1/22 Jax +7 91 BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Active Member
Good Morning everyone!

Decided to give a dose increase of 2.2U up from 2U. Recap of #'s.

PMPS 293 This was at +13.5 because I got home late from work. Pleased with that #.
2.2 U and fed

+3/ 296
+5/ 194
+7/ 108 I think this was nadir. Statically speaking...could be green. Took a nap
+11/ 196
AMPS 356 The Bounce. I think I caught it early because for sure it would have been in the red. Shot 30 mins early to get back toward our schedule.

Gave 2.2 U. Bleary eyed. Hope did not give fur shot but don't think so.
Didn't smell insulin on coat but cannot be 100% sure. Shot differently than normal. I went a little closer in to his body. Hope effective.
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

Lisa & Jax said:
+7/ 108 I think this was nadir. Statically speaking...could be green. Took a nap.

Looks green enough to me! ;-)

Are you doing a curve today with the increased dose?
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

Maybe I am speaking too soon. Last night's cycle held steady until we passed +3. Then #'s started to drop.

Teresa, I don't think I will do a full curve. Will capture +5, +7 and that's pretty much it unless #'s warrant it.
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

Maybe not as bad as you think. Unless you gave a furshot, the higher +3 could be explained ......the preshot probably was still skyrocketing and continued to climb. Once, I saw Kitty's preshot number climb 100 points in 15 minutes. Once the prozinc is gone....it is gone! And, it is evident from your +11 and preshot readings, that Jaxs was zooming upward. So, I would say, you probably shot into a much higher number than you recorded and you fed, giving you a food spike. Then given the onset period on Prozinc, it is very possible you had a red number before getting any downward movement. Hopefully, that is what you are dealing with and the numbers will continue to come down. TIme will tell........


Good Luck!
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

One thing I have learned in the dance is that "you never know!"
hopefully Jax will start to come down soon
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

Hope Jax's numbers will start coming down for you. He seems like he spikes up pretty quick when the PZ starts wearing off.
Good luck!
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

dmartini4 said:
One thing I have learned in the dance is that "you never know!"

Surprised I am as calm as I am. PMPS was 325. Gave 2.2U
+3/ 74 This got my atention. Never been so low so quick.
+4/ 47 Just broke out some FF with gravy from hypo kit which he gobbled up. Displaying no signs of anything. Grooming self as usual. Going to retest now.
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

ok you are doing great!
dont worry,
you just gave a high carb, so try ot to over due it
take his number in about 20 min and let us know where you are]
you are ok so dont panic
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

Hope I didn't overreact by even breaking out the higher carb gravy as he was moving about as normal, even playful. I can't take that risk as he usually hits nadir at +6, +7 so this is too low.

I'm not panicked but did put on something decent just in case I need to act fast.
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

I understand, being proactive is the best thing to do
but just hang in ther for a few and dont over do
I will stay on with you....as Sue says...BREATHE......
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

Thanks Denise. Just took a read. Could not help self. 88 BG. Thinking he may still dip? Will test again at +5 which is in approx 15 minutes.
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

ok 88 is an awesome number...and close to +5 adn palying and being happy is a good thing
he could dip alittle more but if he just ate he ill be ok
breathe...
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

Just when it was so quiet and peaceful in Health, I pop in here and......

Hiya, Lisa, Jax, Denise....

How's it going?

Carl
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

About to retest. Maybe I overreacted?? Never seen him drop so low, so fast.
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

Don't think you overreacted.....that 47 at +4 would have made me a tad anxious!
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

HI Carl, I always seem to breathe better when you are here!!
Lisa and Jax are fine...88 is an awesome number, I fear she is just not used to that much goodness....
Glad you ar here though!
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

I'm not panicked but did put on something decent just in case I need to act fast.

That made me lol!
Us guys, we would have gone out in a hurry in whatever we happened to be wearing and never thought twice about it, even after we got back home. :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

110 BG @ +5.

And I said I wanted to see some green... good grief. ohmygod_smile

Hope the higher carb FF w/ gravy doesn't send him to the moon.
You are 100% correct, not used to this much goodness all at once.
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

Laughing so damn hard cause I never saw that statement
and ususally I would have laughed my damn ass off on that!
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

carlinsc said:
I'm not panicked but did put on something decent just in case I need to act fast.

That made me lol!
Us guys, we would have gone out in a hurry in whatever we happened to be wearing and never thought twice about it, even after we got back home. :lol:

Carl

You are probably correct because dh wasn't concerned about what he was wearing... come to think of it.
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

Whew! Jax had you hopping! Good thing it wasn't a full score. :smile:

Yea, while I'd love to see green, I know it would make me panic. And seeing a green under 50? Katie bar the door!

And you so calm. :-D Way to go momma bean! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

Lisa,

You are doing great! Hang in there! Keeping you both in my prayers.

Lori
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

Lisa,
Here's my theory on low numbers and feeding...
You saw your kitty below "normal" only 4 hours into his cycle. Too low for comfort and not close to nadir yet. I see nothing wrong with feeding "junk food" to pull him up. It's gravy, or high carbs something like honey or karo. It doesn't last long. There's no "long lasting" negative impact. It's like an oxygen mask on a plane. You only need it for a short time, until the plane lands safely on the ground. No need to mess with a chance of going lower. The numbers have already shown you what that dose on that PS reading can do. Important thing is to get him away from "danger", and you did exactly that.

If his numbers go way up, it'll be because his liver panicked, not you. He'll probably go a little high as a result of going really low, but that can be explained easily. Just a bounce. So you act like it didn't happen, and within another cycle or two, he settles back down.

I'm gonna take another look at the SS and see if I can figure out why he went that low that fast. Probably I'll scratch my head a lot, and come up with "might be time for a tiny dose reduction", but I'll be back!
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

Updated title to reflect being in the clear. No sense in alarming folks.
Yep, that # in the 40's threw me for a loop. You would NEVER know he was that low by looking at him. It's a wonder...
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

SO jax's night consisted of seeing some green for a few seconds
and mama reating like she never seen green in her lifE!
sorry Lisa, I know it is not funny but I would hav edone the same thing
I hope he doesnt go to high tonight!

wishing nothing but green for you both ..]
and hoping you are wearing something nice for it!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

I saw a couple of 40's with Bob, and like you, I had no idea from looking at him.

Just wondering....when he was really low, was he acting really hungry?

Carl
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

Just when it was so quiet and peaceful in Health, I pop in here and......

I was thinking the past couple of days "sure are a lot of new people lately", so today I looked it up.....

In the past 8 days, there have been 51 new accounts created, and 29 of them have posted at least once in Health introducing themselves. That's just amazing to me! Either there's a world wide epidemic, or FDMB is becoming very easy to find and growing in popularity.

Carl
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

Evening Carl. I shot him 45 mins ahead of schedule to get him back on track. Jax usually shoots up from +11 to nadir but he probably did not and was coasting still on 326 with whatever was left in the tank. That's my guess. I shot early to get him back to where I wanted him to be and got a nasty surprise. Didn't expect it as his tank starts puttering right after +11 to shot.

I've tweaked his schedule before 30mins to one hour early, late, etc, etc, to become more in line with my schedule with no ill effects...until now.
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

In looking at the SS it seemd that Jax reacts as soon as he sees a lower number
maybe you should shoot the 2 units and hold that there for a while
a couple of days is not good enough for Jax, I would think he needs at least a
week or more on one does, just a thought
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

dmartini4 said:
SO jax's night consisted of seeing some green for a few seconds
and mama reating like she never seen green in her lifE!

LOL!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Carl, when he was really low he was grooming as if nothing was amiss. When I popped open the can and he caught a taste he reacted like I gave him beluga caviar. :lol: My civvie came over very aggressively, to try to get a piece of the action but I shooed him away. He polished off the can in under a minute flat...but Jax is a scarfer. Always has been, always will be.
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

Lisa,
Just something to watch for in the future.... sometimes they will "insist" that you feed them, like they try to get you to believe you forgot to feed them breakfast. A lot of people have mentioned that this happens, and then they test and find a lower than expected number. It seems like they "know" they are low, and that food will bump them up. So they tell you the only way they can (because hooomans are too dumb to understand catspeak), but telling you "hey, I'm freaking hungry here!!!!".

I'm with Denise on the backing it down to 2.0 for a few cycles. For some reason, today the insulin just seemed to do more, which happens on occasion. Sometimes it pushes them lower, sometimes it pushes for longer duration. Looks like Jax had a long duration one cycle, and a big dip the next.

Carl
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

Lisa,

Glad to see Jax is doing better. When Copper went into his hypo(he dropped to 29 +5) he looked fine too. He was begging for food, but he always is begging for food. other than that, i wouldn't of known a thing. It surprised me too because he had been on that dose for several days and had no reaction like that. This is what scares me. It seems like you just never know what they are going to do. THeir pancreas can decide to just kick in and help out and WHAM! I don't like this either! I like seeing the green like you, but a little nerve wrenching.

You did a good job at getting through the low numbers. I did panic and gave too much gravy and karo. Now i know better. You really did good!

I've found out with copper that he needed to stay on a steady dose for at least 5days to get him to settle down and not hop all over the place and be so inconsistant. Maybe Jax needs to stay steady on a dose for a couple of days and see what happens. Just a thought!

Hope Jax doesn't climb too high tonight and that you can get some rest.

Lori
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

Thanks for all of the advice. I really appreciate it. Going to stick with 2U. The numbers were not bad, not great. Had him there for 5.5 days and thought he was settled in but he may need more time. One thing I think was successful is that I think I have narrowed down his range for now. I think the 'sweet spot' is a dose very close to where we are now.

+6 152
Going to hold him steady another week and maybe try 2.2U again next weekend.

Thanks FDMB family! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/21 Jax Weekend Trial

Glad things turned out well.

Looks like the home team is running strong. Lisa & Jax for the interception...
Go Prozinc P's!
:RAHCAT
 
Re: 1/21 Just broke out the gravy +4 47BG

carlinsc said:
If his numbers go way up, it'll be because his liver panicked, not you.
The smallest of consolations.

AMPS 589 A number almost off the Richter scale. Ugh. Feels like back to square one. (or minus one)

Shot 2U and fed.

O-Ren Ishii: You didn't think it was gonna be that easy, did you?
The Bride: You know, for a second there, yeah, I kinda did.
 
Re: 1/21-1/22 Jax Weekend Trial

I love your quote, Lisa! :lol:

And good morning! ~O)

I'm still in awe at how calm and collected you were yesterday. Good going! Can't wait to see what Jax has in store for today. :smile:
 
Re: 1/21-1/22 Jax Weekend Trial

Lisa,

Hope it goes well today with Jax! Hope you see green, but not too green!

Lori
 
Re: 1/21-1/22 Jax Weekend Trial

Lisa I have the same problem with callie If I give her 1.7 she will sometimes see green If I give her 1.8 more often than not at + 4 she will hit green ???? and I'll be dambed I've tried to mess with the does but kitty will do what she wants cat_pet_icon dancing_cat you and Jax are doing great were cheering for you ;-) :RAHCAT
 
Re: 1/21-1/22 Jax Weekend Trial

Callie and Jax are very similiar. It's like their bodies just won't accept the lower #'s. Then of course, the dreaded bounce.

+7/ 91

This is nadir I imagine if pattern holds true. He hits at +6, +7 usually. I hope it isn't a "Here we go again..."
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top