1/22 Zeke AMPS/216;+4.5/114; PMPS/ 170; +3/ 110-Dosecrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL ~O) ~O) ~O)

Healing and appy vines shout out to all that need them.

Thankfully, Zeke is back to his ol' self this morning. Well, thankfully at least for the pleasant part of his ol' self. He's been trotting around the house. It's so cute when he does that. He asked to be let into a closet and enjoyed peaking out from behind a box in there. He unfortunately even felt the need to terrorize poor Ivan for no apparent reason. He even yelled at me for not giving him more food at +1. I quickly scolded and shooed him out of the kitchen. He's such a stinker.

His BG's not moving too much today but thankfully he didn't start out pink. The effectiveness of this dose is so irregular lately. At this point, looks like (if we're lucky) he'll be blue most of this morning. Well, at least he's not having a big bounce from yesterday's colorful day.

Hope everyone has a great day.


Zeke's Yesterday
 
Re: 1/22 Zeke AMPS/ 216; +2/ 179

Hi guys .. what a cute condo report for zeke! Sounds like he is feeling pretty darn good these days .. And yay for a blue spot check so early on .. maybe some greens later? have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/22 Zeke AMPS/ 216; +2/ 179

Its funny the things that used to irritate me before Dx were such a relief to see whenever Chyna starts to feel better ;-) Such a sweet WCR, I'm glad Zeke is feeling so good! Hope he stayed blue for you today and right through to PMPS :-D Have a good night!
 
Re: 1/22 Zeke AMPS/ 216; +2/ 179

Hi Laura and Zeke!

I was just studying your spreadsheet and condos to see what the heck is going on here. What a change! If I were you, I would consider raising Zeke's dose. It looks like the last reduction to 0.5u failed, so you can go back to the last good dose. So far today he looks much better than yesterday, but there's still room for an increase.

The reason I see "failed reduction" rather than bad insulin or some other cause is that the 0.5u dose did work for a few days (depot action from the 0.75 dose), and then the highs started coming back more and more often. If he has been feeling icky then that could be a factor too. If he starts feeling better he may not need the higher dose for very long. He'll let you know when it's time to try the reduction again.

When a cat has been as well regulated as Zeke has, I wouldn't want to let him get into the habit of bouncing around again. Usually once they are "trained" to be fairly flat, it's easier to keep them there than it is to let the regulation go and then try to get it back.

Good luck!
 
Re: 1/22 Zeke AMPS/ 216; +2/ 179

Good luck with increasing him, if you decide to do it! I can totally relate to what Libby is saying...Trix has been so nicely regulated, then has fallen out of regulation and getting her back to nice flatness when that has happened has been a bear - doable, but quite a process involving many increases followed by many decreases. I just increased her tonight because I felt that last week's reducie was starting to look iffy and I didn't want to get back on that "failed reducie crazy train" again. She was giving me SOME greens, but she had been way more bouncy than she usually is with that reducie, so rather than waiting too terribly long, I took her back up tonight in hopes that she'll quickly return to the flatness.

I hope you guys are having a great evening!!
 
Re: 1/22 Zeke AMPS/216;+4.5/114; PMPS/ 170; +3/ 110-Dosecrea

Thanks Amy, Libby, Rachel & Devon for stopping by.

Funny you should mention a dosecrease. I know the protocol says to go back to the last good dose but I was thinking I might fatten the dose a bit instead. Do you think that would not be the best move? Was thinking we might give this dose another day but if it's time to make the call, I'm ready to increase. We are finding that we're having to cut out the 7% and feed more 2% to try and keep him for rising after around +4. Thought between that and the fact that Zeke's not getting many greens anymore might indicate an increase is needed. Thoughts?
 
Re: 1/22 Zeke AMPS/216;+4.5/114; PMPS/ 170; +3/ 110-Dosecrea

Hi Laura,
I don't have any suggestion but wanted to wish you good luck deciding Zeke's dose.
I'm so happy to read that he is back to his old self. :-D
 
Re: 1/22 Zeke AMPS/216;+4.5/114; PMPS/ 170; +3/ 110-Dosecrea

you can try fattening the dose if you prefer. With Tight Regulation and the idea that you're looking to get the numbers into a tight range (staying under about 120) as quickly as possible, we tend to be aggressive. What usually works best is to go to the last good dose, even if you know that he may only need a few shots at that dose to get the momentum back again. Depending on his numbers, when he's ready for the next reduction you might choose to shave the dose instead of taking a full 0.25u reduction.
 
Re: 1/22 Zeke AMPS/216;+4.5/114; PMPS/ 170; +3/ 110-Dosecrea

I think it's a good idea to increase as long as you can continue to monitor as you do.

A little extra insulin should smooth out the bounces. Sometimes they only need it for a few cycles to kickstart the good numbers again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top