1/21 Jackson +2 44+2 47+3 55+4 64+5 50 +6 59 +10 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

JacksonCatson

Member Since 2012
Yawn. Another very late night last night. The upside: shot my first green (THANKS Marje!) and got enough tests to be considered a curve for sending to the vet. Jackson was suuurrrffffing!

Jackson was at 96 at AMPS, so it looks as though things are still looking green! I, however, need to give some thought to next steps, as we're now 3 hours off schedule from stalling (PM shot is now at 9:30 pm), which is creating a night schedule that is unsustainable with my other life responsibilities.

But all in all, this is great news. Go, Jackson, go!

Recap:

PMPS: 72
+1 59
+2 80
+2.5 52
+3.5 59
+4.5 62
+5.75 63
+8 63
+9 90
+11.25 88
+12 96

Thinking of all the others today who are dealing with loss and sick kitties.
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson +11.25 88 AMPS 96

Hi guys .. woooohoooo!! Nice 'hooting! And what a lovely surf jackson had going on .. very impressive mister! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson +11.25 88 AMPS 96

Isn't Marje amazing? And you did great last night, too! Jackson is looking good this morning :-D

Have a great day!
~Josie
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson +11.25 88 AMPS 96 +1.25 63 +2 44

Well, I was wondering about a reduction -- I guess it's time.

Put the question mark in the main post just so that someone will keep an eye on us.

Jack just tested 44 at +2. I just gave him 1 tsp. of HC gravy and will test again in 15 mins.
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson +11.25 88 AMPS 96 +1.25 63 +2 44

Hi guys don't think I have visited your condo yet. Yes that is a reduction!! Nice job shooting this morning. You can move your shot time back by 15 min increments each shot to get back to your normal time. Have a great day and keep surfing Jackson!!
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson +11.25 88 AMPS 96 +1.25 63 +2 44

Just when my crystal ball was working....and now it's not :lol:

But seriously...his numbers last night were not indicative of a pending reduction but like I said...he will tell you when he's ready and so he as.

I'd give some HC gravy and retest in 30. More ~O) ~O) ~O) for me.

And if he stays low today, you might want to skip tonight just to get him back on time but we will see how the day progresses. If he bounces, you can shoot early so we might have some options.
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson +11.25 88 AMPS 96 +1.25 63 +2 44

Thanks for visiting, Michelle!

I've been hesitant to move Jack's shooting time up while he's had such low pre-shot numbers (even 15 mins acts as an increase, yes?). But now we're going to reduce, and that should give us some higher numbers, I would think, to work on getting back on schedule.

Jack was 47 at 2+5. Just gave him another 1 tsp of HC and will check in 15.
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson +11.25 88 AMPS 96 +1.25 63 +2 44 +2.5 47

Good job...did you see my earlier post? It's ok to test in 30....he's ok and he responds well to gravy.

And here's Jackson's 1/20 Condo
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson +11.25 88 AMPS 96 +1.25 63 +2 44 +2.5 47 +3

Thanks, Marje. I think I posted before you responded. He's up to 55 now, but I did give him another 1 tsp. of HC, mainly because he was looking like he wasn't feeling great (not purring, but not hypo signs) and I was *supposed* to have a meeting this afternoon that was going to have me out of the house for an hour. I've since rescheduled it for later in the day and/or another time.

I'll test again in 30, I guess. I think he'll be fine from here, but whew.

I would very much like to skip the PM shot to give us all a breather and to reset the sched -- but we'll see based on today's numbers.
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson +11.25 88 AMPS 96 +1.25 63 +2 44 +2.5 47 +3

You are getting to be a pro at this! Great job :-D

I'm really glad you shot that 96...very proud of you!

Let's see how he does today. If he stays low and you need to skip to get back on schedule, then do it and pick up at your normal time tomorrow. And sleep. If he goes up....alot...you can shoot two hours early. It won't quite get you on schedule but then it's not so hard.

You see now why I am not a big fan of stalling once the caregiver has the data you have and if the number is safe to shoot (above 50). Of course, it takes time to get the data and know how your cat will react. But once you shoot your first green, if he gives you an above 50 number and you have supplies.....and you know how to handle a dropping number...then you are better off for both of you to shoot on time. Sometimes there are life situations that alter that but, generally, it's better once you have some experience and data to shhhooooottttt!

Stay on top of these numbers, ok? HC wears off...he could come back down. Be sure you get a +10 to see if he is headed up and you can shoot early. Take a .25u reduction if you do shoot early. If you skip, take it tomorrow morning. Congrats on that!

You've done super. Jackson is very lucky! I'll check back in shortly in case you have any questions, ok?
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson +11.25 88 AMPS 96 +1.25 63 +2 44 +2.5 47 +3

Thanks so much, Marje!

Yes, I now understand the anti-stalling stance -- it is a pain!

I think I am good to go -- will keep checking throughout the day and hopefully will be able to skip tonight, but we'll see.

At +4.75, he's at 64, which was his happy surfing number, so hopefully we'll stay there.

Thanks again for all your help!
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson +11.25 88 AMPS 96

Josie & Ripley said:
Isn't Marje amazing? And you did great last night, too! Jackson is looking good this morning :-D

Have a great day!
~Josie


Thanks, Josie, and yes she is amazing! This message board is such a wonderful support system. Hope you're having a great day, too!
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson AMPS 96 +1.25 63 +2 44 +2.5 47 +3 55 +4.75

Thank you both very much!

One thing.....I don't have an anti stalling "stance". It is an important tool when new members are starting out to give them some level of confidence. It allows them to see what the kitty will do and also allows them to usually see numbers come up and feel better about shooting a little higher number. It's when CGs have data and CAN safely shoot that I urge them to take the big step with one of us coaching. It pays off...but there is an important role in stalling when members are new or if kitty is in the 40s.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson AMPS 96 +1.25 63 +2 44 +2.5 47 +3 55 +4.75

Ah, yes. I will re-categorize it as an pro-shooting encouragement at the right time. And what you describe was my experience -- I couldn't have gone right to shooting low without stalling first for a bit. Or without having the more experienced members walking me through it. It's funny how quickly you gain confidence, too, after doing it with someone else.

Thanks again!
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson AMPS 96 +1.25 63 +2 44 +2.5 47 +3 55 +4.75

That's all very true. I bumped up a post on Advice for New Members from a New Member. It's a worthwhile read. One of the suggestions is to go back and read your first few posts and you can see how far you've come. It cracks me up when we read ours.
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson AMPS 96+1.25 63+2 44+2.5 47+3 55+3.75 64+5

At +5, Jack is back down to 50. He's also acting like he isn't feeling very good -- lethargic and a little withdrawn -- I suppose this is a lot of change in his little body plus all the HC food spikes, etc. I gave him 1 tsp. of HC and a few kibbles of EVO because it makes him happy. Here's hoping we can inch up to the 60s and hang out there for the rest of the day.
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson +11.25 88 AMPS 96

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. woooohoooo!! Nice 'hooting! And what a lovely surf jackson had going on .. very impressive mister! have a great day guys!

Thanks--he did surf well last night -- can't get much more consistent than that! It's been a wild ride today, and I think we're all ready for a reduction and some sleep!

Hope you're having a good day, too!
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson AMPS 96+1.25 63+2 44+2.5 47+3 55+3.75 64+5

Looks like the HC is wearing off. Keep an eye on him and also...when was the last time you tested for ketones? It's unlikely but they can have ketones even in normal numbers. MOST likely is his body is getting adjusted from high numbers to low ones. It took Gracie a while and it seemed at first that she always felt better at higher numbers and was quiet at low ones.

I'd really love it if you abolished the dry completely. Have you tried freeze dried chicken treats instead? That would be a much better treat for him than dry. Time to cut the apron strings. :-D

And if he'll eat a bite, I'd give him some LC to try to get him back on the old surfboard.
 
Re: 1/21 Jackson AMPS 96+1.25 63+2 44+2.5 47+3 55+3.75 64+5

I hear you about the dry food. I haven't given him any in a long time and just gave him a few. But I hear you. We're still looking for a dry and affordable treat. The freeze-dried fish I tried went over well but is too expensive to keep up with, esp. with another kitty who feels that he needs a treat whenever Jack gets one! Going to try the bonito flakes that I read about. Or maybe just cook up some chicken breasts myself.

I actually have never tested for ketones -- my vet said that there weren't any when he was diagnosed and never suggested that I test for them. But I have been noticing that most people here do so and will pick up some strips tonight when I'm getting more lancets.

Jack just ate a few tsps of LC and a little salt-free tuna juice and did a little grooming, so that makes me feel a little better.
 
Jack is definitely feeling a little better -- less lethargic and more interactive. He was 88 at +10, so I decided not to shoot at PM -- we're all going to bed early and will start over tomorrow with a reduced dose!

Thanks again to Marje for all the sage advice and help.
 
You're welcome and hope you get some sleep. I'm glad he's feeling better.

BTW, check the tuna if its human. If it has vegetable broth, it probably includes soy which kitties shouldn't have. There are a couple kinds of human tuna that actually ARE packed just in water.

Ni Ni!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top