1/23 ELIAN amps 432 128 +4 PS "shooting "vent" included

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
So after one week I upped his dose this morning and will keep an eye on him. But I do believe this is the best number we've had other than his first day in the former vet's office who gave him 3 units as his very first dose ever! flip_cat

Speaking of the former vet - I believe I addressed it in my very first post here but I went to a "cat's only" vet thinking my previous vet was better with dogs and the diabetes needed more "specialization". Big mistake and I'm back to original vet who I absolutely adore but who also just happens to have added a wonderful young vet who not only agreed to work with me with the tight regulation protocol but actually practices it with her own cat!

WIth that said, the cat's only vet's receptionist was a huge part of the reason I left the office, aside from my friend Caryl of Caryl and Alex who let me know that an initial dose of 3 units which the vet prescribed only one time per day was not only totally wrong dosing for Lantus but extremely dangerous for Elian. The receptionist is a know it all who insisted that diabetic cats need dry food; insisted that rx diabetic food ie DM or Royal Canin Diabetic was what they must eat and ordered me multiple cases; home glucose testing was torture for a cat and absolutely should not be done; I need to STOP reading the internet and talking to other people with cats with diabetes and went so far as to respond to me when I made a comment saying "oh yeah, you're the one that's always on the internet." The morning after the 3 unit injection she called me to hear Elian's numbers and was going to tell me how much to give him that morning. I told her I had already lowered him to 1 unit, as suggested by everybody and everything I had read. She got nasty and told me that the vet wasn't going to like what she had to say but that maybe I needed to find a new vet to which I responded - I already considered that. And I did - that afternoon.

Anyway, with that said - I was reading this message board last night and caught a video of exactly how to handle the Lantus and how to correctly fill the syringe. OH MY FREAKING G-D! The receptionist had sat me down and showed me what to do before leaving the former vets office - even had me show her on a bottle and syringe. AND EVERYTHING SHE TOLD ME IS WRONG - at least according to the video on here. She told me to make sure I roll the bottle - and had me show her I was up to that task. And she told me to insert the syringe, draw back to at least the 5 unit mark and THEN squeeze the excess back into the bottle to get to the mark that I need. THIS IS TOTALLY AGAINST WHAT I WATCHED LAST NIGHT - and now I'm worried that the bottle could be contaminated. But it still looks clear and I hope that isn't the case. This is also the same woman who told me that a syringe could actually be used a second time. OMFG. I am just at a loss for words.

The day that I fired the original vet and hired the new one I stopped in to the former vets office with a very polite letter and printed out material re: Tight Regulation Protocol - in case he was interested in learning about it. I had it in a large envelope marked PERSONAL but I'm guessing the receptionist probably opened it and discarded it before ever showing it to him - because, of course, I included some remarks about her.

Okay, this is long but......vent over. :-D
 
Re: 1/23 ELIAN amps 432 128 +4 PS "shooting "vent" include

Awesome vent :-)

Nice +4 too. If you can, get a +5?

And "no rolling" is correct. With pzi/prozinc, you would do that, but not with Lantus. Maybe that receptionist would benefit if SHE spent a little more time on the internet. Makes me wonder where she got her "expertise". She obviously didn't read the instructions that came in the Lantus packaging!

Carl
 
Re: 1/23 ELIAN amps 432 128 +4 PS "shooting "vent" include

Love the vent, I had a vet that was pretty stupid in the beginning and told us diet didn't make a difference in a diabetic cat and I could still feed him any kind of dry. I know about stupid people let me tell you!!! Anyway, nice +4 today I would def at least get a +6 to see if Elian is heading toward green. Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/23 ELIAN amps 432 128 +4 PS "shooting "vent" include

Unfortunately, the receptionist doesn't know the difference between insulin that is a suspension (e.g., Humulin N, PZI/Prozinc) vs. a solution (like Lantus or Levemir). You need to roll the insulin that is a suspension. You don't roll insulin that's a solution.

Unless you were agitating the Lantus, I wouldn't worry about it.

Are you using a vial or a Solostar pen? Injecting air or insulin back into a vial isn't as big of an issue as with the pens. The pens work under a negative pressure system. When you take out insulin, there's a plunger that moves down the tube to keep the insulin under a steady amount of pressure. Putting air or insulin back into the pen could cause the glass to crack. Again, unless you start seeing wonky numbers or "floaties" in the insulin, I wouldn't worry.

Unfortunately, there are a lot of vets who treat Lantus just like every other insulin. It's very different.
 
Re: 1/23 ELIAN amps 432 128 +4 PS "shooting "vent" include

I'm using a vial. Was talked out of the pens - but then again....guess who talked me out of them? The same receptionist who told me that I can split a bottle of insulin with another by using a syringe and taking it out and putting half it into another vial. No worry about contamination there, is there? OY!!!!!

Meanwhile, I was busy and didn't get a +5 or 6 but did get a +8 and he was at 138 - up from 128 at +4.
 
Re: 1/23 ELIAN amps 432 128 +4 PS "shooting "vent" include

I saw your question in your other thread, and am answering here to keep everything together.

Susie and Elian said:
I upped Elian to 2 units this morning and he has had his lowest numbers to date. My question is - he was at 128 +4 and 138+8. If he is still within that range at pmps do I give him 2 units again; do I wait; do I lower it? Do I need to worry that if there was such a drop from his amps this morning that he will go too low tonight? Forgive me if I'm being a bother with so many questions but I'm learning a little bit every day but have so much to learn! I keep reading the protocol but am still not sure. Thanks in advance.
Here in the Lantus forum, we tend to use 150 as the "post for help" number when you're first learning to shoot low. Someone should be around to help talk you through your options. Because Lantus tends to have very flat cycles when at the right dose, our motto is "Shoot Low to Stay Low," but of course we want to help you learn to shoot low safely.

For your reading enjoyment :lol: here is our sticky on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers.
 
Re: 1/23 ELIAN amps 432 128 +4 PS "shooting "vent" include

Thank you Libby. Turns out it's a non-issue. He's back up to 392 pmps. :cry:
 
Re: 1/23 ELIAN amps 432 128 +4 PS "shooting "vent" include

no worries, it's normal for them to bounce back up when they first start getting good numbers. He'll come back down. :smile:
 
Re: 1/23 ELIAN amps 432 128 +4 PS "shooting "vent" include

Thanks Libby and Lisa. I got a +2 tonight at 11:00 and he was up to 424. Poor guy. Don't think I can stay up any later for another.
 
Re: 1/23 ELIAN amps 432 128 +4 PS "shooting "vent" include

He's just adjusting to the new dose. I think you may start to see numbers you like better in a day or two. WOW that lady really does know her Lantus! :roll: I knew I didn't like her from the start but now with the rolling..lol. Even yesterday when I was gone for the day I left a note for Jaime in big letters "DO NOT ROLL OR SHAKE THE LEVEMIR" it's also in the baggie I keep the pen in. Old school and they tend to do it to warm it up if the don't understand why they shouldn't. I have to say that he used very good judgement in testing and shooting though while i was gone since Alex is on a sliding scale. Alex had the best day he's had in a long time which goes to show that you can teach an old vet new tricks :)

However, I'm glad you found one for E that knows what she's doing and I'm glad to see your pretty spreadsheet and condos. You're doing great Susie! :thumbup Not a wreck at all anymore. See, I told you !

btb for me I didn't sleep a wink last night from being so wired.
 
Re: 1/23 ELIAN amps 432 128 +4 PS "shooting "vent" include

Thanks Caryl - so glad you have taught Jaime so well! Haha. Hope you get to nap today and hope you get a call that you got the job!!! I didn't tell you about my "training session" with the receptionist because I assumed this was one thing she must have right. Oy was I wrong. So glad I found the video. Kisses to Alex. Now go take a nap with him! (All 4 of mine are curled up around me right now. I love it!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top