1/21 Chianti amps 390 pmps 155 +5 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

itzj

Member Since 2014
Well I was happy to see the 155. Now I want to bang my head against the wall. I wish he would do a flatter cycle.

Do I have to auto reduce or can I watch another cycle or two? I'm home all day tomorrow except for 30 minutes when he'll be at +10. Friday I have to be out from +8.5 - +10 but could get my brother to come over if he is low. Is there a point where I kind of have to see what he does? The 3.5 just didn't seem to pull him down much.

Sorry I've been off for a bit. Kids, life and all.
 
Last edited:
I would do another test in 1/2 hour after that 55 to see if he's going lower. If he goes below 50 via the TR protocol, it's time to reduce. You were doing SLGS which is a reduction below 90. And sometimes kitties just need to go up and down and up and down before they are really ready for that reduction. That's one of the reasons e call it a dance. :rolleyes:

I notice that you've been doing all of your evening tests at the same time, +5 - probably your before bed test. You might want to try to mix up the tests a bit, maybe some at +4. Sometimes if kitty wants a reduction, they'll go low earlier. Might want to try that next time you see a all day numbers slide.
 
Under the slgs is it an auto reduction anytime you see the drop below 90?

I'm having trouble not having big feelings about a reduction since that 3.5 was disappointing. These few times he's dipped into blue and green he looks so good. Is it worth trying to get between the doses?

And the kicker in all this is the vet still wants me at 4u. She is going to flip out if she hears I reduce it even more.
 
Will try to test soon. Have to change a diaper and resettle a toddler first. Someone needs to invent a microchip that reads bg already so I can just wave my phone over him like magic. :)
 
with a newly diagnosed cat, you really do want to take the reductions when the cat goes below 50. If you checked Chianti again and he was below 50 I would go ahead and reduce by 0.25u.

You don't have to tell your vet if you don't want them to know.;)
 
At what point do you let them go below 90 at nadir? Because aren't greens also healing numbers? Just trying to make sense of how people get to the charts where most of the numbers are in green.
 
I'm headed for bed but i wanted to take another stab at your question. Cats go through phases - and yes, the goal is to get the spreadsheet to be a sea of green. Or at least under 120, which is considered the normal range.

Some cats will go to green easily, some will bounce all the way down the dosing scale, still showing lots of high numbers on the way. The more time a cat's body spends in normal numbers, the more they will accept it as normal, and hopefully, the bouncing will lessen and eventually stop. Those normal numbers are also the range in which the pancreas is able to heal - so it's important for him to spend time there. In your case, in this phase, the best way to get him to the all green spreadsheet is to keep "showing him the green" so Chianti's body will relearn it as normal. When he gets to green numbers, one trick is to give about 2 teaspoons of regular low carb food to help him "surf" along in green.

With a cat that has failed at holding reductions, then we go to plan B. But you haven't had that experience with Chianti yet, so he's still on plan A, which is to take the reductions when he goes below 90 with SLGS or 50 with TR Protocol.

Does that make sense?
 
Throwing another option out there for you - we have one member here who is following SLGS, but has modified it for her cat, so that the reduction point is 50. If you do that, or maybe somewhere between 50 and 90, you have to make sure you are testing enough to catch those lows, because you don't want Chianti any lower than that. The SLGS protocol gives you a bit of room above the hypo level with a higher reduction value.

This forum is a mix of people following TR and SLGS. So you will see some spreadsheets with more green in them, likely those following TR.
 
Because you haven't seen so much green I would definitley be waiting until the below 50 before taking a reduction. With that 55 you certainly don't want to be increasing just yet! What you have going on now is a fight between the insulin and Chianti's liver which is used to higher numbers. You keep pushing down with the insulin and the liver keeps pushing up to get back to the higher numbers that it has grown accustomed to thinking of as normal. Every liver is different so every dance is different but you keep doing it right and the insulin will win in the end. Numbers below about 120 are the healing numbers the more time the kitty spends there the more time the pancreas has to heal and go into action in combination with the insulin to reeducate the liver.
 
Thanks for the responses. Going to process and get the kids engaged in something so I can type with a clear head. I really appreciate everyone who takes time to explain all this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top