1/22 Fred AMPS 444, +4.5 449 +5.5 414 Refusing all food all day

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
Since this morning, Fred has 100% been refusing any and all food, including his PureBite treats which he would normally eat no matter WHAT. This has literally never happened in the nearly 11 years I've had him, and I am really getting panicked. Of course, these things happen on weekends.

He was fine last night; ate very well, in fact. Then this AM, I could immediately tell something was wrong. I was afraid to skip his shot, so he got his full amount. Then I freaked when he would literally eat NOTHING. Not even his high carb food which he adores.

I could not get an ondansetron in him, as I was alone. I finally resorted to the "big gun" I had been saving-a dose of injectible Cerenia given to me by my vet. That was a horror show. He hissed and howled and needless to say, I felt sick about hurting him after I'd spent the previous 20 min trying to wrestle a pill in. I think I got about half the dose in.

I had to be out all afternoon, but my husband was able to come home and keep an eye on him and test his BG. I was terrified he'd crash with no food. But...he's staying very high which says to me-panc attack. But again, he has NEVER been 100% anorexic before. Ketones were .1 this AM, and .2 at 5.5.

Between my husband and I, we were successful at getting a Zofran in him...we are pretty sure it went down. I then gave him transdermal Mirataz. That was nearly 90 min ago, and...nothing. He is utterly lethargic, looks in pain, and will not eat a thing. Can anyone give me guidance as to how long it takes for the Mirataz to take effect, if it's going to? I seem to recall it working fairly quickly in civvie Sadie.

Even though his numbers are sky-high, I am very worried about giving more insulin with no food whatsoever. Ketones were .1 AMPS, and .2 at +5.5. And, of course, I worry about hepatic lipidosis. I think it's been about 13-14 hours since he's eaten anything, but it could be a bit more.

I don't know what else to do...I am so at a loss. I have no tools in which to syringe feed him. And I don't know what to do about insulin in 2 hours. :(
 
It sounds like he’s having pancreatitis. Zofran should work within an hour but sometimes it can take a few doses. I would give it again in 8 hours.
 
Thanks so much for the replies @Katherine&Ruby and @tiffmaxee. We’re a half hour out from insulin, and no change in Fred. He got out of his pod, and is purring, but nothing on the food front. He’s still so lethargic.
He’s not a fishy guy…or any human or commercial food guy. I’m so surprised and disappointed that the ondansetron and Mirataz have not done anything. The ondansetron has worked wonders up until now. And getting it in him… such a battle that I can’t do myself in the middle of the night. :-((

@Katherine&Ruby Thank you for the post! I think I’ll give a reduced dose. 3?? I’m so scared. If he drops low, I won’t be able to get him to eat. :-(
 
Since he is high I feel pretty good about telling you to shoot 3 units. I would hesitate if he was green. Please make sure you can test him after you dose. Fingers crossed he will get over the episode and have something to eat. Is he drinking at all? The other concern is dehydration.
 
I agree with Katherine. Can you Shri ge feed him if necessary? What about Gerbers baby food, 100 meat, the 2nd?Sometimes if you can get a little food into them they start eating on their own.
 
So I just tested him, and was 382. Dropping from earlier. So I gave him 2.5. Too much? Too little? I don’t know. :-(

I have no syringe supplies…I’ve never done it. He won’t eat anything for love or money. Normally his HC kibble is a no brainer…but he won’t touch it.

He takes a few sips of water, but then stops.
 
When Max was first diagnosed with chronic pancreatitis he stopped eating even dry food too. You can get a couple syringes at the pet food store tomorrow or in the baby department at bed bath n beyond or a pharmacy like cvs.
 
So I just tested him, and was 382. Dropping from earlier. So I gave him 2.5. Too much? Too little? I don’t know. :-(

I have no syringe supplies…I’ve never done it. He won’t eat anything for love or money. Normally his HC kibble is a no brainer…but he won’t touch it.

He takes a few sips of water, but then stops.
Few sips is good. And a drop to 382 is not a big one, within meter variance. Is it +9 or +10?
 
You will find feeding syringes in the bird section or maybe for cats. You mix some food with water to syringe. Let me find a video and information on assist feeding.
 
Thank you!

Hello Kathleen.

I am sorry you and Fred are going through this.

Do you have pain medication? If it is pancreatitis, its incredibly painful. I hate to say it but you may be looking at a trip to the emergency vet, if he goes another day without eating. Hepatic lipidosis can be dangerous.
 
Thank you, all.

He’s now under the bed after still refusing everything. I’ve gabapentin, but if he’s not eating, I can’t get it into him.

All good thoughts would be so appreciated!
 
Sorry to hear about Fred being stubborn about food. Since's a pain about pilling, you might want to see if you can get injectible ondansetron.

Pill guns or pill shooters were a life saver with Miss. Lock Jaw Neko. This was my favourite one.

Best of luck. :bighug:
 
Back
Top