1/22 Jack AMPS 51 - Do I skip a dose??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jack the Cat & Katie

Member Since 2016
Tested Jack this morning and got the following results, not sure what to do next:

7 AM (no food since 11 PM): 77
Gave food, ate about 1.5 oz
8 AM: 51
Usually would give his insulin at 8 am, but I gave him a treat and encouraged him to eat some more and waited on the insulin
He ate a few more bites

8:45 AM: 55, gave a treat

I entered the lowest BG # of 51 in his spreadsheet. I know I need to collect more data during the day but I haven't been able to with work (only day 3 of insulin). I am planning to test every 2 hours tomorrow. Should I retest now and then give the insulin as long as BG is no lower than the 55 reading from 20 minutes ago?
 
Recommend that you read http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...regulation-shooting-handling-low-numbers.147/ It is too much info to copy here.

Since he is so new to Lantus and you are working today (?), I would not shoot. Lantus takes 3 days (6 cycles) to fill up the depot. I would skip the shot and let the depot drain some. I think that 1u is too much for him. I would count the 51 as close enough to earn a reduction.

I hope that others will join in but it is better for him to be too high than too low if you are not able to monitor him.
 
Thank you. I will read that over. I do have to work until at least 2 today (its 9:30 here now... was supposed to be there already but oh well). I just retested and BG is 56 so I definitely won't give the shot. I have a call in to the vet to ask about a lower dose.
 
I agree with Anne. Since his numbers were lower an hour after your first test AND you had given him food (which usually will raise the numbers) it would probably not be safe to shoot. When first starting insulin it is usually advised to start with a "No Shoot" number of 200.

Have you changed the diet since Jack was diagnosed? Often changing from a higher carb diet, especially such as dry food, to a lower carb diet can cause quire a drop in numbers with some kitties.

At that low a number you really need a lot more information on how Jack responds to the insulin. Considering that 50 is the level that reductions are usually given, you are right on the borderline and with only having done a few shots Jack's pancreas could be "sputtering" into action. My thoughts are to skip this shot, but others will weigh in and give their opinions.
 
Thanks everyone for responding! I did call the vet about 2.5 hours ago but no response from her yet so I am very grateful to have heard from some of you who have experience. He was diagnosed 3 weeks ago and I changed his food from dry to wet right away, so he's been on the wet food for 2.5 weeks. We had our consultation with the vet to learn how to give the insulin last week and then started it on Tuesday. He tested in the mid-300's at home pre-insulin but after giving the wet food for 2 weeks. In other words, its not as though I switched it that recently, so I am thinking that the drop is more due to the insulin.

Either I or my husband will be home with him starting this afternoon through the whole weekend so we'll monitor BG closely over those 2.5 days and hopefully get a better idea of how the insulin is affecting him.
 
Hello and welcome. Good call skipping this morning. Since you skipped yesterday morning as well and got to 51 this morning, you might want to try a dose 0f .5U instead for Jack. I think 1 unit is too much given his response this early on to Lantus. It's much easier to start low and work your way up in dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top