1/22 Blackie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
We are seeing some better overnight and am numbers with the 2 units. We had to shoot a half hour late last night to make sure Blackie was going up. And this morning we couldn't shoot until +13. Here are his numbers from last night to this morning:
+10 166
+12 169
+13 193 2.0u
+7 183
+11 209
+11.5 197
+12 173
+13 236 2.0u

Thanks to Terri, I'm getting more +10 & +11 numbers that are helping to determine if we should shoot or not. We've only been on 2 units for 4 cycles, so unless he gives us more low numbers, we'll stick to that for another day. I haven't weighed kitties since my shoulder surgery, but I'm going to this weekend. I suspect that Blackie has gained weight, but I could be totally wrong.

I hope everyone has a great Friday and weekend.
 
It's good to see him staying out of the 300s. I still think he may need just a tad more insulin to drop down into double digits, but he's a tricky guy--full of surprises.
 
Glad you are getting closer Ele!!! For a while with Bix (no idea if this will be similar for Blackie) I was finding his duration was so good I had to go to something like +14s or +16s fairly often to shoot. It was confusing, but the timing was what worked for him. Thankfully with him I was able to push it out to SID if I got a good enough nadir, and accepted PSs a teeny bit higher than my 150 ideal.

For me, it got to a point where I felt like I had to choose between shooting a higher dose and aiming for a perfect nadir, but most likely losing the chance then to shoot again at +12, or shooting a dose that let me stay with BID, knowing that for Bix that would be unlikely to get his nadir where I wanted it, but would at least keep him in steady #s that weren't too high. I opted to go for the good nadir & the hope of pancreas healing, and have been happy with that choice. I'm not sure if Blackie is in a similar boat, but wanted to throw the ideas out there in case they seem useful.

Personally, I'd like to see more nadirs in the 50 - 70 range (on my human meter, not my cat one, where those #s appear to be too low for him) for both Bix & Blackie, and see if that helps their pancreases out some more. Can't seem to get there with Bix though, and I know you've been trying your darndest with Blackie! It's like they are taunting us. :lol:
 
I don't know why we're getting those late nadirs. Most of the time they aren't low enough to warrant lowering the dose, but I may have to try that. He was 216 at +6 today, so it looks like we're headed for another late nadir. I wouldn't mind shooting later except it can get me so far off schedule. Blackie used to be "normal", now I never now what to expect. I guess he's showing his independence. :lol: Unfortunately for him, it means he gets poked more often.
 
From my experience late nadir [especially with a decrease from PS to PS] means too much insulin. And of course this is where I diverge from most here, in that I do not wait for the numbers to start going up I just give less. Just my 2c.
 
I would try that, Gator, except Blackie doesn't seem to do too well on a sliding scale. So I really try to keep his dose the same for 6 cycles before I change again. We'll see what surprises he'll have for us when I get home tonight. I am thankful that he's not in the really high numbers that he was in late last year, so I'm not complaining too much. It's just that the mystery drives me crazy. @-)
 
I feel ya Ele. This ProZinc seems not to like the SS either - but I'm not give up yet on forcing it to comply. :smile:
 
ele those #'s are so close in range it's really weird...like his lowest # was at +12????
i totally agree to ride out a dose (if safe) for 5-7 days. the cat needs to time to adjust. but those #'s are so darn close to each other....he's really hanging flat.
i'm going to go look at your ss again.
 
ele, what happened between sept and oct? sept #'s look great...do you know what kicked it up?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top