1/22 Princess AMPS 210 QUESTION FOR EXPERIENCED LL RESIDENTS

Status
Not open for further replies.

patricia&princess(GA)

Member Since 2009
Here's my new theory. Apparently, aliens occasionally visit Princess and steal the exogenous insulin from her body. Yesterday, the aliens were busy elsewhere and left her alone. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34938

Today was Princess' turn to be visited by aliens. Fortunately she remains in good shape and happy.

confused_cat
 
Re: 1/22 Princess AMPS 210 +3.5=329 I'm blaming aliens

I think there is something to your alien theory! fll_moon bcatrun_gif

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Sorry I got my Princess's mixed up yesterday ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/22 Princess AMPS 210 +3.5=329 I'm blaming aliens

Hi Patricia! I like the aliens theory, but I see something different in her pattern. She had two very nice blue cycles, and she may have gotten down into the green numbers last night. I suspect that Princess' liver saw those lovely numbers as too low (even if she didn't go too low) and panicked, causing a bounce. It's very common, she had another bounce a few days ago from the pretty numbers, and just like before, this bounce will pass and she will get back into nicer numbers. Keep doing what you are doing, the bounce will clear on its own...it can take up to 72 hours.
 
Re: 1/22 Princess AMPS 210 +3.5=329 I'm blaming aliens

While there are certainly says when the alien theory may hold, at least for today, I agree with Laurie's explanation.
 
Re: 1/22 Princess AMPS 210 +3.5=329 I'm blaming aliens

I hope Princess battles the aliens and comes back to the pretty numbers she had yesterday.

And she needs to stop visiting here....
the-twilight-zone.jpg
 
Re: 1/22 Princess AMPS 210 +3.5=329 I'm blaming aliens

I'm going with the aliens. which years ago we also blamed...The kitties see them but we cant!! Hope She comes down in a Royal way!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/22 Princess AMPS 210 +3.5=329 I'm blaming aliens

Love the Alien theory!! :) Laurie... you and your.... LOGIC!!! :lol: :lol:

Hope Princess gets her insulin back... or just clears this bounce.... really soon! Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/22 Princess AMPS 210 +3.5=329 I'm blaming aliens

OK, still blaming the aliens, but JUST IN CASE Laurie is right ( ;-) ) those of you with more experience, would you recommend doing anything based on Laurie's astute observations? Should I decrease her dose a little when she has those nice blue numbers? I did finally get syringes with half unit markings, which makes the half unit dose a LOT easier, but I'm not sure I can reliably dose in tenths, like if I try to decrease her by 1/10. When I dropped her to .25 the results were not great :roll:

any advice much appreciated!
 
Re: 1/22 Princess AMPS 210 QUESTION FOR EXPERIENCED LL RESID

I would hold the dose for now. You don't decrease dose until a longer term diabetic cat's BG falls below 40. My thinking would be that once it's evident that the bounce has cleared, you may want to increase Princess' dose.

Is it possible for you to get a curve (i.e., testing every 2 hours over the 12-hour cycle) tomorrow? I'm not sure I'm seeing where Princess' nadir is and it would be helpful to have a clearer sense of where it falls.
 
Re: 1/22 Princess AMPS 210 QUESTION FOR EXPERIENCED LL RESID

Thanks Sienne. I can do a curve, tomorrow, but I'm leaning toward waiting 'til next weekend ONLY because if these numbers are a bounce, then I think it's likely her numbers will still be a little wonky tomorrow. It looks to my admittedly inexperienced eye like her nadir is in the +8 to +10 range -- and unfortunately, I can't really check that on her PM dose since I'm asleep then.

For Princess to hit 40, never mind go below 40, would be very bad for her. She is definitely more comfortable in slightly higher numbers than some cats. Her "normal" numbers in her 4+years OTJ were 100-150. She rarely if ever dropped below 90.

Depending on what her numbers are this evening, I may give her a snack at bedtime - maybe 1/4 or 1/2 a can of FF ...Is that likely to stave off the lower numbers and resulting bounce, IF that's the problem??
 
Re: 1/22 Princess AMPS 210 QUESTION FOR EXPERIENCED LL RESID

Patricia....bouncing is not a problem, it's just what happens when kitties are used to being in higher numbers. Their body gets used to the higher BG and it starts to think that the high numbers are normal. When the insulin starts bringing their numbers back down into more normal ranges, the liver panics and reacts *AS IF* there is a hypo....it does NOT necessarily mean that Princess is seeing low numbers....she could be bouncing from blue numbers...many kitties do! Rather than trying to avoid the numbers that are triggering the bouncing, the answer is to keep showing her liver the lower numbers so that her liver learns that those numbers are normal and ok. We call it LTS (liver training school) and it's just part of the sugar dance.

I would do the curve tomorrow, as Sienne suggested. It is important to try to figure out where her nadir is so you can get some nadir checks regularly. Dose is adjusted by nadir.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top