previous days post to the new one
Then you can start to ask any question you have

Here is your previous post
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/leo-newly-dx.257268/#post-2904131
 
Most of us find that catching a +2 or even a +3 is a good way to get an early indication of how the cycle may go. I'd try and move the tests around, don't necessarily fixate on just a +6. With different spot checks, over time, you'll get a better feel for how the insulin is working for your cat.

With time and more data you'll get a better sense of:

  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Perhaps get a +3 now and see where you are ;). If it's much higher than preshot, you can take a pokie break.

Thanks for the clarification. I missed the +3 window now.... now would be a +5 BG.... I'll be back!
 
When posting on the lantus forum for today you would do it like this
1-23 Leo AMPS -147 then add any numbers you get after that Such as this EXAMPLE
1-23 Leo AMPS-147 /139+3/ 129 +6. And so on PMPS BG number and any tests after that

We do a new post everyday and link your previous days post to the new one
Then you can start to ask any question you have

Here is your previous post
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/leo-newly-dx.257268/#post-2904131

Thank you! This makes sense.

Now I'm freaking about tonight's PM shot, but I guess it depends on other BGs between now and then.

Tomorrow is another day, I know, but I'll be gone very soon after AM shot and will return around what will be +3.

Tonight's PM shot is next .....
 
Baby steps, no need to worry about tomorrow just yet, although the time frame of you being away will likely be fine. It is nice to see the green this cycle, and all data is good data. Keep in mind, he may bounce especially when it may be that he isn't used to numbers under 100 just yet. Why don't you get a +11 and post, see where you are at then? Here on the Lantus subforum, we usually suggest not shooting if numbers are under 150 until you get enough data, but getting a +11 will help see how the cycle is trending before next preshot.
 
Baby steps, no need to worry about tomorrow just yet, although the time frame of you being away will likely be fine. It is nice to see the green this cycle, and all data is good data. Keep in mind, he may bounce especially when it may be that he isn't used to numbers under 100 just yet. Why don't you get a +11 and post, see where you are at then? Here on the Lantus subforum, we usually suggest not shooting if numbers are under 150 until you get enough data, but getting a +11 will help see how the cycle is trending before next preshot.

Thanks a bunch! I'll post +11 ( 8:45pm CST).
 
Is there anyway you can get some night time test in, it's important to see what's going on after Leo's PMPS cycle because we are only seeing half the picture :cat:
 
Baby steps, no need to worry about tomorrow just yet, although the time frame of you being away will likely be fine. It is nice to see the green this cycle, and all data is good data. Keep in mind, he may bounce especially when it may be that he isn't used to numbers under 100 just yet. Why don't you get a +11 and post, see where you are at then? Here on the Lantus subforum, we usually suggest not shooting if numbers are under 150 until you get enough data, but getting a +11 will help see how the cycle is trending before next preshot.

303=+11

Soooo....maybe 94 was a fluke.
Definitely something to be aware.
 
Is there anyway you can get some night time test in, it's important to see what's going on after Leo's PMPS cycle because we are only seeing half the picture :cat:

Unfortunately the PMPS is already at 9:45, and while I could do one or two BGs, I just need to make sure I get up/ready for Leo BG/Food/Shot, and leave on time to get to 11:15, MRI; it takes 30 min to get there.
 
No, probably not a fluke, you've just got a bounce happening.

Bouncing - is simply a reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BG in the 200s, 300s or higher for a long time, then even a BG of 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the BG drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream. *Usually* bounces clear within 3days (6 cycles).
 
No, probably not a fluke, you've just got a bounce happening.

Bouncing - is simply a reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BG in the 200s, 300s or higher for a long time, then even a BG of 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the BG drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream. *Usually* bounces clear within 3days (6 cycles).

Thank you for the explanation(s).
Should I leave Leo's ear alone for a PMPS?
 
Back
Top