1/22 Max AMPS 388~PMPS 361 - Morning Dose Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning
5th cycle 5.25
29th day on Lantus 10ml vial

Well so much for the nice yellow and bit of blue day for Max.
Hopefully this is Mr. Liver wondering what these sunny numbers are all about and he will settle
down at this dose.

WCR: New surprise from Max today. Yesterday he was waiting by the bedroom door.
Today he was sleeping at the end of the bed. It is pretty high and he has not jumped
up by himself for quiet sometime (okay he is 18.5 lbs)
He literaly dove off the bed and "flew" down the stairs for his test,breakfast,shot.
Then he settled in his favourite hot spot on the kitchen floor.

So I have a question about my Lantus. Some people say, throw out at 28 days. Some say they keep using it. Looks nice and clear and half just little less then 1/2 vial left. I don't really now how you know it isn't working well anymore. I have 5 shiny new cartridges waiting in the fridge.
Should I crack them open and see how he is doing at the 5.25 with brand new insulin?

I will ask later about dose advice later. We had blue this cycle so I am guessing to hold for 10 cycles, not the 6.

Have a great day.
Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 1/22 Max AMPS 388

Morning Randi...just stopping by to say hello.....
Good AMPS for Max this morning...very nice...he might surprise you yet...
notching down his high numbers to the pink is not a bad thing at all!
really nice activity yesterday....good job!!! Hope you have a great day!! :-D
 
Re: 1/22 Max AMPS 388

oh oh oh pick me! I know something about that one!!

A bit ago, it looked like we were getting somewhere with Shadoe, then all the numbers seemed to be inching backwards. Then someone asked me how old my Lantus was! What? Old? You mean it matters? UGH.

So I also had the big huge vial and was at the same mark as you say you are. I went and got that pack of cartridges and thought OK let's crack one open and see if there is a difference.

For Shadoe, the numbers were better on the very first shot from that cartridge, so I never went back to that big vial - why bother? Right or wrong, that's what I did. Now, on Shadoe's ss, I added a column to track how old the cartridge is and now it's known to all without asking. I marked when I started the cart on her ss if you want to look. We were over the 28day mark, maybe just over a month or so.

I don't know how old your vial has been open, but maybe you might want to open a cartridge like I did to see if it makes a difference. It's up to you what will make you feel better, and I am sure others will have stuff to say that will help in your decision.
 
Re: 1/22 Max AMPS 388

Nice WCR Randi!

for the vial, I got a little paranoid after about 28-30 days, but that's just me and how it went with us.

In my opinion, if u want some piece of mind, and there's no floaties, or it hasn't been mishandled and there's no sudden constant BG rise, then change it if only for piece of mind.

See what others suggest and go from there.

Hoping for nice blues today Max! You can do it!

EDIT TO ADD: keep in mind, "someone" else handled your current vial while u were away, NOT that your Dear wonderful pet sitter played catch with it or anything, just something to think about. lol.
 
Re: 1/22 Max AMPS 388

Ronnie & Luna said:
EDIT TO ADD: keep in mind, "someone" else handled your current vial while u were away, NOT that your Dear wonderful pet sitter played catch with it or anything, just something to think about. lol.

Of course you thought of that one Ronnie, lol. As if I know that maybe it did not make it into the fridge a few times (I even did that last weekend)
As always, good point, Sherlock.
Well this vial was opened on the 23rd (while I was away) So lloks like this weekend maybe I should check out the new carts.
 
Re: 1/22 Max AMPS 388~PMPS 361

A total flat day in the pinks for Max. Oh well
I guess it is payback for yesterday's excitement.
Going to start a nice fresh cartridge tomorrow. This 10ml vial is at day 29.
Maybe there will be better results.
 
Re: 1/22 Max AMPS 388~PMPS 361

Take the flat pink ohmygod_smile , better than the alternative no?

Come Max - give us da good stuff!

He eating ok and the works?
 
Re: 1/22 Max AMPS 388~PMPS 361

For sure I'm not complaining about a flat pink curve.
Considering what Max has shown in the past, I would rather this than an
"ugly" red curve, right.

He just had his supper although I did have to put the plate right under his nose.
On his chair of course. Now he's hanging out in the kitchen. Gee, why did you ask that question of all times now. Nope. he did not finish his supper which was half a can.
What's that??
 
Re: 1/22 Max AMPS 388~PMPS 361

There was a long discussion about this topic on the old board in Think Tank. Members of the German Forum have been able to use their Lantus for months. There are beans here who do get considerably longer than the manufacturer's recommended 28 days of potency from their Lantus. Jill is a strong advocate of the more than 28-day camp.

For me, when Gabby first began this journey, I don't think the 28-day 'rule' was in my brain. After 6 - 8 weeks, Gabby's numbers got weird. Jojo's suggestion was that my insulin was toast. New insulin, better numbers. The same thing happened more recently 2 weeks after i opened a cartridge I'd gotten from mail order and arrived in the summer with the ice pack melted. With the new cartridge, Gabby had an immediate response. I don't think there is a hard and fast rule about how long Lantus is good for.
 
Tomorrow morning will be Max's 8th cycle at 5.25u
In this cycle his +6 have been yellow, blue and pink.
He has had some nice reaction to this does, the best so far.

I also plan on starting a brand new Cartridge.
Wanted to know if I should keep Max at 5.25 for a couple of cycles and see if the new cartridge
gives better numbers or increase to 5.5 (a .25 increase)
Thanks
 
Hello there,

Here's my 2 cents, but pls wait for other opinions....
I believe the protocol says that when you got bloo, you gotta wait 10 cycles before switching. So... my opinion for the little it is worth is same same.

Today and an RBC day... and as you say it's part of the deal/dance.

As for the insulin age, I am on the 28 day camp too (although maybe I've deviated and went for the same calendar day too- because I'm forgetful).
 
I would probably hang on for another cycle or two before increasing, just to see if he can get back to blue on this dose. If not, onward and upward!
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I would probably hang on for another cycle or two before increasing, just to see if he can get back to blue on this dose. If not, onward and upward!

i'm with libby... i'd wait for just another cycle or two before increasing... no more.

as far as when to start a new cartridge... i was able to get 9 weeks out of my first 10ml vial of lantus before i was able to see crystals form. mind you, i had to use a magnifying glass to see them. they were not visible to the naked eye. conversely, i was only able to get 34 days out of my first cartridge of levemir (manufacturer says they're good for 42 days) before seeing crystals. i don't think there's any set standard for how long your insulin will last.

i'm not seeing anything goofy/wonky with max's numbers. if you can't see any cloudiness or crystals, i suspect your insulin is still good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top