1/22 Gandolf PMPS 245

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34936
WCR: All P's Present

Good Caturday Morning Everyone ~O)

A beautiful day today. Well, we're liking the colors on Gandolf's SS. Hope they stay there and keep heading on down. It looks like, perhaps, we avoided a big bounce. That's great.

Hanging at 3.75 which we have been at for awhile now. However, considering yesterday, and the most recent colors on his SS I'm not inclined to dosecrease up. But to wait here a few more cycles and see what happens.

I have a protocol question: Why is it we wait to go below a BG reading of 50 before dose reduction :?: Thanks for the input, coaching and education :razz:

Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/22 Gandolf AMPS 271 Dosing Question

Hi Cee, I'm glad Gandy didn't bounce and surfed blues for you yesterday. Now it's a matter of refilling the shed which may take a few cycles. I agree with holding the 3.75u dose.

There is actually more than one way to earn a reduction with the protocol we use here. One way is to go below 50 (newly diagnosed cat) or below 40 for a longer term diabetic cat. The other way is to be in green numbers for a week. The reason for waiting to go below those numbers is that you want the cat to spend as much time in the healing range as possible.....50-120 is what is usually considered the healing range. If the numbers stay too high, the pancreas doesn't have the chance to heal. So you want to get the cat low, but not TOO low, because then you risk hypo. So when they start dipping down into the 30s and 40s, it's time to reduce. If you start reducing when they are above that, say in the 50s and 60s, the reduced dose probably won't be enough to keep them in the lower numbers anymore, so the numbers creep up and they spend too much time out of the healing range...the reduction doesn't hold. It's a balancing act. I hope that helps.
 
Re: 1/22 Gandolf AMPS 271 Dosing Question

Gandolf's spreadsheet is looking much better! Hope those pinks stay away and you're in more blues soon! I'm pretty new, so I don't have any dosing advice, but wanted to say good morning and give your question a bump!

Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/22 Gandolf AMPS 271 Dosing Question

Good question regarding when to dose reduce when ya see numbers under 50. And glad you received a good answer.

Thanks for visiting my condo today.

Have a good evening.
 
Re: 1/22 Gandolf AMPS 271 Dosing Question

In addition to everything that Laurie said, a drop below 50/40 may also mean that your cat is producing endogenous insulin (i.e., the pancreas is kicking in) -- another indication that healing is going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top