1/22 punkin pmps 380 +1/400 +2/342 +3/344

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

we're fast-tracking punkin back up the dosing scale after seeing his BG on a different meter last night. i can't believe how high he is. i'm just hoping he hasn't been in high numbers so long that it hasn't destroyed his chances of going OTJ now following the SRT. i'm afraid it might be. *sigh*

oh well.

here's the video of him getting his acupuncture. not very exciting, that's for sure. but several people have asked me in the past about it, so here it is if you're interested.

[youtube]n5_ZiN0GHCo[/youtube]
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 video on acupuncture

got to admit after what we went thru with the FSL I would not be surprised if Punkin has been higher for some time then what you thought but hope with the new meter things can get back into good numbers soon it sure took us a while
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 video on acupuncture

What a great video. And I can't believe how calm punkin is. Awesome. Of course you have a very calming voice which most likely helps.

I'm really hoping punkin has some better numbers for you soon.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 video on acupuncture

:sad: I'm sorry about the meter/numbers.

We've been talking a lot about R in Weezer's condo, do you want to try it too? I definitely think you can. Just a little bit, to take the edge off these numbers while you work the dose back to where ever it needs to be.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 video on acupuncture

i've wondered about it, libby. i feel just sick about these high numbers. i've watched bev, lauren & linda all be taught how to do it - so i'm sure i can handle it. i increased him again this morning and he does go wonky from more insulin - and i had only increased him 3 cycles before (i know i know) - so i think that's some of what's going on.

should i wait out the NDW or go ahead? can you get R on a sunday? i'm back to work tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 video on acupuncture

if your pharmacy is open, you should be able to get R. If Punkin stays this high, then I don't think you need to wait for NDW.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +3/418 video on acupuncture

ok libby, i've found a pharmacy that's open and i can go get some now.

if his nadir is over what number, i should give .01? at nadir? then test every hour for 4 hours? is that the drill? i would normally expect him to nadir about 1.75-2 hrs from now, at +5.5 -+5.75.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +3/418 video on acupuncture

Loved the video! I too cannot believe how relaxed he is. I have a friend that does this for her kitty, and she says the same thing. Her cat is also so relaxed. It must feel good to them. I hope that it is helping Punkin.

Good luck with the new dose. I guess I didn't realize you had meter issues? FSLite? Good luck too with the R - it does seem to help. Looks like Weezer is looking for an R buddy. :-D
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +3/418 video on acupuncture

Hi Julie & Punkin,
That video is amazing. I can't believe how calm Punkin is. It's pretty clear that he knows he feels better because of the acupuncture. Good luck with learning how to use R. I hope it will bring good results. Punkin and Weezer can go on the R adventure together! Sorry again about your experience with the FSL meter. Rusty had a 30 today on the Relion. It would probably have been in the 20s on the FSL! I'm sure that you and Punkin will find the correct dose and that his numbers will come into healing range. We'll all be cheering for Punkin when he makes that breakthrough.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend and try not to worry. What's past is past!

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +3/418 video on acupuncture

I would start with 0.1u after +6 if he's still 300s. And yep, test every hour for 3-4 hours.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +3/418 +6/377 tried .1R

well that is about the tiniest thing i've ever measured. good thing there are those pictures on the New to the Group sticky!

the relion measured 347 - the Freestyle lite measured 177. ohmygod_smile

i was lulled into thinking perhaps our meter was ok because my husband checked his BG against it and had a test at the doc's office, and they were within 10 points of each other, 30 minutes apart. apparently not.

can you tell i'm still kicking myself?

we'll see what the R does.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +3/418 +6/347 tried .1R

:lol: :lol: :lol: Julie, I know, right? I am happy not to be measuring 0.1 of Lantus anymore!

Don't beat yourself up, OK? You do so much for punkin, and he is such a happy boy! At least now you know and can work on fixing it. That darn freestyle has caused so much trouble around here! Good luck with the R.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +3/418 +6/347 tried .1R

I can read the disappointment and frustration in your words about Punkin's high numbers. One of many things I've learned from you is to look at the whole cat, not just the numbers. When I look at Punkin in that video I see a calm, sweet cat who doesn't appear to be ill or in discomfort. You've been treating the whole cat, not just the diabetic cat, for a long time, and I know it's made a world of difference to Punkin's health and well-being.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +3/418 +6/347 tried .1R

So sorry about the high numbers. I know you are doing everything you can for Punkin. I keep missing your condo now that you are a working girl. Hang in there and big hugs to you Julie!

Loved the video. Punkin is so relaxed!
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 +7/208 +8/340 +9/314

so is this much ado about nothing?

+6/347 use 0.1R
+7/208 (and i thought WOOHOO)
+8/340 (and i thought huh?)
+9/314 (and i thought next time maybe .25?)

should i try it again with his shot tonight?

each time i called punkin he came to the top stair, looked at me like "hello, it's nap time" yawned, then eventually came over. this last time he went and climbed in his bag and became irresistible to anya. now anya's destroyed the bag, punkin finally came out, and then anya has gone away. so predictable! love those cats!

thanks to everyone for stopping in. i really appreciate it.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 +7/208 +8/340 +9/314

it's only Punkin's 1st cycle of R, so there's not enough data to draw conclusions yet. ;-) He was down over 100 points in the first hour, and that's about as much of a drop as you would want, so I wouldn't increase the R until you see if that was an anomaly (and especially with an L dose increase this cycle too). Also, R given at preshot *usually* gives an even better response, because the idea is to use R in the first couple of hours of the cycle to hold the numbers lower and give the Lantus or Lev a good number to grab onto. I never really expect R given in the last half of a cycle to actually bring the numbers down a lot. The idea is to try to hold the numbers flat at a time when they would normally be rising. So actually Punkin did great this cycle! Does that make sense?
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 +7/208 +8/340 +9/314

makes a lot of sense - thanks for explaining it to me!

ok, so if he's over 300 at his preshot tonight i should shoot .1 and test every hour again?
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 +7/208 +8/340 +9/314

at this point I would say if he is higher than his +9 at PMPS then try 0.1u of R. If he's lower, then don't. See what Sandy says, though.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 +7/208 +8/340 +9/314

Obviously no advice on the "R" here, but prayers for punkin to get those numbers in line! I loved the video--fun to see his calm little self taking the acupuncture like a champ! He looks like such a good boy. :-D :smile:
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 +7/208 +8/340 +9/314

And no advice on R here either. ;-) Good job. Weezer felt better about the all day poke-a-thon when I told her Punkin was getting in on the fun too.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 +7/208 +8/340 +9/314

Libby and Lucy said:
at this point I would say if he is higher than his +9 at PMPS then try 0.1u of R. If he's lower, then don't. See what Sandy says, though.
Sounds like a plan.
julie & punkin said:
so is this much ado about nothing?
- you never know.
With some non-IAA kitties, or IAA kitties whose IAA has broken, 0.01u can send them right down to the cellar, setting the scene for a very nasty bounce.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 +7/208 +8/340 +9/314

I'm so sorry about the meter issues, but you have to know you have always done the best for Punkin!! It's natural to believe that something as important as a BG meter would be accurate....between this and the controversy over the MJ needles, it can be very disheartening. But we're all doing the best we can with the tools we have...our kitties know that and love us for it.

What an awesome video...Punkin is just sooo sweet!

Good luck with the R...I know you guys will get there!!!
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 +7/208 +8/340 +9/314 pmps 38

gave another .1 R and we'll see how it goes.

punkin is so glad he could make weezer feel better about her poke-a-thon! :lol:
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 +7/208 +8/340 +9/314 pmps 38

((( julie )))
as i mentioned to you earlier today via email... i'm really, really glad you've decided to incorporate the use of R into punkin's treatment.
good luck with it! may you pull down punkin's range smoothly...
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 +7/208 +8/340 +9/314 pmps 38

I also want to wish you very good luck with the R.
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 pmps 380 +1/400

aw thanks!

not seeing it yet, but there are lots of things going on - i increased his lantus dose this morning and he usually gets a little NDW on the way up, not to mention i increased it by .5. maybe it would be even worse without the R.

he seems to feel like usual - just snoozing on the floor by his bag at the moment, but he and anya were playing a little earlier. not great but not acting sick either.
 
Re: 1/22 punkin amps 391 +6/347 pmps 380 +1/400

WOW, P-DOODLE... you are a MODEL patient!

and how exciting that you incorporating R...
can't wait to see where he takes it :-D

I love your voice in the video as well, Julie :-D
 
:lol: celi you crack me up! thank you. it's the only voice i have. except when i'm trying to scare little children or cats on counters! i know what you mean though - i have images of everyone here in my head and everyone has a certain voice - and it's so weird when you see a "real" picture of someone or hear them. like i told Beth/Attie when i saw her pic - she had long hair in my head!!! :lol:

bought a timed feeder today and tried it with punkin tonight. i'd filled it about an hour ago and put it on the floor. anya was climbing on it, biting on the opening trying to get it open. i'm sure she wasn't interested in eating - she just likes to break into things.

she finally lost interest in it.

when i was done testing punkin at +3 i called him over to it and his nose shifted into high gear! :shock: :shock: "HEY, THERE'S SOME FUDS IN HERE!" and one second later the compartment rotated and he jumped back. sniffed the air, tail swishing back and forth, waited a moment to survey the situation and then dove in. we'll try again in the morning. i want to make sure he can eat while i'm at work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top