? 1/22 | Des: AMPS 302, +6 284 - seeking dosing advice

Prikitiw

Member Since 2024
Hi there,

I'm looking for dosing advice as my cat, Desmond (Des), seems to be bouncing around a bit (e.g., when he gets to lower AMPS or +1 readings like 106 or 119).

(I understand from reading this forum that bouncing *usually* lasts around 6 cycles / 3 days.)

Is it time to reduce Des' dose?


Spreadsheet is here and also in my signature below.

I am a student and I often have to get up early for class, which explains why I haven't tested much at night. I'm worried that I have missed a dose reduction when he went really low and I wasn't at home. Not sure what to do so hoping for some guidance here.

Thank you all in advance.
 
If you are following TR as per your signature, you need to increase the dose. I'm not sure why you reduced from 2.75 units? The reduction point when following TR is going below 50 (2.8) and I don't see anything close to that.

With TR, we evaluate the dose every 3-5 days, you have held this dose too long.

As far as night goes, if you can get a +2 every night, that would be really helpful. It looks like Des has onset by then, so that would give us a good clue as to what is happening at night.

When you see those lower +1's, it's possible it was a bounce breaking cycle the cycle before that, and the downward motion carried into the following cycle.
 
Thank you, @Wendy&Neko

Would you recommend increasing tonight (PM shot) or is the norm to wait until the following day (so that today's dose remain the same AM and PM)?

Also, do I increase immediately back to 2.75 or do I increase to 2.5 first and hold this dose for 3-5 days?

Thanks again!
 
You can increase AM or PM, up to you. Some cats will drop a bit the first dose after an increase, some won't. I can't see any data when you increased so can't see if that's a pattern for Des.

If you can't monitor too closely the next few days, I would try 2.5 units first.
 
Back
Top