1/22 TR Jenks AMPS 288 +9.5 108 PMPS 50 +1 54 +4 53 +6 64 +10 111

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
1/21

These wild swings are getting really, really annoying.

Jenks was acting hungry late in the day, which prompted me to test him just in time to see him heading under 100. With him careening downhill, I felt that a 108 reading gave me enough room to try to steer him and flatten him out a bit, so I gave him about 3tbsp of LC turkey & gibs over a half hour period from +10 to +10.5. That seemed to stem his hunger, and he happily went about his business.

But it apparently made no difference whatsoever because he threw another 50 at shot time. He gobbled down some 9% food, and is getting ready for another test here in a few minutes to make sure he's headed in the right direction.

But seriously, this is getting ridiculous.
 
3ZvRFwf.png


Ok, so what you're looking at is the last two weeks in graph form, plotting blood glucose by hour. The area between each dark, shaded, vertical line represents one day.

Seriously, how messed up is that? There's nothing about this graph that is normal, or otherwise even remotely indicative of, a Lantus cycle. It's wild, uncontrolled swings from one extreme to the other. How did we get from days and days of long, perfectly flat cycles in November to here, and what can be done about it?
 
i can't even try to explain it.

the only thing in my head is that perhaps he has acromegaly and the tumor pulses. but that's just a guess - we don't even suggest people get their cats tested for a high dose condition until they pass 6u. still, Jenks has needed quite a bit of insulin and the latest research that Wendy has turned up on acro is that 1 in 3 diabetic cats (i think that was the #, but don't quote me!) have an acro tumor.

that might not be it, but it could explain some of his changes. or not. we also know that absorption of insulin can vary by as much as 50% from one shot to the next.

No way to know - all you can do is just keep going.
 
Four hours into the night cycle and he's surfing the low 50s. All's quiet at the moment. Just me, my pajamas, and a party hat.
 
The interesting thing about the graph is that the vast majority of the time is spent under renal threshold, which varies by cat, but is around the low 200's. That's a good thing.

The research Julie referred to has been done in the US and the UK, the largest study at the Royal Veterinary College in London. They quote that somewhere around 1 in 4 diabetic cats have acromegaly. They have been doing large scale studies at their Diabetic Cat Remission Clinic. There are other reasons that cats numbers can start going strange. Has Jenks had a dental lately? My Neko's numbers started creeping up in the fall. In spite of no visible issues with her teeth, a dental X-ray showed a deep gum pocket and a dying tooth which was pulled. Now her numbers are easing down again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top