1/22 MAX AMPS 242 LABS POSTED WITH SS+2.5/200+3.75/138+5 .5/85+6.5/82 PMPS 161+3/230

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...pmps-156-2-5-241-5-5-185.131855/#post-1357276

Max was crying for food this morning probably because his test BG is up again. I hope he settles in to the new dose by tomorrow.

I got the test results from yesterday last night and it isn't as rosy as my vet said it was. Granted he had eaten but he has had tests before where he had eaten and never had high triglycerides. His cholesterol was sightly above normal as it was last time too. His ALT was above normal which has happened before but not in the last year. His creatinine was 1.7 last time but was up to 2.2 which needs to be watched as well. I'm going to try to feed him some of the lower phosphorus foods Hemolysis was +1 but that should have no significant interference. I'll post all his labs with his ss. This all makes the 3.1 T4 a bit more concerning to me but my vet wasn't concerned at this time. He didn't mention these numbers but perhaps he thinks at 17 years it isn't so bad and that's why he said the labs were pretty good.

We all continue to mourn for Cobb and Booger and send vines of comfort to their families. We have these babies way too short a time and I know that pain they are feeling too well. Vines to all others in need as always.
 
Im not very at all good at lab/medical notes things, but If your vet seems to think he is good overall, maybe it was indeed the eating that skewed things..or maybe he is overall good for his age too..maybe you can have a discussion with them about the results, to clear things up and for peace of mind. He seems to have had a bounce from yesterday clearing up nicely now. Hopefully he can surf a bit now:D
 
Ahh, there's the Max we know, knee deep in the lagoon! Work that jus!

It's hard not to stress over any variance in the B/W results, but I agree the vet might be taking Max's age into account when saying it's pretty good. By all means, discuss your concerns and get clarification. I hope you get the answers you want.
 
Thanks Laura and Tricia. I will definitely discuss things with my vet next week. I read up a little on cholesterol and triglycerides and probably would need tests done in a fast to tell more. It's never happened before that the numbers were that off but I dong think he's ever eaten so close to a blood draw. I know he can't live forever bug if there is anything I can do to keep him healthier I want to do it. The is the most he's ever weighed except for when he was on dry CD before I realized he was picky because if pancreatitis. That can't help either.
 
Max certainly seems to have recovered from his vet adventure and all the out-of-the-normal that came with it. Hope the vet has some not-too-worry answers about the results that have you concerned.

Marilyn and Polly
 
No ideas on the labs either- except to say that the cholesterol could be due to the fact that he wasn't fasting-at least that's how it works in humans. I hope you do get some reassurance from your vet though-in the meantime, Max had a beautiful slide down today as always! :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Ella. I have the norms for Antech which my vet uses. I found info that supports that food is part of this but I have brought him in for blood tests after eating in the past. The only difference was how soon he ate in relationship to the testing. The ranges on the site you listed are way off but thanks for sharing.

Hi Ruth. it looks. It looks like the reducie will hold and perhaps I could have reduced by more than a shave. If he shows me that he wants less it won't bother me one bit. I think reducing by over a unit like my vet suggested would have been a huge mistake. I'm in a bit of a tricky situation with that one now since Max gets his teeth cleaned next Wednesday. Hopefully the subject won't come up yet I fear that is wishful thinking on my part.

Marilyn, I guess it's a good thing I'm the one worrying and Max doesn't have a clue about the out of range labs.

Thanks for visiting everyone.
 
thanks, Elise, for calling attention to the problematic ranges on the website I cited!! Good to know!

Ella
It's not that the website has problematic ranges but that each lab has its own. If you look at my ss labs you will see how different the Antech ranges are from the ranges on that site. IDEXX has different ranges also but closer to Antech. I appreciate that you posted it for me. Thanks.
 
Diabetic cats frequently have high cholesterol. In fact, I'm not sure I remember the last time I looked at labs for a FD that the cholesterol wasn't elevated. I have found that the higher fat foods influence this and also the triglycerides. I know one of the foods you feed is Soulistic and I don't think it is typically high in fat but I'm not sure about the other foods you give him.

I'd also ask the vet to run a fT4 with ED if you are concerned about the T4 and it is up a bit although still normal but some cats can be hyperT and not have elevated numbers. But I think you would notice the symptoms.

His phosphorus and potassium look great!!

I'm glad he came down and looks like he's going to stick with the reduction.

i hope your mom is better today and the a/b works.
 
Thank you for taking a look at the labs, Marje. He eats mostly fancy feast, some tj for mc, some Stella & Chewy's (don't know the fat but will look), and some soulistic mostly for hc. We talked about running a thyroid panel again but since he has gained rather than lost weight and he didn't feel any nodules decided to hold off at this time. When I pick him up for the dental we will discuss it. He has run a little high with a T4 in the past few years but then it goes back down. Since the tests were done just a few hours after he ate maybe the triglycerides went way up just from that? I know it wouldn't effect the T4.

They are giving my mom a little longer on the original antibiotic and it seems it might be starting to work. Thanks for thinking of her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top