1/21 Gandolf PMPS 282

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34881
WCR: All P's Present

Good Morning Everyone ~O)

Big surprise from Gandolf this morning. AMPS 87. I'm suppose to run out the door and he does this!!

I'm not comfortable shooting 3.75 U so what do you suggest?

I could possibly do my first appointment by phone and be around for 1.5 hours, and I apologize for such a last-minute
SOS - but truly I was not expecting this. Guess his shed finally filled! I would so appreciate your advice.

Thanks

Cee
 
Re: 1/20 Gandolf 87 SOS Help!

Have you fed yet?

If not, don't. And let's get a test in 15 minutes.

How long can you realistically stall?
 
Re: 1/20 Gandolf 87 SOS Help!

I'd be hesitant to shoot the full dose as well. I'm concerned that you'll only be available for 1.5 hrs if he drops further. Have you been able to re-test to see which direction his numbers are heading?
 
Re: 1/20 Gandolf 87 SOS Help!

Shucks I already fed him. But went in and poked him right now, almost a half an hour after first poke. I didn't feed him till right now.

I put a tsp. of gravy on top of his LC, thinking maybe I can control how low he goes. I'd much prefer to shoot something than nothing if I can manage that. So thought the tad bit of HC would help me do that. Does that sound like a safe plan?
 
Re: 1/20 Gandolf 87 SOS Help!

I'm thinking to shoot 3U to help keep his shed full and his numbers from going too high. I will shoot again tonight at regular time if his #s are right. Short time will mean larger dose and perhaps we can navigate like that what do you think? Not exactly protocol but sounds practical. Is this beany thinking right?

Cee
 
Re: 1/20 Gandolf 87 SOS Help!

Cee, the problem with feeding HC then shooting is that it will boost him up, but will likely wear off at about the same time as the insulin kicks in, and he will drop...and you will be gone and unable to intervene. Not a good strategy. How long will you be gone?
 
Re: 1/20 Gandolf 87 SOS Help!

It sounds like he was surfing. Your error in feeding him the first time in lower numbers is a pretty consistent mistake. I did it the first time too!

Our drawback here is you fed HC on top of the meal. So we know we will be dealing with a food spike, we just don't have a clue how much or when it wears off how hard the drop will be.

Hopefully Sienne will chime in hear soon.

I agree to shooting something, the question is just how much?
 
Re: 1/20 Gandolf 87 SOS Help!

I would be more conservative than shooting 3.0u. There's going to be some shed action. I was thinking more along the lines of 2.75u. Also, a re-test would be helpful to know where Gandolf's numbers are.

Here's Libby's post on low pre-shots.
 
Re: 1/20 Gandolf 87 SOS Help!

I understand that you want to put something in the shed, I'm wondering if you will be able to monitor at all today. Given Gandy's history, I would be hesitant to shoot more than a BCS dose....he tends to not always eat when he is low, and doesn't always bounce right away. Safety first. The shed will refill.

I agree with Sienne, 3.0u is too much IMO.
 
Re: 1/20 Gandolf 87

BG is 124. Shot 2.75 at virtually +13.

Thank you so much for the support - I will monitor him the very best I can. So late. Gotta go. :dizcat
This day is gonna turn out to be a very good day.

Cee & Gandolf :dizcat
 
Re: 1/21 Gandolf +13 87 AMPS 124 BCS 2.75

BCS = Big Chicken Sh*t

Since you shot an hour late, you can make up 30 min. tonight.

Is there any possibility of shifting your shot time earlier so you're not so tight on time in the AM? I realize this may not be possible but it's just a thought.
 
1/21 Gandolf +13 87 AMPS 124 +4 129 +7 212

OK. Back home now and it looks like we navigated through this safe enough. Was able to jet home between clients and check on him. Hope he doesn't bounce too high on this, maybe we pulled it off. Anyway, time will tell. I felt like I was navigating white water on a raft. Thanks to you all who came to our aid and support. Great coaching!

Time for a break.

See ya later this evening

Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/21 Gandolf PMPS 282 Dose Question

Question for this evening: Do I shoot his current 3.75 or do I reduce? What do you shoot after a BCS? I'm not quite ahead of this yet confused_cat

cee
 
Re: 1/21 Gandolf PMPS 282 Dose Question

When you shoot a BCS dose, you go back to the original dose. (The only exception being if you shot a reduced dose because your cat was below 50 at shot time.) Gandolf didn't earn a reduction -- he was too low for you to shoot your usual dose and then leave.

I'd asked earlier whether it's feasible for you to shift your shot time a little earlier so you have more time to negotiate low numbers in the morning.

Also, it's helpful to be able to test 15 - 20 min. after your first test to see if the numbers are rising or falling.
 
Re: 1/21 Gandolf PMPS 282 Dose Question

+11.5 =282
PMPS 288

original 3.75U


I'd asked earlier whether it's feasible for you to shift your shot time a little earlier so you have more time to negotiate low numbers in the morning.
I am home more in the morning than I am in the evening. Several evenings during the week I get home past 9p.m. though I try not go past 9:30 p.m. it does happen. So that's why I've scheduled his 12/12 around the later time in the evening. Of course that means I shoot later in the morning. Its the nature of my working schedule. Its works most the time.


Also, it's helpful to be able to test 15 - 20 min. after your first test to see if the numbers are rising or falling.
A timely reminder, and yes, that was very helpful tonight. Also, I see the importance of waiting that 15-20 mins. before feeding, and testing again to see if it's a rising or falling #.

Big learning day. I'm thinking I'll be waking up tonight getting a reading.

Cee & Gandolf
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top