1/23 BooBoo AMPS 280 New to Lantus, just rec'd...

Status
Not open for further replies.

BooBoo Kitty

Member Since 2011
Just rec'd my package of Lantus from the great folks at DCIN! Thanxs!!!

So I guess I am gonna need some advise/help on this. She is currently on 1u of Humulin N and on wet food low carb diet and I am home testing. BooBoo's spreadsheet is in my signature. If you all need any additional info from me let me know.

My question is how much and when to start? Already gave her the Humulin N this morn at 9am. It has been suggested in another forum that I should start with .5, and it was also suggested to post a thread in this forum...

Looking forward to traveling into Lantus Land with u all! dancing_cat
 
Hi Stephanie,

I took a look at you thread on health today viewtopic.php?f=28&t=35097&start=0 and I see you mentioned a positive ketone test. I'm wondering if you can clarify the test results? You said that it looked negative immediately, then turned color after that. Did you follow the directions on the bottle? You need to wait a certain length of time and then read the result. It is important to know if there are ketones involved, as that will affect the dosing advice you receive. If you are not certain about the results, could you get another test?

Can you tell us how much BooBoo weighs, and if she is at ideal weight or over/underweight? One way to decide starting dose is by using a formula based on weight. When you are switching from another insulin, the dose on that insulin can also be taken into consideration. All of that information is in the TR protocol sticky here: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581&start=0
 
That's an excellent idea you recieved on the Health forum, to add extra water to his food, to try to flush those ketones.
Others will be along to help you decide on a starting dose.
Please post the answers to Laurie's questions, so we can help you.

And Welcome to Lantus Land !!!!
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Hi Stephanie,

I took a look at you thread on health today http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 97&start=0 and I see you mentioned a positive ketone test. I'm wondering if you can clarify the test results? You said that it looked negative immediately, then turned color after that. Did you follow the directions on the bottle? You need to wait a certain length of time and then read the result. It is important to know if there are ketones involved, as that will affect the dosing advice you receive. If you are not certain about the results, could you get another test?

Can you tell us how much BooBoo weighs, and if she is at ideal weight or over/underweight? One way to decide starting dose is by using a formula based on weight. When you are switching from another insulin, the dose on that insulin can also be taken into consideration. All of that information is in the TR protocol sticky here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 81&start=0
I believe the keytone stick read negative at the 15 second mark. She has been negative every time I have tested thus far. Next time I see her headed for the litter box, i will get a sample. She makes it real easy for me as she urinates right on the stick as I hold it! I believe she weighs about 8lbs. She used to weigh ALOT more before the diabetes, so she is prob a little underweight.
 
If after the required 15 second wait, the strip read negative, then you had a negative test. If you wait too long to read the stick, it can change color. Is there any chance of getting another ketone test before your shot time? Making a decision about a starting dose can be influenced by whether or not ketones are present.

(One way to check your ketone strips is to test yourself. Check after 15 sec. and then wait longer and compare the results later to see if the strip turned color.)
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
If after the required 15 second wait, the strip read negative, then you had a negative test. If you wait too long to read the stick, it can change color. Is there any chance of getting another ketone test before your shot time? Making a decision about a starting dose can be influenced by whether or not ketones are present.

(One way to check your ketone strips is to test yourself. Check after 15 sec. and then wait longer and compare the results later to see if the strip turned color.)

Sure, i can get another test before 9 or at least try... I can also start tom if I have to test her at +3, +6, and +9 so I can be more awake for this instead of setting an alarm to wake up and sleepily poking her ear. If it is that important that I start tonight, then i suppose I can do that too... Booboo's #'s on the Humulin don't look so bad at this point, so maybe I could wait til the am?
 
welcome to Lantus Land, Stephanie and BooBoo! (I used to have a BooBoo, her name was really Bobbi but she was BooBoo to me)

You're right, BooBoo's numbers on Humulin aren't bad at all, so if it is easier for you to start Lantus tomorrow then that's what I would do.

The reason we're pestering about a ketone test is that if she does have ketones, then we would suggest a more aggressive starting dose for the Lantus, probably 1 unit instead of 0.5. One thing you don't want to do if ketones are present is reduce the insulin dose, because that can lead to the ketones getting worse.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
welcome to Lantus Land, Stephanie and BooBoo! (I used to have a BooBoo, her name was really Bobbi but she was BooBoo to me)

You're right, BooBoo's numbers on Humulin aren't bad at all, so if it is easier for you to start Lantus tomorrow then that's what I would do.

The reason we're pestering about a ketone test is that if she does have ketones, then we would suggest a more aggressive starting dose for the Lantus, probably 1 unit instead of 0.5. One thing you don't want to do if ketones are present is reduce the insulin dose, because that can lead to the ketones getting worse.
Thanx for the info! When I 1st joined up, BooBoo's numbers were high when she would get to like +9 or so.and everyone suggested Lantus because everyone seemed to agree that Humulin was a yucky insulin for cats because it doesn't last long enough. Since switching to an all wet food/low carb diet, her #'s have gone way down even at the time when there is prob not much insulin in her system! It almost seems a shame to waste that whole half full bottle I have of Humulin when we are on a budget and have 3 other kitties and a dog and a 3 year old to care for on 1 income! And I have also gone down a unit since joining the group so she is doing much much better thanks to everyone here!!!
 
Stephanie...just want to welcome you to Lantus Land!!!! We have tons of great folks with lots of experience to help you and BooBoo on your journey so just let us know when you have questions!
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Stephanie...just want to welcome you to Lantus Land!!!! We have tons of great folks with lots of experience to help you and BooBoo on your journey so just let us know when you have questions!
Thanx!!! :smile:
 
I think there are good things on the horizon for Boo Boo and you! :mrgreen:
Good luck with the start of Lantus. And of course, welcome!
 
carolynandlatte said:
I think there are good things on the horizon for Boo Boo and you! :mrgreen:
Good luck with the start of Lantus. And of course, welcome!
Just saw your "metacam survivor" in your signature! Wow!!! I just had a vet prescribe Metacam for one of my non-diabetics for crystals and I had this really odd feeling about giving it to him, so I researched and was totally freaked by what I read! I immediately took it back and they gave me my money back! He is doing great today, and made a nice pee without being in the litter box forever. Switched to all wet urinary tract food and put in extra water. Seems to be doing the trick! Sooo glad ur kitty survived, must have been scary!
 
Welcome from another newbie! The people are just great here, so you're in good hands. Tessie Lou and I will be cheering you and BooBoo on...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top