1/23 Day 2 of Upped Poopy's Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Member Since 2011
Good morning! ~O)

After switching to the u100 syringes and not having to eyeball doses, I've been watching Poopy's BGs a bit closer. Yesterday I was thinking of upping Poopy's dose but thought I'd finish out the day to get two complete days with the new syringes first. I know yesterday's mid BGs were not food related.

I'll be home today to keep an eye on Poopy to see how he does.

Would like to get his numbers a bit lower...but not too low. ;-)

Thoughts?

Edited to add: His shot was an hour late this morning (what do you know...Poopy let me sleep in!) so I figure the AMPS was effected.
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

He's still a tiny bit high in the upper 1/3 of 100's but not too bad. Of course I'm new to & dancing this week playing with doses but if it were me I'd just try the 1.60 for a few cycles & see what happens. That's just me though :-D GL to you!!
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

What weird numbers today.

:sad:

+4 266
+5 226

And not food related.

:sad:

Perhaps the higher AMPS (350) is what is driving the numbers? And here I was hoping for better numbers with the higher dose.

:dizcat
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

YAY on getting the new syringes! Don't despair over the numbers; maybe he's just keeping you on your toes :smile: Here's to greener days!!

Libby
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

Yes Teresa, don't despair...remember, it takes a few cycles to settle in. The Pooperster is just getting accustomed to the new steps.
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

Yes please let Poopy settle and try not to fret
over the numbers
You will get there soon!
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

Give it a few more cycles for Poopy to settle into the new dose. Sometimes its just "new dose wonkiness"
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

Thanks for the reminders. :smile: A gal can always hope though. :-D

Means lunchtime BGs, just to be sure, though. :smile:

Question: if I leave food out during the day, and keep doing so, should I be thinking in terms of lower numbers for Poopy anyway? I mean, should I aim for lower numbers even if I think the ones I'm getting are food related? Or is keeping his PSs in the 200s and getting blues during the day good enough?
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

Theresa, where did you come up with the name Poopy? I chuckle every time I see it. I know, 7th grade humor is big with me.
Pet names interest me. And usually cats never have just one name I find. There is the given name and then the nickname(s).
For example our civvie Alby is called Noodle more than Alby. He does noodley stuff.
Hope you don’t mind me asking :)
Love the Poopster!
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

I don't mind at all!

Trying to make a long story short, my SO I was seeing at the time is who Poopy originally found. SO kept calling him "little ****" because he would get into everything and cause trouble with SO's other cats (also why Poopy is declawed). Also, when Poopy would use the litter box to leave "cat crunchies" (what we call them when the dogs eat them...ewwwww), they stunk so friggin bad. I mean chase you out of the house bad. (My mom says I should have named him "Noxious", they are that bad.) Even Poopy wouldn't stick around to cover them...more of a dump and dash.

Anyway, I told SO I could NOT call my cat (by then Poopy decided dad was great, but, hey-hey, mom was the cat's meow!) "Little ****" so we compromised with Poopy. (Yep, it's pronounced Poop E.)

His poops still aren't the most pleasant, and can make your eyes water from the next room, but he's gotten better about attempting to cover them (and they usually aren't in the box long as I scoop them up as I can).

So that's the story. :-D For years my nieces and nephews wouldn't say his name...funniest thing!

His original vet, while a kitten/adolescent, said the fumes were from something Poopy got into while a stray - some petroleum product that wasn't enough to kill him but will always effect his digestive tract...so smelly poops and all, he's well loved now. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

Teresa how do you like the new syringes ? do you think if we get rid of all the other music in the house and just keep 1 cd our kitties would listen to the same music as us everyday cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

That is so funny,
Shakes poop smells so bad he runs away right after without covering also!
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

So Shakes is a dump and dash cat too, eh? LOL I wonder how many others there are?

Oh my...only one CD? I'd go nuts! Besides, knowing Poopy, he'd break into the drum room and start making his own music. Then again, at least I could hear those!

The new syringes? They are taking a bit to get used to, with the shorter needles. I love, Love, LOVE the ease of dosing!
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

Yep, Asher drops and runs too. If you are downstairs on the rowing machine you HAVE to stop and go cover for him or you would suffocate :lol:
I was told the dominant cat may not cover. Alby always covers but Asher drops and runs most times.

The things we talk about on here! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/22 Upped Poopy's Dose

Interesting tidbit, about the dominant cat stuff. Not sure I can pin that on the Poopster though. When he was with the SO, Poopy was a kitten in the house with two full grown cats, one male and one female. Then again, he terrorized those cats big time. Maybe even as a kitten he was the dominant one! :lol:

Mia, on the other hand, digs as if she's trying to reach China. It's a good thing she doesn't get her paws wet...she'd never be able to get back out of the box (weighed down with clump feet).
 
Started second guessing myself this morning, wondering if I shouldn't back down to 1.6u. Then it dawned on me I shot 1.8u last night into a lower number and everything seemed fine. Gritted my teeth and stuck with the 1.8u.

We shall see.

I'll come home at early lunch to check on him, and will leave food out just in case. :smile:
 
This cycle should give you some answers.

I have been away and may have missed what is happening with Poopy. When I look at the ss, I like your numbers at 1.4. Since you have upped it, the numbers don't seem as good.

ProZinc is strange. In some cats, an increase doesn't bring a drastic low to tell you the dose is too high. Sometimes the numbers are just flat. It isn't a true rebound. We are talking tiny changes in dose. Not sure that is what is happening. Your 1.8 may break through, but if the blah numbers continue, I would be tempted to try the 1.4 range again.
 
ACK! I can sure tell I needed more coffee this morning. I meant to say I thought about going back down to 1.4u as I'm currently shooting 1.6u. (DH would blame the typos on the fat finger syndrome!)

I agree, Sue. The numbers sure aren't what I was expecting or hoping to see.

When I leave food out during the day, should I just aim for yellow pre shots and be happy with blues/yellows during the day?
 
good morning Teresa and poopy cat_pet_icon

you know every day we stew and think what to shoot ? and drive ourselves crazy :? I can give callie a 1.8 one day and she is at 66 at +4 and give her a 1.8 the next day and she is at 87 at + 7.5 how are we supose to figure things out this way :o well I guess thats why we take it one day at a time , one number at a time , butttttt its still nerve racking ! I'm so glad we have each other to dance with too! ;-) callie and I hope you and poopy have a great day :cool: \M/ dancing_cat
 
Yellows and blues = regulated kitty. No small accomplishment. Then you try manipulating things - the dose by .25 or even less, what fed and when. And you continue to collect those numbers.

The overall picture here (I am big on the BIG picture) is that he is doing really well and so are you. You are learning a lot about this dance and applying it really well. (I am blown away at the way you are supporting people on Health, Teresa. That is such an important job on this forum and you are wonderful at it.)
 
Thank you both for your replies. :smile: Really, all of you! Having dance partners in this wild and crazy dance is so important to me. And having such great dance partners is a bonus! :-D

Looks like I'll back off on Poopy's dose back to the 1.4u. He wasn't doing bad on it (mostly yellow preshots and yellow/blue BGs during the mids) and I sure wasn't worrying as much!

I have noticed, both Poopy and Mia tend to eat more when the food offered has a higher carbs (4-7) than lower (0-1). I know I prefer the higher carb stuff. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top