1/23 calliecat ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Active Member
good morning everyone !

well callies amps = 552 I am so sick of these high ps , I know there are a few kitties on here who struggle with this cat_pet_icon I have tried lots of things to bring them down , including TID so what I was thinking and I talked to the vet about this today is to shoot callie 11 and 11 what do you think ???? I know it will mean a different shot time every shot but If I can make this work with my schedule I would like to try this ! yesterday her + 9 = 170 and her + 10 =281 and her + 11.5 was 412 please let me know what you think about this or have any other ideals ???


thanks callie an marty !
 
I wonder why she throws you a decent ps every so often? Wish we knew what was different those days. (January 18 and 20)

I think I would be tempted to make one change and keep it a few cycles to see what happens. Maybe pick the cycle where it is easiest to test and at that preshot, try to catch her before she jumps high? Maybe start recording carb values too to see if they are making any difference?
 
I, for one, think it is a good idea to shoot at an earlier schedule for Callie (+10 or +11). The type of "zoom" you are seeing at the end of the 12 hour cycle, is exactly what led me to start shooting tid. I found a dose, that would bring Kitty down into the blues shooting bid, but the preshots were awful---a lot of reds. Prozinc is advertised to have an 8 to 12 hour duration---but, I have seen very few cats that get 12 hours from Prozinc. Then, you have to consider the possible 2 hour onset of Prozinc, that allows the BG to possibly continue to rise before any drop is observed.

So, I see no reason not to shoot earlier. Prozinc is very flexible and allows you so many options.

Good Luck....
 
Sue I try to feed callie the same at the same time everyday like mornings she gets ff chicken then 5 hours later she gets turkey and giblets then 5 hours later she gets ff beef ect. the only thing different is somedays she eats it all and somedays not! I am just baffled here !

on 1/12 I gave her 1.8 with a ps of 438 she was 66 + 4 and on 1/14 gave her a 1.8 with ps of 411 at +4 she was 234 and + 7.5 she was 87 ???

the 1/14 was normal drop I think and the 1/12 steep drop in 4 hours do you know why this is ???? thats why I went back to 1.7 but see no greens with this !

I will try anything you suggest , thank the dear lord for all of you !! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: dancing_cat
 
If I were you, I would stick with 1.7 and try shooting early on one of the cycles when you can test. The only caveat is to be sure she is heading up - not necessarily a potential problem but you never know when they will throw you a loop. Try a few cycles to see if that changes the next preshot.

Shooting early each preshot could drive you more crazy than TID because you will have to keep track of the hours between shots every single cycle to be sure where you are - at 11 or 10 or 12.......At least with TID, you know you can shoot every 8 hours if they are headed up.
 
Hi, I can understand where you are coming from TOTALLY as Jax shoots way up on that last hour as well. Just be very careful as I shot Jax 45 mins early and he hit that super low 47 @ +4. I cannot imagine how far down he would have went if I were not there. Everything else was the same...preshot was 325. Felt confident that his BG was about to jump upwards and the shot would just keep him level (after all it takes 1-2 hours for ProZinc to kick in) and I was caught completely by surprise.

I'm not trying to sound the alarm here but I don't want anything to happen to anyone's kitty. They are all far too precious!! cat_pet_icon

If you are going to do 11/11 then you may want to be around the first few cycles.

Added: I didn't read any of the posts above mine as I am typing this fairly quickly (at work) but I just wanted to get my thoughts on this in.

Paws crossed for you!!!
 
thanks Lisa I will watch callie very close cat_pet_icon i will just have to make doses to what ps are and adjust , callie has given me quite a few times were she will go real low at + 4 thats why I always check her at +4 she has not been in the 40's yet, her lowest has been 55 ;-) if I have any doubt about how she is acting I will check ! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top