1/22 MAX AMPS 126+2/134+4/62+5.5/44+6.5/77 PMPS 156 +2.5/241+5.5/185

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-pmps163-2-5-104-4-25-67.131808/#post-1356828

Usual start to the day. Max slept on my bed but after he got up about a half hour before tfs and didn't get any answer to his meowing went under the bed. I had to drag him out. Then he came looking for me to help measure his insulin.

Amy, I wish he liked getting out but you can't teach a skittish cat new tricks. Maybe he will start walking around the condo more. I never used to let him in the kitchen, dining room, or living room as he would dig in the plants and I wanted to keep part of the place fur free for allergic friends. Since he won't get on the furniture it's fine for him to walk around while I'm home. He tried to get up on the couch with me last night but couldn't pull himself up. When I lifted him he actually stayed on top of me for quite some time. I think it's his weight or arthritis or who knows?

I'm thinking it is time to stop feeding him when he's had enough food and hits low 50's to see if he will surf. If he drops I can bring him back up. Maybe he won't and he will start eating less.

I'm nervous :nailbiting: to get the test results. My vet will call today. Vines and prayers to all in need with extra for Amy's DF, Tricia's kitties, Max, and my mom who is getting worse and not better and needs another antibiotic which she will hopefully get today.
 
Hi Elise,
I hope that Max's test results are favorable and that all will be well. Thanks for the vines for Rusty. I guess we're both :nailbiting: today!

I hope your mom will respond to the new antibiotic and am sending lots of special healing vines to her.

:bighug::bighug:

Ella & Rusty
 
Paws and fingers crossed for a good vetty report for Max! I sure hope your mom can get a new AB that works for her and start responding quickly. Slide on down and surf safe today Max:D
 
Nervous time. My vet left messages on both my phones but I didn't get them because I was in spin class. He has a few things to go over with me but overall it's a pretty good report. Vines please.
 
Sending lots of vines for your DM and for Max. Sounds encouraging that the vet said the report is good overall. Watching for updates.

Thanks for thinking of my babies when you have so much on your plate.
 
Thanks Laura and Tricia. My vet doesn't usually leave messages like this and call both phones. I left a message back for him so hopefully I will hear sooner rather than later. His calcium was just over high normal last time and the fact that with the lower BG he still is peeing a lot and is eating high phos food when before FD he was eating lower phos has me concerned and makes me worry if kidneys are becoming an issue. Hopefully my imagination is worse than the reality.:nailbiting:

He might need a reducie. He didn't eat the ff at +4 and now at 5.5 is at 44. I was considering seeing what would happen if I didn't feed the declining numbers but he is answering for me.
 
He ate the HC with karo but turned his nose up to the ff chicken. I'm hoping his problems can be corrected by weight loss. I'm thinking his BG might need to run a little higher to make it happen. Still waiting to see what's flagged. Thanks for the vines
 
Here are lots more vines! Max, the LagoonMeister is keeping an eye on you from the shore. He'll toss you the waterwings if necessary!

Hope you hear soon from the vet!

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks Ella. HC plus karo brought him right up. Now let's see if he comes down again.
 
Last edited:
Just got off the phone with my vet. He will email me the results but my imagination did worse than the reality.:) His thyroid was high at 3.1 but it doesn't fit with him gaining weight so my vet isn't concerned and doesn't feel a need to run a panel at this time. He also did not feel any nodules. I'll see when he wants to do a recheck after the dental on Wednesday. His calcium came back to normal and his potassium was better too.

Max did not have any glucose in his urine this time, a first and his Bg was 145.. It was 135 not 15 at the vet's office and 134 when I got home. He's worried about him becoming hypo and possibly going into remission. He want me to cut him insulin to 1.0 which I respectfully said I didn't feel comfortable doing. So we compromised (in his eyes) and he said 1.5 but he felt I would likely go to 1.75. I do think it is worth trying another reduction after today's 44. The question is do I go with the tried and proven .15mm or try doing a .25 this time.

He wants me to bring him in at 8 on Wednesday morning and withhold food from midnight on and not give him any insulin in the morning. I know you guys generally give a 1/2 dose but I think on this one I should do what he says. Agree?

So what do you think I should do with his insulin dose tonight?
 
Depending on Gabby's numbers and what the dose is, I've skipped her shot the morning of a dental.

You do realize that for kitties that have been diabetic for more than a year, you don't reduce the dose unless:

  • Numbers drop below 40;
  • The cat is in normal numbers (50 - 120 but mostly green) for a week; or
  • Numbers drop between 40 - 50 three times
 
Max has dropped two times for sure under 50 and I think there was a third drop that I didn't catch. I have not been taking the .25 decrease either but rather .15mm each time as he never held reductions before. My vet wanted me to reduce him from the current F2.0 to just one unit based on the labs from yesterday. I know better than to do that. Then he said okay do 1.5. I argued and we left it at he saying to do 1.5 knowing that I would likely do 1.75.
 
I'm kind of feeling that you should stick with what's been working myself!

Max has been doing so great lately and holding his reductions, so I might just continue what you've been doing! Now if he dropped into the 30's, I'd probably say to take the full .25, but if you're comfortable with what you've been doing, I don't see any reason to change it
 
Good to hear that Max's b/w work had some improving values. I celebrate every time I get a urine and blood glucose in normal range. :cool: FWIW - I don't bother sharing my spreadsheet with either Neko's regular vet or acupuncture vet anymore. And I tell them her current dose when they ask. But we no longer discuss dosing strategies.

With yesterday's possible drop into the forty's, I count three times below 50 for Max at this dose so I think I'd reduce. You could always try .25U reduction and see if it's working for him now. The larger reductions weren't working when he was a lot bouncier. You can always take it back up if the reduction doesn't hold.

I agree with Sienne on the dose the morning of the dental. I decide based on the morning number. I felt more comfortable giving her half dose this last dental, cause they let me feed 1/2 breakfast up to 6AM (1.5 hours before normal breffs) and she had considerately popped into the 200's.
 
I think waiting to see what Max's number is the morning of the dental is the way to go. That's what I've done with Furball. I usually end up skipping the shot just to be safe, even if it makes her PMPS high. My vet will check Furball's BG while she's getting her dental done. You might ask if your vet will do this. I'm glad the b/w results were good.
 
Not that I am as smart as Sienne, Wendy & Chris, but FWIW, I agree about trying the .25 reduction and skipping the morning shot.

I'm glad the news was better than you had feared. We need some good news around here today.
 
Carla brings up a good point. Neko's dental vet tested her BG both before the operation and after they'd given the anesthesia. They also tested the blood pressure. I know you have a hard time getting a good BP for Max, so maybe that's an option for you.
 
Not that I am as smart as Sienne, Wendy & Chris, but FWIW, I agree about trying the .25 reduction and skipping the morning shot.

I'm glad the news was better than you had feared. We need some good news around here today.
We sure do need good news. So many tears shed today. I'm in shock about Cobb and Booger. It happened so fast. I'm praying hard that you get good news too. :bighug:

Thanks for the visits Carla, Sienne, and Wendy.

So far I have votes to go with what has been working and do th shave or try .25. I'm on the fence. As I said earlier some type of reduction makes sense. Just not sure how much as I'm thinking about the skipped shot Wednesday. My fear is that he will be high Wednesday morning and my vet wants me to skip no matter what his number is. I guess I could do an 18 hour if he is high?
 
Last edited:
His BP will be monitored throughout. I'll test right before I take him in and let them know what I get. What do you think about shooting +18 if he is home by then?
 
Anesthesia can lower the blood sugar for a while. I think it would be safer to skip in the AM, then decide that night if and how much you want to shoot. Get a BG test when you get home so you can see what direction he's going before PMPS. The other thing to consider is if he has extractions and may not feel like eating much. I've seen that go wrong before after anesthesia. You want to make sure he's up to eating before shooting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top