1/21 punkin pmps 258/400 video on acupuncture

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

the computer was on all night and the video from punkin's acupuncture yesterday still hasn't finished loading. it was only 5 minutes long . . . not sure if i should cancel it and try again or let it continue. right now it says it's 25% done and it needs 1622 minutes until it finishes. yikes. that hasn't changed in the past 1/2 hr. when i started it last night, youtube said it would take 284 minutes. i think i'll have to try again.

but, punkin doesn't know all of that. he knows he got an extra 1/2 can last night that was yummy and he cleaned his and anya's plates this morning. he's back to sleep on the floor near me. we've got a little bit of NDW going, i suppose, with that high preshot number. i'm resolved to push him down further into lower numbers. it would be a shame if we went to all the trouble/expense of doing the SRT and then because i've let him be in too high of numbers his pancreas won't kick back in.

i suppose the weeks ahead will tell us what happens.

in the meantime, it's stopped raining here for a moment! perhaps the flood waters will recede some. i never got any quilting done yesterday, mostly i was on the computer all day. so today i will try not to be on as much and actually do something else for a change! :lol:

happy caturday!
 
Re: 1/21 punkin amps 299

Hey Julie

Yikes on the lenght of time for the upload.....good idea about trying it again. And can't wait to see punkin in the video.

Come on punkin....get your numbers down buddy.
 
Re: 1/21 punkin amps 299

Julie, thanks for your help in Weezer's condo. This darn iPad tried to autocorrect condo to condom! :lol: Got watch those helpful electronics! I would say your computer is likewise in need of correction.
 
Re: 1/21 punkin amps 299

Good morning, guys! Sometimes those uploads do get wonky, and I find it best to just start over again. Sorry that Punkin is seeing high numbers this morning... hopefully they'll be down to more suitable levels soon! I hear ya on being vigilant with the dosing... I know it has done a world of good for Willie, though it was soooo nervewracking for me when I first started getting serious. I'm sure Punkin will be responding well in no time!

Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 1/21 punkin amps 299

Thanks for your support last night-meant a lot to me..
punkin is doing well, you are such a good bean to him..He's happy he got extra food last night!
Hope you computee complies with your downloads...
Have a good Caturday! Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 1/21 punkin amps 299

Good luck on pushing his numbers down....I know if anyone can do it, you will be able to because you are so diligent with him. He's done so well with all that you and Daryl have done for him.

Have a wonderful day!!!
 
Re: 1/21 punkin amps 299

C'mon punkin. . .come on down! How was that acupuncture? I'm really curious to see that!
 
Re: 1/21 punkin pmps 258 or 400 - cursed meters

the cursed freestyle lite . . . i finally did it - spent an hour and a half to drive to the nearest walmart and get a relion confirm - then tested the same blood drop tonight on both meters. the freestyle lite was a not too terrible for NDW 258 - but the relion confirm was 400. :shock:

argh. my poor little guy.

i was afraid that was going to be the outcome. at least now we know. we increased the dose last night and we'll keep on keeping on. *sigh* i hope he hasn't had too much damage done to his little body.

i tried again to reload the video on the acupuncture to youtube - it went through 100% (taking 3 hours to do it) and then it said it failed on the last part. took the camera card to the DH's laptop (i have an itty-bitty netbook) and it's been uploading there for a couple of hours. we'll see if it can finish it. a simple 5 minute video - not sure why it's so uncooperative.

kinda one of those "even in australia" days.

Serryn, do you have the book "Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No-good Very Bad Day" in australia? my kids loved it. although perhaps i loved it more. everyone can relate to it.
 
Re: 1/21 punkin pmps 258 or 400 - cursed meters

Oh Julie. Crappola on Punkin's number. And that's a heck of a drive for the meter too.

Hoping Punkin's numbers come down for you. My paws are crossed for ya.
 
Re: 1/21 punkin pmps 258 or 400 - cursed meters

I'm sorry about the meter. Maybe you should join Rosalie and send a note to the manufacturer.
 
Re: 1/21 punkin pmps 258 or 400 - cursed meters

oh linda! not sure whether i should laugh or cry at your post! but i appreciate your passion!!!! i want you on my team when i'm in the hospital needing an advocate!

so great to see you, tena! i've wondered how you and curry were doing - it's good of you to stop by. yes, we're doing lots of chatting with punkin about these numbers!

the video is now at 74% - perhaps it will go through. we'll see.
 
Re: 1/21 punkin pmps 258 or 400 - cursed meters

julie & punkin said:
kinda one of those "even in australia" days.

Serryn, do you have the book "Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No-good Very Bad Day" in australia? my kids loved it. although perhaps i loved it more. everyone can relate to it.

I hadn't heard of it but I don't really have anything to do with kids so that's not really suprising. I did Google it to see what it was all about and have discovered that yes we do have that book in Australia except that in the Australian and New Zealand versions the kid wanted to move to Timbuktu!

Damn that Freestyle meter but at least you know now and you and punkin will get on track with the new meter - that was quite a drive to go and get it!
 
Re: 1/21 punkin pmps 258 or 400 - cursed meters

sienne, what would i say - that it was for me? it's not like i can document anything for other than my cat.
 
Re: 1/21 punkin pmps 258 or 400 - cursed meters

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm sorry about the meter. Maybe you should join Rosalie and send a note to the manufacturer.

I have spoken to the customer service people in Australia about the freestyle heartbreaker (love that term Linda!) but because it's being used for a cat instead of a person and they don't claim it will work for cats anyway there is nothing they will do and we don't even have the meter they sell that is designed for cats available here so it's not like they could tell me to use that one instead!
 
Re: 1/21 punkin pmps 258 or 400 - cursed meters

(((((Julie))))) That punkin is one lucky boy to have you for a bean because you care.
Liz
 
Re: 1/21 punkin pmps 258 or 400 - cursed meters

just like everyone else, i just want my little guy to be healthy. i'm sorta lacking passion tonight, though. just feel sorta resigned about it all. not much you can do. i knew from everyone else's experiences that the high numbers might be higher, but i was counting on the low numbers being fairly on-target. after jill's post a few days ago, i thought i really have to get another meter and see what the real picture is. and it's worse than i would've guessed.

oh well. i'm the tank. punkin is my cause and i will not be deterred.

serryn, that's too funny about the australian/new zealand versions having the kids going to Timbuktu! Love it. i used to read that book so often to the kids i had parts of it memorized.

thanks liz! everyone here gets it. can you imagine telling someone in "real" life that the cat's BG meter is off? they totally wouldn't get it.
 
Re: 1/21 punkin pmps 258 or 400 - cursed meters

Oh Julie, I'm so sorry that you had the meter problem, too. (I went back to my Relion Micro.) Rusty was lucky that his numbers are low and the FSL isn't much different from the other meters in low numbers. It's in the high numbers where the FSL reads too low and has caused much grief for Rosalie, Lisa (Do Lou), Melissa, Serryn, and others. Do you know that you can order the Arkray GlucoCard 01 meters from American Diabetes Wholesale? The Walmart Relion Confirm and Micro are the same meters as the Arkray GlucoCard 01, but branded for Walmart. The Arkray GlucoCard 01 Sensor Blood Glucose Test Strips are the same strips that Walmart sells under the Relion brand, but the price is cheaper. Here's a link to the strips: price is right: $69.99 for 250 strips (5 boxes of 50 strips):
http://www.americandiabeteswholesal...-sensor-blood-glucose-test-strips_4050_54.htm

ADW sends orders out very promptly. I had mine in 2 days.

Good luck as you and Punkin go forward. I know that you'll be able to get him on track.

Hang in there with the U tube uplosd. Something must be wrong. Perhaps you should try to upload it to the Picassa (Google) site. You already are registerd in Google, so all you have to do is sign on to the Picassa photo section of Google. They do videos, too, and the two times I have uploaded a video (2-minute videos), it has only taken about 10 minutes.

Ella & Rusty , wishing you and Punkin a good evening.

p.s. Rosalie has cautioned not to tell Abbott that you were using the FreeStyleLite on a cat! Tell them it's for a dependent, or for your child (all true, of course).
 
Re: 1/21 punkin pmps 258 or 400 - cursed meters

thanks for the info, ella. i do order from ADW - today i just got a small box of strips, probably 50, and i'll order some of those you've posted. they do cost a fraction of the FSL so at least that's something.

the video is at 90% now - if it doesn't load through to the end, i'll try the Picassa site. haven't used it before.
 
I am very glad you persisted and got this video up. It's fascinating! I hope you put it in tomorrow's condo so everyone gets a chance to see it.
 
Very interesting video! Punkin is so calm and such a good boy! Thanks for posting.

I'm sorry about the meter. I had the same problem with the FSL, all the while thinking Mookie's numbers weren't so bad. Now I use a ReliOn, too. I'm planning to send my FSL back to Abbott with a note of complaint -- I don't want to put it in the trash, and I certainly don't want to give it away. I think they should deal with the disposal and/or recycling of their faulty product.

Yes to "keep on keeping on." It is what we must do, and we are all here to support each other. Have a good night, Julie.
 
Julie, thanks for stopping by our condo. i am so glad to hear that you got a new meter and sorry that Punkin's numbers are not as good as you hoped they were. I would encourage everyone to contact Abbott, make a formal complaint and return the meter and strips to them and ask for a refund. if enough people do this, they might take some action. I plan to continue my insistance that they do something about this based on my own perrsonal experience with their meter/strips.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top