1/23 Gracie PMPS 290 +2 297

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's 1/20 Condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-251-8-254-back-from-vet.131765/#post-1356056
1/22 Recap:
AMPS: 313
+3: 320
+6: 266
PMPS: 277
+2: 216
+3: 120

+3.75: 74
+4.5: 79
+6: 131
+9: 163

As all of our L/L Land Friends, our hearts are heavy with sadness in the loss of Cobb, Booger, and Tiki. Our very deepest condolences and prayers to Suzanne and Matt, Jenn and her DH, and Tonya. Sending many healing vines to others who need them now.

Gracie has been a wild baby this morning. And imagine her surprise when Lupita, who has not been here since 1/2, arrived. It was as if she had been stocking up on all the hisses to give them to her at once. Lil Stink'ear. Lupita picked up Tobey and did he ever give the biggest, sad-eyed look but he just let her hold him a few minutes. I do not believe that boy even has a hisser.

The great news is that Gracie's labs were really, really good. Her ALT is still very slightly elevated but is pretty much the same as it was in Nov and we've taken away many of the supplements. Her thyroid levels were super. Dr. B. and we are very happy with the lab results. So that leaves the food as the possibility for her losing weight although she is at a really great weight for her right now; she looks super but we don't want her losing anymore.

I am trying to switch her to Wild Calling canned cat food. All the varieties except the Buffalo are 3% calories from carbs. I'm mainly switching her because I want to get her off food with carrageenan as the thickener and away from the cans with BPA which is now a known culprit in feline hyperT. I hope the carbs will be enough for her. The Wild Calling is a little higher in fat so I'll have to watch her weight. If I can just get her to stay where she is, it would be perfect.

We think she miserably failed her reduction from 0.4u which she was just starting to look really good on. I think she dropped to the 30s because of the vomiting that morning but I couldn't take the chance. I reduced her to 0.3u so I'd have room to go to something besides the dose that got her in the 30s. But her BG looks horrific and it doesn't help that January is always a horrible BG month for her. She's on cycle 5 of the increased dose; I'm hoping she will flatten out some more instead of diving at night and then bouncing right back up. I might have to increase the dose more to get her to stop that. For new members, please do not copy my dosing. We've been at this a long time and know Gracie.

I missed you all Tues night, Wed, and Thurs but we've just had something going on outside our family that kept me off the board. I hope to catch up later today but I am working today during the day.

Thinking of you all and thank you for those that posted on 1/20 condo and I missed you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I have a friend that used Wild Calling for awhile but found quality control issues. Perhaps others are using it now with some success.
 
I am SO happy to hear about the great B/W results! I know that was a huge load off your mind.
AddEmoticons00930.gif


Glad that Lupita is back. I hope things are better for her now. I know the kitties missed her. ;)

I'll be interested to hear if the Wild Calling helps Gracie's weight. Sasha is losing weight and I am having a hard time finding something that she will eat that will help her maintain and/or gain some back. How do you find out if the cans have BPA?
 
Ah, Missy, that is not a principessa number! Or maybe it's a Lupita number! I hope all is well w/ her and her family now. she seems like part of ours.

Tess liked the Wild Calling at first then started to snub it, Same w/ Dave's, so far so good w/ the Nulo though.
 
Excellent news on the labs. Yea for Gracie. And her beans! Big sigh.

Nice to see your little girl hasn't lost her Lupita touch. Or perhaps, her Lupita-don't-you-dare-touch!

Hope the Wild Calling does the trick.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Gracie, good girl for doing so well on your lab tests!!

Rusty liked Wild Calling (the chicken) at first, too, but the second time I bought it the cans had a differently shaped manufacturing stamp on the bottom and he didn't care for those cans at all. I still have a half case. I may try him on it again. I'm looking for an alternative for Wellness, with which apparently many people have had issues (cans dated after Jan. 2017). The main problem is that Rusty is a picky eater and allergic to both fish and beef. I'd really like to try ZwiPeak, but it has "New Zealand Green Mussel" in it, and I'm afraid! Thank goodness he likes Fancy Feast T& G!! It's still impossible to get Dave's Chicken.

Have a good weekend, Marje, and thanks again for your help with Rusty's labs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hooray for excellent labwork-what a relief!! Wonderful WCR for Miss G!:joyful: Oh Tobey, what a good boy-giving luv to Lupita!!! :joyful::joyful::joyful: Glad to hear Lupita is back in action-I was worried -food poisoning is horrible! Please send her our best wishes and have a great evening Marje-we missed you! :bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you Elise, Carla, Trish, Ann, Marilyn, Ella, Tiger, and Anne for visiting today.

Elise: I think there were some issues at first, but the latest info and reviews I've read indicate those issues have been resolved. I had a long talk with the President of the company yesterday and was impressed.

Tricia: you just have to ask the company and hope they tell you the truth. The Wild Calling for cats is in aluminum cans; BPA and BPS are usually found in steel cans.

Interesting that Tess and Rusty liked it at first but then didn't. We'll see what LBG does. So far, she has eaten the chicken pretty well today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top