1/21 Yoyo AMPS 298,+2 340,+4 301,+5 263, PMPS 298,+2 195,+4 188,+5 224

She's doing ok, thanks for asking. I seem to have upset the apple cart a little with my little dosecrease, but we will see how things shake out. I'm hoping I can shake her loose of those blues she seems to be liking so much lately.

I really hope this new dose works for Yoyo. Have you had a chance to read up on glucose toxicity? The basic idea is that you have to be careful holding a dose for too long because if the cat hangs out in high numbers, the body considers it the new normal and then you have to keep increasing the dose to help them break out of it. Here is a link with a lot of information:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/would-like-some-discussion-on-glucose-toxicity.61785/

The paragraph below was most concerning to me because it implies that glucose toxicity can cause permanent damage to the pancreas and other organs. This is a major reason why I wanted to up Bailey's dose a bit because I was concerned that her pancreas was getting used to hovering in that 80-120 range and never dropping down into lower numbers. She was on that same dose for such a long time, and I am nervous about the prospect of having to climb up the dosing ladder. I am not trying to alarm you, and I don't know enough about it to give you advice on Yoyo's dose, but since I was reading about it, I wanted to share the information with you. Maybe others who know more can say whether Yoyo's ss shows signs of glucose toxicity.

Here is the paragraph:
"Unfortunately, the pancreas, particularly the insulin-producing beta cells can be profoundly damaged by glucose toxicity[6]. The effects of glucose toxicity on insulin secretion and insulin resistance may be temporary as described above, but the ongoing effect of amyloidosis is permanent. So an animal experiencing a lot of hyperglycemia can be permanently damaging its own pancreas, and sliding deeper into insulin-dependence, through amyloidosis as well as oxidation mechanisms like glucose autoxidation, protein kinase C activation, methylglyoxal formation and glycation, hexosamine metabolism, sorbitol formation, and oxidative phosphorylation. (See JBC article[7] re: Oxidative Stress & Glucose Toxicity). Antioxidants may be helpful to breaking this vicious circle.

Damages tissuesEdit
Glucose toxicity also damages other tissues of the body, particularly capillaries and nerve cells, which leads to neuropathy and in dogs, retinopathy. Damage to other tissues leads to other well known complications of diabetes including kidney malfunctions and (in dogs) cataracts."
 
She's doing ok, thanks for asking. I seem to have upset the apple cart a little with my little dosecrease, but we will see how things shake out. I'm hoping I can shake her loose of those blues she seems to be liking so much lately.

I really hope this new dose works for Yoyo. Have you had a chance to read up on glucose toxicity? The basic idea is that you have to be careful holding a dose for too long because if the cat hangs out in high numbers, the body considers it the new normal and then you have to keep increasing the dose to help them break out of it. Here is a link with a lot of information:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/would-like-some-discussion-on-glucose-toxicity.61785/

The paragraph below was most concerning to me because it implies that glucose toxicity can cause permanent damage to the pancreas and other organs. This is a major reason why I wanted to up Bailey's dose a bit because I was concerned that her pancreas was getting used to hovering in that 80-120 range and never dropping down into lower numbers. She was on that same dose for such a long time, and I am nervous about the prospect of having to climb up the dosing ladder. I am not trying to alarm you, and I don't know enough about it to give you advice on Yoyo's dose, but since I was reading about it, I wanted to share the information with you. Maybe others who know more can say whether Yoyo's ss shows signs of glucose toxicity.

Here is the paragraph:
"Unfortunately, the pancreas, particularly the insulin-producing beta cells can be profoundly damaged by glucose toxicity[6]. The effects of glucose toxicity on insulin secretion and insulin resistance may be temporary as described above, but the ongoing effect of amyloidosis is permanent. So an animal experiencing a lot of hyperglycemia can be permanently damaging its own pancreas, and sliding deeper into insulin-dependence, through amyloidosis as well as oxidation mechanisms like glucose autoxidation, protein kinase C activation, methylglyoxal formation and glycation, hexosamine metabolism, sorbitol formation, and oxidative phosphorylation. (See JBC article[7] re: Oxidative Stress & Glucose Toxicity). Antioxidants may be helpful to breaking this vicious circle.

Damages tissuesEdit
Glucose toxicity also damages other tissues of the body, particularly capillaries and nerve cells, which leads to neuropathy and in dogs, retinopathy. Damage to other tissues leads to other well known complications of diabetes including kidney malfunctions and (in dogs) cataracts."
Thanks for the link! If Bailey is hovering between 80-120, why is that bad? A cat that is not on insulin shouldn't be higher than 171, so with Bailey on insulin and between 80-120, isn't that a good range?
 
with Bailey on insulin and between 80-120, isn't that a good range?
Yes, it is a very good range, but not good enough for remission. For an OTJ trial, she needs to get down to between 50-80, and she seemed to be really stuck in the upper green range. I'm hoping that fattening the dose a bit shakes her loose from that. Plus, she has gained some weight which is wonderful, but I'm wondering if that is affecting her absorption as well.
 
Back
Top