Allie & Gen
Member Since 2025
Yesterday - tl;dr, Gen suddenly wouldn't eat, had his first lime as a result, and kept me up until 4AM until his numbers finally started going up out of the 40s-50s.
(Just when I was about to start TR, too. And his dental surgery is just a week from Monday.)
Gen ate maybe 1/3 can of the wet food I left out for him at some point in the early morning, but completely refused his breakfast (and I only tried to give him half his normal amount) to begin with. I was exhausted and wound up sleeping for much of the day. At one point, after a couple of kibbles leftover from one of last night's attempt fell off the bed and he ate them, I fed him a bit more dry food (sigh), and he ate some of it. And a freeze-dried tuna treat, though putting more of that on top of his food did not induce him to eat further.
A little while ago I managed to pill him with Cerenia, with much-appreciated advice from @Staci & Ivy. It helped that he was fast asleep when I approached, which I imagine isn't always going to be an option, but you know. Then I fed him a fresh can of cat food warmed in the microwave for 15 seconds (vet office's advice), with toppings he likes. He ate a good third of that in one go, including all the toppings. So ... that's a little better. I also acquired disposable gloves so I can give him mirataz properly this evening.
We have a vet appointment tomorrow afternoon at 3 (my vet turned out to be out today, sigh), and I must go in to the office for the morning/early afternoon, which means I also must sleep!
His BG has been over >400 for 11 hours. I skipped his morning shot because he'd still barely eaten. I don't know what I should do tonight (or tomorrow morning); I don't like leaving him without any insulin! Maybe a reduced dose? (Maybe he'll be able to eat more, with the Cerenia and mirataz in his system?) I need help, please! @Wendy&Neko @Christie & Maverick
(Just when I was about to start TR, too. And his dental surgery is just a week from Monday.)
Gen ate maybe 1/3 can of the wet food I left out for him at some point in the early morning, but completely refused his breakfast (and I only tried to give him half his normal amount) to begin with. I was exhausted and wound up sleeping for much of the day. At one point, after a couple of kibbles leftover from one of last night's attempt fell off the bed and he ate them, I fed him a bit more dry food (sigh), and he ate some of it. And a freeze-dried tuna treat, though putting more of that on top of his food did not induce him to eat further.
A little while ago I managed to pill him with Cerenia, with much-appreciated advice from @Staci & Ivy. It helped that he was fast asleep when I approached, which I imagine isn't always going to be an option, but you know. Then I fed him a fresh can of cat food warmed in the microwave for 15 seconds (vet office's advice), with toppings he likes. He ate a good third of that in one go, including all the toppings. So ... that's a little better. I also acquired disposable gloves so I can give him mirataz properly this evening.
We have a vet appointment tomorrow afternoon at 3 (my vet turned out to be out today, sigh), and I must go in to the office for the morning/early afternoon, which means I also must sleep!
His BG has been over >400 for 11 hours. I skipped his morning shot because he'd still barely eaten. I don't know what I should do tonight (or tomorrow morning); I don't like leaving him without any insulin! Maybe a reduced dose? (Maybe he'll be able to eat more, with the Cerenia and mirataz in his system?) I need help, please! @Wendy&Neko @Christie & Maverick