1/22 DAVIDSON AMPS 397

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
+9 281, AMPS 397............increased dose to 2u this morning........has been very slowly decreasing his BG's and today will see how he does with the increase and will do random BG's throughout the day while I am here. Eating well, no ketones today, hoping to see some blue/grn colours.........
 
Good morning Shawna and Davidson,

Good luck with the dosecrease. In the meantime Davidson can start out on the Pink Team for curling practice today (the LL Sliders Curling Club, one of the many fun activities in LL!).

Have a fine day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi guys .. good luck with the extra juice! I hope that the spot checks show lots of :mrgreen: :mrgreen: have a great day guys!
 
Come on Davidson, get some different colours already!

Did you ask the vet about possible UTI? The pee dripping sounds off to me... I don't know if I have heard of dripping off fur before.l wonder if it's an infection..
 
He doesn't have UTI, he squats in the litter box and pees a lot so the fur on his hind legs gets a bit wet and that's what drips. My BIGGER concern is that his BG's are still high in spite of being on insulin, and only slightly lower then when he was not on it and only on wet food.
 
Big picture. He is diabetic and needs insulin. You are seeing more yellow now. Just not enough. Two units isn't that much. All you can do is slowly increase and eventually you should see a response. Two more days on this dose and see how it goes.

Wendy
 
I'm aware he needs insulin, but there are several different types and perhaps if there is no success on the Lantus after a while then there is a time when a change is made. Just wondering when you make that call. I'll be speaking with my Vet by Friday and see what he thinks. Thanks
 
I would keep increasing slowly until you hit maybe 4, then I would start to wonder if I hadn't seen any more blue or green by then. But I don't think that will happen.

Patience!!! ;)
 
Shawna - we typically wait about 6 months on Lantus before deciding if a different insulin is needed. Davidson is still new to insulin and following the protocol will allow you to safely find the dosage that he needs. If no one has told you before, feline diabetes is a great way to learn patience.

Here is the link to your other post today. We try to limit to one post a day, as there are many members and it's hard to keep track of more than one a day per cat.
 
Understand.............thanks..

By one post a day, do you mean one thread??

SORRY - I see there was another post done earlier and I forgot or didn't see it. I'll be more careful tomorrow.

Question - how often do you want me to post his BG's? I do update my SS each time I do a test.
 
Most new people will at least update the subject line of the first post as the day goes along, especially if the numbers are going low or they have any concerns or questions.
 
hi shawna!

i agree with Wendy about the 6 months. When you change insulins you have some degree of starting over. I'd give it at least 6 months and see what happens. It's really a good insulin. The protocol that we follow was developed with a study on cats and Lantus. The other good one is Levemir, but i do think what you need is more time on the Lantus, rather than a different insulin.

the reason those two insulins seem to be so good is that they have a long-lasting effect in the body and it helps to even out the blood sugar. but you've got to work up to the right dose first, and Davidson isn't there yet.

he will, however, get there! cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top