1/22 - Gen, AMBG <400, PMPS <400

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday - tl;dr, Gen suddenly wouldn't eat, had his first lime as a result, and kept me up until 4AM until his numbers finally started going up out of the 40s-50s.

(Just when I was about to start TR, too. And his dental surgery is just a week from Monday.)

Gen ate maybe 1/3 can of the wet food I left out for him at some point in the early morning, but completely refused his breakfast (and I only tried to give him half his normal amount) to begin with. I was exhausted and wound up sleeping for much of the day. At one point, after a couple of kibbles leftover from one of last night's attempt fell off the bed and he ate them, I fed him a bit more dry food (sigh), and he ate some of it. And a freeze-dried tuna treat, though putting more of that on top of his food did not induce him to eat further.

A little while ago I managed to pill him with Cerenia, with much-appreciated advice from @Staci & Ivy. It helped that he was fast asleep when I approached, which I imagine isn't always going to be an option, but you know. Then I fed him a fresh can of cat food warmed in the microwave for 15 seconds (vet office's advice), with toppings he likes. He ate a good third of that in one go, including all the toppings. So ... that's a little better. I also acquired disposable gloves so I can give him mirataz properly this evening.

We have a vet appointment tomorrow afternoon at 3 (my vet turned out to be out today, sigh), and I must go in to the office for the morning/early afternoon, which means I also must sleep!

His BG has been over >400 for 11 hours. I skipped his morning shot because he'd still barely eaten. I don't know what I should do tonight (or tomorrow morning); I don't like leaving him without any insulin! Maybe a reduced dose? (Maybe he'll be able to eat more, with the Cerenia and mirataz in his system?) I need help, please! @Wendy&Neko @Christie & Maverick
 
At a minimum, you can always give a half dose. Even cats undergoing anesthesia and are not allowed to eat can get a half dose. Insulin does more in the body that combat carbs from food. Insulin is food for cells, including the brain.

Personally, when Neko was off her food, I would give full dose when I knew I could get at least 2/3 of her food into her. Even if it meant syringing a bit in. Sometimes I would offer 8% carbs to give me a bit of a buffer. You also know he is going to bounce for a few cycles yet. His numbers will be higher with bounces. You could consider full dose, or just a tiny bit less and he'd likely be OK. 1.0 unit wasn't taking him anywhere dangerous.

Please test for ketones if you can today. Lack of calories, not enough insulin + something causing inflammation or infection are a really bad combination.
 
At a minimum, you can always give a half dose. Even cats undergoing anesthesia and are not allowed to eat can get a half dose. Insulin does more in the body that combat carbs from food. Insulin is food for cells, including the brain.
Ah, damn, I should have asked about this last night. I was just so scared, he stayed low for hours and I couldn't get a thing into him. And this morning I was a mess ... I already had some sleep debt, even before last night. Damn, damn, damn.

Personally, when Neko was off her food, I would give full dose when I knew I could get at least 2/3 of her food into her. Even if it meant syringing a bit in. Sometimes I would offer 8% carbs to give me a bit of a buffer. You also know he is going to bounce for a few cycles yet. His numbers will be higher with bounces. You could consider full dose, or just a tiny bit less and he'd likely be OK. 1.0 unit wasn't taking him anywhere dangerous.
This is true. I may give him his full dose if I can get him to eat just a bit more. I hope the meds do their work.

Please test for ketones if you can today. Lack of calories, not enough insulin + something causing inflammation or infection are a really bad combination.
I will try. I haven't actually caught him going to pee in a bit, but thankfully I'm here and not doing much else. I'll make sure the vet does tomorrow, whether or not I can manage today.
 
Okay, he's eating! Hard to say if he's eating normally, exactly, since his normal habits involve grazing for most of the night (or day, depending on the meal). But it's certainly an improvement over yesterday. I gave him a slightly skinny 1.25u - maybe closer to 1.10u. We'll see what happens.

No luck with ketone tests yet; I haven't managed to catch him peeing.

Also, was reminded that I have a rather important work meeting tomorrow at the same time my vet appointment is scheduled for, which is ... not good. I will call the vet first thing in the morning and see what can be done. I guess if worst comes to worst, I can proceed with the Cerenia (hopefully) and Mirataz over the weekend to make sure he keeps eating? But I really want my vet to take a look at him and run some tests, because this came out of nowhere. Also, there's a rather large and protuberent scab at the site of his cheek wound now, which I don't entirely know what to make of (but at least it doesn't seem to be oozing).
 
I hope Gen is eating tonight, Allie. I’m sorry it’s been such a hard day or 2.

Do you have Ondansetron also in case you need it (for nausea?)
If you see the vet tomorrow you could get a script to have on hand if needed.

I hope that Cerenia and Mirataz will help.
Sending you lots of healing vibes 🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃💓💓💓💓💓
 
Yay for eating! I think Bell not eating is the single most stressful thing I've experienced in this. It is something out of my immediate control and drives me up the wall.

I am right there with you on the balancing work vs cat challenge... Hang in there is all I can say. Everyday seems like a new scheduling problem to solve.
 
Any chance you can take a pic of the scab and send it into the vet? My previous vet ( retired - sob! ) would at least let me know if something was a concern and meant a vet visit.
 
I hope Gen is eating tonight, Allie. I’m sorry it’s been such a hard day or 2.

Do you have Ondansetron also in case you need it (for nausea?)
If you see the vet tomorrow you could get a script to have on hand if needed.

I hope that Cerenia and Mirataz will help.
Sending you lots of healing vibes 🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃💓💓💓💓💓
Thank you, Staci. ❤️ I'm afraid I don't have Ondansetron, but I'll ask the vet about it. I'm not entirely sure why he would need two different anti-nausea meds, though? Isn't that what the Cerenia is for?

Yay for eating! I think Bell not eating is the single most stressful thing I've experienced in this. It is something out of my immediate control and drives me up the wall.

I am right there with you on the balancing work vs cat challenge... Hang in there is all I can say. Everyday seems like a new scheduling problem to solve.
Thanks, Seth - honestly, I thought of you last night! I have no idea how you manage as many sleepless nights as Bell gives you - I can't cope with too many like that one, not with the sleep problems I already have, and the amount of mental energy my job requires most days. Solidarity.

Any chance you can take a pic of the scab and send it into the vet? My previous vet ( retired - sob! ) would at least let me know if something was a concern and meant a vet visit.
That is a very good idea - something I've done a number of times before. My vet will certainly get back to me about the scab, and Gen's current issues in general, even if we can't go in person. (But talking in realtime is always better, as is an in-person examination and testing, so ... I hope there's some way to make it work.)
 
The two drugs target different nausea receptors. I find ondansetron better for nausea, Cerenia for vomiting. You can give both.
Thank you for clarifying!

I just finally managed a ketone test. It came out negative. Gen's doing fine; time to sleep.

Goodnight, and thank you (and everyone else) for your support today!

ETA: the scab fell or was knocked off at some point before I could get a photo. I got one of his cheek which I can email, though it doesn't look much different than the last time I did this.
 
Thank you, Staci. ❤️ I'm afraid I don't have Ondansetron, but I'll ask the vet about it. I'm not entirely sure why he would need two different anti-nausea meds, though? Isn't that what the Cerenia is for?


Thanks, Seth - honestly, I thought of you last night! I have no idea how you manage as many sleepless nights as Bell gives you - I can't cope with too many like that one, not with the sleep problems I already have, and the amount of mental energy my job requires most days. Solidarity.


That is a very good idea - something I've done a number of times before. My vet will certainly get back to me about the scab, and Gen's current issues in general, even if we can't go in person. (But talking in realtime is always better, as is an in-person examination and testing, so ... I hope there's some way to make it work.)
The Ondansetron is pretty inexpensive (it’s a human medication and is a generic).
If your pharmacy is pricey, you can always check GoodRx or other online sites for coupons, do a search for local pricing.
(Shaw market seems to have it at $15.55 for 30 tablets).
It’s good to have your arsenal of meds in the house so you’re not going crazy if/when you need them (at night or a weekend when vet isn’t available) 😩
 
The Ondansetron is pretty inexpensive (it’s a human medication and is a generic).
If your pharmacy is pricey, you can always check GoodRx or other online sites for coupons, do a search for local pricing.
(Shaw market seems to have it at $15.55 for 30 tablets).
It’s good to have your arsenal of meds in the house so you’re not going crazy if/when you need them (at night or a weekend when vet isn’t available) 😩
I get Ondansetron from Chewy. Its pretty cheap.
 
Back
Top