1/22 Boots PMPS 360 +2 366 +4 334 +6 423 +10 404

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly/Boots

Member Since 2012
Good Morning,
t least top of! Was able to sleep in, as was up many times during the night. Boot's is staying rather
high. I wanna increase to 1 unit. The good news is, she's eating without her pain med. this morning.
 
Re: 1/22 Boots AMPS 394 +4 383 +8 371 Dose Increase?

happy to hear she's eating! that's always a good sign.

i'd increase to 1u bid with the awareness that numbers *could* start to come down rapidly as she heals. if you can stay on top of the numbers by monitoring often... go for it. you're an experienced caregiver who knows what to do to pull numbers up if necessary.

if you can't monitor closely, you might want to hold off for a cycle or two to see if she starts coming down on her own.

you're checking for ketones?
 
Re: 1/22 Boots AMPS 394 +4 383 +8 371 Dose Increase?

Thanks Jill,
Yes, I am checking for ketones and giving extra fluids by syringe, as well as in food.
Thanks for the advise on increase. Medium monitoring today, ((can check at 4 1/2 hrs)
so I might wait. This is hard. I'm not used to seeing her with such high readings.
 
Re: 1/22 Boots AMPS 394 +4 383 +8 371 Dose Increase?

yep. i know what you mean about seeing them in numbers higher than you're used to seeing. i've been going through something similar with alex since her last p-titis attack the end of november.

use your discretion about increasing the dose. you know boots. you know what you're doing. you can afford to be a little more aggressive than the norm.
good luck!
 
Re: 1/22 Boots AMPS 394 +4 383 +8 371 *cough normal?

It sounds like boots has a lot of fluid in her system. Is this normal after mouth surgery and anesthesia?
 
Re: 1/22 Boots AMPS 394 +4 383 +8 371 *cough normal?

sometimes kitties will develop coughs caused by irritation from the intubation, BUT... call your vet.
describe what's happening. see what they have to say.
 
Re: 1/22 Boots AMPS 394 +4 383 +8 371 *cough normal?

Put a call in first thing and left message. Thought I'd ask here too. I hope you are right.
Thanks Jill
 
Re: 1/22 Boots PMPS 360 increased to 1U

I can test BS's @+2. Usually I'll know if it's going to spiral. again at 5. and I work at home, so I'll be able to
check in on her. I ended up giving her pain med. even though she ate well. she started getting that weird
tired I don't like. She whines a little and looks me straight in the eyes when she's not feeling good.
One hour later she was walking around faster and using cat post. :smile:
 
Re: 1/22 Boots PMPS 360 increased to 1U

update on respiratory...vet said, anesthesia can trigger dormant respiratory infection. dose hasn't touched
her yet.
 
Re: 1/22 Boots PMPS 360 +2 366 incr. 1u update vet call

good luck with the new dose. Come on down, Boots! If she is still in some pain then that might be keeping her numbers up. Hopefully she'll come down as she heals.
 
Re: 1/22 Boots PMPS 360 increased to 1U

Shelly/Boots said:
update on respiratory...vet said, anesthesia can trigger dormant respiratory infection. dose hasn't touched
her yet.
Hmmm, I wonder if that's what Noni had. She had some surgery, and then developed some fluid in her lungs. She is doing a lot better now. Noni was put on antibiotics. Is Boots on antibiotics? You might want to PM Asoolty for some support.

I hope Boots is feeling much better, soon. ((((Hugs)))))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top