1/22 ChipChip AMPS : 522

TrepTheSnake

Member Since 2023
yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...17-is-the-bouncing-effect-stabilizing.273288/

I'm continuing the plan with 2.5 units since yesterday night. After 2 "good" days. the reading of this morning was very high. She's eating 100% diabetic dry food starting this morning. (I'm aware it's not the best one and wet is better, as it was discussed yesterday :P).

I don't know if she's bouncing, I don't know if it's now too low of a dose... since 3 seemd to make her bounce... any theory?
 
She's eating 100% diabetic dry food starting this morning. (I'm aware it's not the best one and wet is better, as it was discussed yesterday :p).
Yeah, it's less carbs than normal dry food but still too high in carbs. The low carb options in dry food are Young Again, Dr. Elsey’s Cleanprotein and Wysong Epigen 90. I think Ketokibbles is also low carb (https://ketogenicpetfoods.com/). You should be able to get Young Again and Dr. Elsey's in Canada. They are also better quality than Royal Canin.

I don't know if she's bouncing, I don't know if it's now too low of a dose... since 3 seemd to make her bounce... any theory?
She is bouncing from the 117 she saw yesterday.
 
Yeah, it's less carbs than normal dry food but still too high in carbs. The low carb options in dry food are Young Again, Dr. Elsey’s Cleanprotein and Wysong Epigen 90. I think Ketokibbles is also low carb (https://ketogenicpetfoods.com/). You should be able to get Young Again and Dr. Elsey's in Canada. They are also better quality than Royal Canin.


She is bouncing from the 117 she saw yesterday.

Bouncing from 117 is a thing? It’s “blue” so I thought it was even considered a bit high or not ideal!
 
Bouncing from 117 is a thing? It’s “blue” so I thought it was even considered a bit high or not ideal!
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Done! so when you say it’s normal. you want that for every hour of the curve?
Eventually, yes. Your ultimate aim is tight regulation which means he spends most of the time (if not all) in normal numbers. But that could take a while to achieve. Most newly diagnosed cats will be bouncy. As his body gets used to lower numbers, the bouncing will reduce and he will "flatten out". With time, he will not bounce as high, he will clear bounces faster etc. Of course, not all cats stop bouncing.

'What is Regulation?':

There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":
  • Not treated - blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs
  • Treated, but not regulated - often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs
  • Regulated - generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia
  • Well regulated - generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia
  • Tightly regulated - generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin
  • Normalized - 60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin
There may also be an extra category of "mostly above 300 (16.7) but with good clinical signs" which occurs with some cats who are getting insulin. We don't know why it happens, but such a cat probably should not be considered to be regulated. On the other end of the spectrum, it is possible for a cat who is not getting insulin to have blood glucose as low as 40 mg/dl (2.2 mmol/L) on a glucometer calibrated for humans. If you have a non-diabetic cat, try testing her with the same meter to get a safe comparison figure.'
 
@TrepTheSnake
One more favor can you add the dosing method you are following for lantus/Basaglar to your signature. It would have to be SLGS since you are feeding dry food.
That's the first thing members will look at in your signature
Thanks
 
Back
Top