1/21 Jesse AMPS 596

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karin&Jesse

Member Since 2014
I hate blue. Now I guess I get to see another day of black.

I've been thinking that she was doing better when I was following the vet's advice giving 2U twice a day then retest in a month. (yes, that's what he said). I decided on my own to make a few spot checks not knowing what I was supposed to do. Then, I was worried about the yellows. Now, I'd like to see a yellow now and then.

I'm thinking about the food. Should I try giving her only zero carb food all day, only feeding the FF at shot time or in the morning 2 hours before? At night she gets it exactly at shot time. I'm worrying about her kidneys with these super highs. I try all kinds of ways to get her drinking more fluids to help flush out the sugar.
 
I'm hoping Jesse's number start to come down and she's out of the ugly numbers sooner vs. later. Once this bounce clears, I'd increase.

I know I've been hesitant to push for an increase in an aggressive way. I'm always reticent if there are no PM checks. With the Tight Regulation approach, which is aggressive, safety is always the first concern. As you saw, you might have been seeing more blue numbers -- or lower -- at night which could account for the higher AM pre-shot numbers. Even one test at night gives you a better idea of where the nadir may fall and more confidence about raising the dose.
 
Hi guys .. I'm so sorry jesse is up this high .. I always stressed when mocha was in the pinks (which was a lot) so I can only imagine what you are going through .. Just hang in there .. soon numbers will level out ...
 
Ugh! I hope the numbers start coming down soon. One way to get water into kitty is to add some to the wet food. I do that for Buster because he once had crystals. He almost never drinks from his water bowl anymore.
 
Hi Folks:

Hang in there Scooter is only on his second day of numbers coming down and I know how you feel.

It can change just listen to the wise folks around here with experience they are amazing!

Linda
 
I made the decision to put her back on 2U twice a day beginning tonight. She was doing very well at that dose when she was thinner so she probably needs more than that. It was a huge mistake on my part for taking the advice to start over at 1 unit. That was completely wrong. The hard part now is that I want to start her on some sub Q fluids to help her kidneys, so I will have to tell the vet that I went against his advice and now she is experiencing dangerous numbers. That should be a lot of fun, I will test as often as I reasonably can, but I am much less worried about a hypo than I am about this situation.
 
Karin -

I understand your reasoning. However, that's a huge increase. Please, and I can't emphasize this enough, test during the PM cycle if you really are going to raise the dose that much. I would be far more comfortable with your raising Jesse's dose by 0.25 or 0.5 depending on where the nadir is, every 2 days/4 cycles.
 
She was doing very well at that dose when she was thinner so she probably needs more than that.

Karin,
You can't make the assumption that she was doing very well on 2u. Or that she'll need even more than that due to any increase in weight. Yes, the numbers you did get back then look okay compared to the red and blacks you are seeing recently, but there just isn't enough data from those early days and cycles to know anything for sure. There may have been blacks and reds that you didn't catch on the meter. There might also have been some low greens that you didn't catch (which might have caused the high numbers due to bouncing).

I agree 100% with Sienne. If you are going to increase by that amount, two things -
1 - don't assume she won't drop low.
2 - try to get tests in the first half at least of the PM cycle to see if the numbers do drop (especially if they drop early in the cycle).

On your spreadsheet, a couple days before the day you reduced to 1u, there's a note saying you removed the dry food, although she might not have been eating much of it? If she was eating dry food when she was on 2u BID, that might have been keeping her BGs higher (depending on the carb level of that food). If she's eating low-carb canned only now, it would be logical to think that her BGs might be lower overall on a 2u dose now than they were back then.

Just my 2 cents,
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top