Re: 1/21 Mikey AMPS 198
oh i get it - no worries! seems to me you can only learn one thing at once. people just kept explaining things over and over to me, but it seemed like until i was in the position of needing that very bit of information, it didn't stick.
or, alternatively, it could be my brain is getting older and i've become more dense. :shock:
i like option #1 better, even if #2 is probably true! :lol:
edited to add 2 thoughts:
1 - that all doesn't apply to decreasing - you don't hold the dose if mikey earns a decrease by going under 50 unless he's established with his past history that he doesn't hold a decrease and
2 - the increase protocol applies when they're not bouncing from having hit a lower number, or having New Dose Wonkiness. so when you're looking to increase you have to assess the ss and see if you're just looking at overall high numbers or if you could be seeing either a bounce from having hit a lower number than he's become used to (like last night will likely bring a bounce if i were a betting person) or the NDW. if you see NDW or a bounce, you wait til it's cleared, then decide if you should increase or hold.
determining if a cat is bouncing or having NDW takes a while - at least it did for me. that's why it's helpful to have people who can spot those things give you a hand when you think it might be time to increase the dose.