1/21 DAVIDSON AMPM 338 +4 333 +8 293 PMPS 287

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Been on 1.5u now for 3 full days and Davidson had not dropped and is the same as when he was on 1u.

In discussions with my Vet, if there is not a significant decrease by tomorrow's +9, then for his AMS I will increase his dose to 2u twice daily.

Davidson's weight is 14.77 lbs, he is active playing throughout the day as we always do, and he is big and very muscular. FYI - his current BG's are the same as when he was switched to wet food only without insulin.

Your thoughts?? Wendy has also suggested the increase as she thought there would be a drop as well.

Thanks

Shawna
 
Tonite was his lowest preshot yet. His numbers are very very slowly coming down. Has to be a good thing. I do think he needs an increase though.your nadirs are between 200 and 300 now so the protocol would say 0.25 increase but I think your vet said 0.5?

Danger in 0.5 is cats are sensitive to small doses and you can skip the good dose. But really your nadirs are so close to 300 you would probbaly be ok at 0.5..

But it's up to you, you hold the syringe!

Wendy
 
Shawna --

My inclination is to suggest you stick with the protocol and raise Davidson's dose to 1.75u for 6 cycles/3 days. The rationale behind the smaller increase is that if you increase by too much, you can miss what is a good dose. With some cats, too large of a dose can put the cat in higher numbers (e.g., there can be a lot of bouncing). The value of the Tight Regulation Protocol is that the increases are systematic so you don't go past what could be a good dose for Davidson.
 
You said he is active? Doesn't sound like he is getting worse, plus we are seeing more yellows. But you hold the syringe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top