1/21 Scooter AMPS-499, +3-419,+7-366, +10-406, PMPS 409

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Hi Folks!

Well yesterday gave me a lot of hope and happiness seeing all that pink. I think only having one red and no black is what really made me happy.

Scooter is pretty happy to. He is playing a lot more and chatty all the time. I swear he is yelling at me! LOL He is back to opening the bathroom door and chasing kittens around. It was an amazing day for him!

Anyway thank you all for your great advice and opinions without them Scooter would still be lethargic and unhappy.


*Update home from work and Scooter is very lethargic and not very hungry. His numbers are back to 400's. His ketones tested negative. Hopefully tomorrow will be better.

So Should I up his dose to 2.5 tomorrow since we did 4 cycles of 2.0
Linda

yesterday
 
Re: 1/21 Scooter AMPS-499

Hi guys .. great report for scooter! Sounds like he is one happy boy ... numbers will come down in time, but you can already tell he is doing better which is awesome! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/21 Scooter AMPS-499, +3-419

I'm always happy to hear about kitties feeling better! It's so nice when you start seeing better numbers. It's quite the sugar dance, but worth it for our furbabies! Have a nice rest of your day :-D
 
Re: 1/21 Scooter AMPS-499, +3-419

It's wonderful to hear Scooter is feeling better! I remember thinking that China was suffering from "Old cat disease" before we found out she was diabetic. Now she acts like the insulin is water from the Fountain of Youth! She's playing games and goofing around like she used to when she was a much younger cat.

This insulin is amazing stuff, isn't it?

Hopefully his numbers will start coming down soon too to match how much better he's feeling!
 
Linda, we try to stick to one condo a day, due to the number of posters here. If you have new questions, just change the subject line on your first post, and add the question as a new posting in the daily condo. I'm replying in our original post today. In your second condo today, you asked:
So I am guessing that tomorrow (Wednesday) that I should up his dose to 2.5.

I am kind of sad that he may need more but willing to do anything to help him have more good days.

A couple of days ago, Julie posted:
Given that Scooter was on 12u per day before, he may need a lot more insulin than he's getting now. we don't want him sitting in such high numbers any longer than necessary. even though he peeked in at 274 yesterday, that's not enough. if i were you, i'd just keep the 4 shots and increase by 0.5u on my radar until we get him down some.
So I think you are right on tomorrow's increase. Paws crossed for more lower numbers soon. It's great to hear that Scooter is feeling better and playing. :-D
 
i should clarify that the 12u a day wasn't a Lev/Lantus insulin but the Humulin (that's what it says on the top of Scooter's ss - is that right?), so we don't really know what dose Scooter might need yet on Lev.

but what we can say is that the protocol calls for an increase for nadirs over 300.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

With constant highs we have the option of increasing after every 4 shots rather than waiting the 6 cycles. If Scooter was mine, I would choose that option and increase every 4 shots until you're seeing nadirs under 300.
 
Okay Thanks Julie and Wendy.

I think I just needed reassurance that my plan was right.

So tomorrow 2.5 and I am home just in case I would miss something great! :-D

Linda
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top