1/22/20 Colby AMPS 282

Mo & Colby

Member Since 2020
Today is Colby’s third day on Lantus. We had some difficulties with testing and are finally getting the hang of it. His spreadsheet is lean for now but I absolutely intend to start filling it in more as he gets more used to me testing him. We switched him fully to canned food for about ten days prior to starting the Lantus.

The vet prescribed 2 units twice a day (prior to diet change he first tested at 511. He has his follow up visit with her tomorrow so we will see how that has changed) I felt that was too high a dose with the diet change and started him at what is probably too low a dose of 0.5. Going to try to get a BG at +2 or +3 (I will try at +2 but if he fights me too much I will give him a breather before trying again).

Love to hear any advice for where we are at now. I do think we need to raise the dose, but when should we do that? Should I keep him at this dose for 5 days? Or if the vet says raise it to 2 units tomorrow, should I just do it or wait?
Thank you!

(Edited to add his +2 of 281)

Mo
 
Last edited:
Hi Monique (love that name) or Mo and Colby:):cat:
Since Colby is brand new to insulin, the advise is to stay on your starting dose for 5-7 days. And I see you have chosen SLGS, so you would hold the .5U dose for one week. Let's see what others say . . . it can be rough sometimes getting the vet on the same page as what you are learning here. It's possible 1U could have been a better starting place, but I understand your reasoning. I'd be quite leery of going all the way to 2U now, and hope your vet is ok with that. If your vet is open minded, that sure would be nice.

Colby is so precious and squeezable looking! How much does he weigh? Starting dose is often based on weight.
 
Hi Monique (love that name) or Mo and Colby:):cat:
Since Colby is brand new to insulin, the advise is to stay on your starting dose for 5-7 days. And I see you have chosen SLGS, so you would hold the .5U dose for one week. Let's see what others say . . . it can be rough sometimes getting the vet on the same page as what you are learning here. It's possible 1U could have been a better starting place, but I understand your reasoning. I'd be quite leery of going all the way to 2U now, and hope your vet is ok with that. If your vet is open minded, that sure would be nice.

Colby is so precious and squeezable looking! How much does he weigh? Starting dose is often based on weight.
Hi Tina Marie! Thank you for weighing in! He weighed 17.4 lbs at the time of his diagnosis. I think he must be a bit less now. (Yeah, I need to get a scale, I know.) So that is likely why so high. I just did his +2 BG and it was 281 so it’s barely any different from his AMPS. But he is in a good mood and affectionate and purring when he hasn’t been lately so at least there’s that.

It will be interesting to see what the vet says tomorrow.
 
I just did his +2 BG and it was 281 so it’s barely any different from his AMPS. But he is in a good mood and affectionate and purring when he hasn’t been lately so at least there’s that.
Being affectionate and purring again is a big plus! My kitty quit peeing outside the box on her second day of insulin, even before her numbers looked much better. Oh - my name is Jan, and Tina Marie is my cat. I know, I was backwards to most, putting kitty's name first!
The +2 can be higher than AMPS due to food and the morning insulin not kicking in all the way (for another couple hours or more). It might be a more active cycle if the +2 is lower than the AMPS. All the cats don't follow our rules though:cat:
 
Back
Top