1/21 Mikey AMPS 198 +2/243

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/21 Mikey AMPS 198 Ok to shoot 2.75u?

as long as he's rising & you have supplies, can monitor, etc. - but you probably want to get a second test to make certain that he's rising and not headed down.

you shot a 140 on 1/10.

after you shoot you want to make sure and get a +2 to see where he's going. he might bounce from these blue numbers, but it looks like you're getting to a dose where you'll see some action now.
 
Re: 1/21 Mikey AMPS 198 Ok to shoot 2.75u?

Ok, thanks. Anytime the #'s go lower I like to ask just to make sure.
 
Re: 1/21 Mikey AMPS 198

sure, you're welcome!

the main thing, especially when you see a significantly lower number during the night before, is that you want to know that the numbers are on the rise. from a 104 he looked like he was going up, but i would want confirmation, just because it was lower than you're used to shooting. if you can't tell, stall 20-30 minutes or so and recheck. as soon as you see numbers rising, you definitely want to shoot. "shoot low to stay low!" shooting lower will hopefully move mikey's entire range down a bit.

you could be increasing more often, according to the TR protocol. every 6-10 shots his dose could be increased if you're not seeing greens. the disadvantage of holding a dose longer is their bodies seem to get accustomed to the dose and it seems a little harder to move them to better numbers. but you also have to do what you feel comfortable with.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 1/21 Mikey AMPS 198

Thanks for that post. I think along with being new, there were so many "other"things we were trying to rule out to see if his numbers changed in those cycles. the flavor of the food, the vial of the insulin, his eye, his teeth, mixed with a little of my fear of increasing the insulin.

added- I think I understand now the importance of being more aggressive with increasing/decreasing after 6 cycles.
 
Re: 1/21 Mikey AMPS 198

oh i get it - no worries! seems to me you can only learn one thing at once. people just kept explaining things over and over to me, but it seemed like until i was in the position of needing that very bit of information, it didn't stick.

or, alternatively, it could be my brain is getting older and i've become more dense. :shock:

i like option #1 better, even if #2 is probably true! :lol:

edited to add 2 thoughts:

1 - that all doesn't apply to decreasing - you don't hold the dose if mikey earns a decrease by going under 50 unless he's established with his past history that he doesn't hold a decrease and
2 - the increase protocol applies when they're not bouncing from having hit a lower number, or having New Dose Wonkiness. so when you're looking to increase you have to assess the ss and see if you're just looking at overall high numbers or if you could be seeing either a bounce from having hit a lower number than he's become used to (like last night will likely bring a bounce if i were a betting person) or the NDW. if you see NDW or a bounce, you wait til it's cleared, then decide if you should increase or hold.

determining if a cat is bouncing or having NDW takes a while - at least it did for me. that's why it's helpful to have people who can spot those things give you a hand when you think it might be time to increase the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top