? 1/21 Chipchip AMPS 257, +5 117 - Is the bouncing effect stabilizing?

TrepTheSnake

Member Since 2023
Previoius thread where I was concerned by numbers all over the place https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/chipchip-1-20-amps-502-im-completely-confused.273239/


  • I bought Royal Canin Diabetic Food (dry). 5,4% sugar istead of 18% (Satiety). What could be the impact on the BG. Should I be concerned to bring my cat to hypo value with a switch? She never had any issues stomach wise for food switch so I'm not concerned by that
  • Her longest (known) streak with no value above 360. It's a small win but it's a win.
  • I had to adjust between 3 and 2 units. Following my vet advice to administer 2.0 when value between 108 and 72. There's good chance I switch to 2.5 unit tonight.

Any opinions welcomed!
 

Hi! it is not the glyco one, it's specifically diabetic. It looks like the one in the picture below. The mention MAX Sugar 5.4% is on the side of the bag. Also, if the reading is okay tonight, I'll move to 2.5 units.

<
vhn-weight-management-diabetic-cat-dry-packshot
 
According to the website you sent, it does also state sugar 5,4% so it seems to be named differently but is still the same product? I guess carbohydrate and sugar are not the same things... It's frustrating but I did not have access to the chart when I bought it and I just spent 100$ on that.... It will have to do and at least it's still below the satiety (and was recommended by the vet) . I'll look at my other options when it's empty.


The chart mentionned it has no dry food though. Not sure if the values are the same. I'm aware wet food is better.
 
The dry food seems to be misleading; it lists dietary starches as separate from sugars. Starch is a carbohydrate; they likely mean simple sugars…
 
According to the website you sent, it does also state sugar 5,4% so it seems to be named differently but is still the same product? I guess carbohydrate and sugar are not the same things... It's frustrating but I did not have access to the chart when I bought it and I just spent 100$ on that.... It will have to do and at least it's still below the satiety (and was recommended by the vet) . I'll look at my other options when it's empty.


Yeah that’s frustrating. Tried wet food? Fancy feast turkey/giblets is 2-3% carbs by dry weight, sam eats 3 per day, costs around 60 cents USD per can.

Also; if you do switch to a low carb food do it gradually. Your cats insulin requirements are almost certainly being raised a lot from the high carb foods. If you switch suddenly like a lot of people do your cat could drop too low, which can be fatal.
 
Yeah that’s frustrating. Tried wet food? Fancy feast turkey/giblets is 2-3% carbs by dry weight, sam eats 3 per day, costs around 60 cents USD per can.

Also; if you do switch to a low carb food do it gradually. Your cats insulin requirements are almost certainly being raised a lot from the high carb foods. If you switch suddenly like a lot of people do your cat could drop too low, which can be fatal.

Like this one? It's more costly here, close to 1$ per can in Canada. I'm surprised that this supermarket food is better for the health of a cat than the specifically diabetic one :( that's dumb hahah

81o03TmhiUL._AC_SL1500_.jpg
 
You should be able to return the Royal Canin if you would like to it’s very expensive. Just tell them kitty wouldn’t eat it

Thank, I appreciate the suggestion but if it’s open they won’t. it’s costly but not more than the cans even the cheap Fancy feast unfortunately (here in canada at least it’s close to 1$ a can do 150$ a month…)
 
Like this one? It's more costly here, close to 1$ per can in Canada. I'm surprised that this supermarket food is better for the health of a cat than the specifically diabetic one :( that's dumb hahah

81o03TmhiUL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

Yes; that one. It’s what I feed sam; you can get them from walmart for 90 cents each, or you can price match them at Save On Foods (just bring up the price from walmart.ca and they’ll give them to you for 90 cents).

Realistically sam should eat 2.5 per day, he does 3 sometimes if he’s super hungry. 30 days times 3 is 90 a month, and that’s after tax.

You can also try friskies pate. Higher carbs (5-6%) but about the same cost as FF except almost twice as big.

In total it costs me 80 cents a day in needles, maybe 40-50 cents a day in insulin, and 2.50-3 a day in food and 2 dollars in test strips and supplies. So maybe 6 bucks a day to treat him. So 180 per month. If i tested a bit less I could cut that back some more. Subtract the 30-40 a month in food i was spending before on dry food and due to his diabetes it’s costing me 140-150 a month. It sucks for sure, but it isn’t as bad as i thought it would be.
 
Last edited:
Thank, I appreciate the suggestion but if it’s open they won’t. it’s costly but not more than the cans even the cheap Fancy feast unfortunately (here in canada at least it’s close to 1$ a can do 150$ a month…)

I’m in Canada as well so I feel your pain, food and testing is expensive it feels like I’m always hunting for a cheaper way to get things done. Most places will take a return even if it is open as long as there is less than 1/3 or 1/4 missing, it’s only way to find out it kitty will eat it. If it is from the vet they should absolutely take it back. If you’re happy with it no pressure
 
Yes; that one. It’s what I feed sam; you can get them from walmart for 90 cents each, or you can price match them at Save On Foods (just bring up the price from walmart.ca and they’ll give them to you for 90 cents).

Realistically sam should eat 2.5 per day, he does 3 sometimes if he’s super hungry. 30 days times 3 is 90 a month, and that’s after tax.

You can also try friskies pate. Higher carbs (5-6%) but about the same cost as FF except almost twice as big.

In total it costs me 80 cents a day in needles, maybe 40-50 cents a day in insulin, and 2.50-3 a day in food and 2 dollars in test strips and supplies. So maybe 6 bucks a day to treat him. So 180 per month. If i tested a bit less I could cut that back some more. Subtract the 30-40 a month in food i was spending before on dry food and due to his diabetes it’s costing me 140-150 a month. It sucks for sure, but it isn’t as bad as i thought it would be.


That’s a good point. Amazon has 24 for 23$ (tax included). I’ll consider it for sure! thank you!
 
Canada here as well, @chuckstables about the Friskies pate, found a 32 pack of the 5 oz can Pate greatests hits mix (salmon, turkey &giblets ,chefs dinner, and seafood) for $28.47. Also a 12 pak Friskies pate (chicken, salmon, whitefish/tuna dinner) for $10.77. Recently have been investigating cheaper options as well.
Nice savings if kittie likes those. The FF is 3.5 oz, I do still buy those and shop around. Walmart was good
For dry (just to be devil's advocate) i found Dr Elseys Clean protein Chicken ( 6-8% carbs) but only at Petsmart so far, they seem to be having supply issues. And the Wellness Core at a few pet stores (~11% carbs).
 
Also, if the reading is okay tonight, I'll move to 2.5 units.
I know you are following your vets advice about how many units to give
Regarding the dose of Lantus…Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle not the preshot BG. And Lantus doesn’t like to have the dose changed around too much.
I see your vet told you
she told me to give 3 u fil next week and 2.0 if BG between 4 and 6)? could she get used to that?
I would take @tiffmaxee advice she said
I would be giving 2.75 or 2.5 units as I mentioned before.
Have you read the 2 dosing to follow for Lantus/Basaglar?
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

You would need to follow SLGS Method since you are feeding dry food
I would read about the dosing methods and add SLGS to your signature and your spreadsheet
From the Sticky about SLGS
You shouldn't be changing the doses going by the pre shot number or you will never get your kitty regulated

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
@TrepTheSnake
 
Last edited:
I'm surprised that this supermarket food is better for the health of a cat than the specifically diabetic one :( that's dumb hahah
I know right? I now think many pet food companies are just like big pharm, and any other co that does honestly need to make big profits to keep shareholders happy.... enough of that. sorry. my point is that from reading info on Cats.org, Lisa Piersons food chart and others.... my 1st main take away from all of it was this... Dr Lisa stated she would rather see a cat being fed the cheapest WET food on the market than one of the most expensive vet approved prescription diet DRY kibbles. Her point being that dry kibble has a very high degree of processing, its high temperature prepared, needs fillers etc in order to stay crunchy and palatable. Dry is inherently higher in carbs for these reasons. Wet canned is not so much. I am making a sweeping generalization here maybe, if so I am sure some smart ones here will correct my errored ways. :bookworm::bookworm::joyful:
 
Canada here as well, @chuckstables about the Friskies pate, found a 32 pack of the 5 oz can Pate greatests hits mix (salmon, turkey &giblets ,chefs dinner, and seafood) for $28.47. Also a 12 pak Friskies pate (chicken, salmon, whitefish/tuna dinner) for $10.77. Recently have been investigating cheaper options as well.
Nice savings if kittie likes those. The FF is 3.5 oz, I do still buy those and shop around. Walmart was good
For dry (just to be devil's advocate) i found Dr Elseys Clean protein Chicken ( 6-8% carbs) but only at Petsmart so far, they seem to be having supply issues. And the Wellness Core at a few pet stores (~11% carbs).

The problem with those pck is that maybe one or two of the flavours are high carb :/ I’ll need to investigate to see if one of the 3 flavours combo all offer good options in terms of carbs
 
Back
Top