1/21 Bella AMPS 252 +3 142 +5 113 +6 132 PMPS 154

cecile & bella

Member Since 2021
I am so happy. Bella's been diagnosed in October and her BG was never good, sometimes it would go below 300 but mostly in the 300-400 range, even with up to 4 units of insulin twice a day.
I feel guilty because we realized with my vet that I was not doing the injections properly, I was probably going intra muscular or intra dermal instead of subcutaneous. Thanks to the videos and posts here and to my vet who showed me again, I am finally doing it right. That plus the higher dose, I don't know, but something is working, today was the first time she's been in the 100-200 range all day :)
I just wanted to share! I hope it's OK.
 
Awesome news that you are seeing better numbers finally. A question for you, would it be possible to fill in the spreadsheet for the days that are missing so far in January? It would be good for us to see what doses she's been getting all along.
 
She was at 5 units then we went back to 4 after we realised my mistake, her numbers stayed high so we went back to 5. I only fill the days when I measure her BG, so about once a week. Do you recommand to test every day?
 
Yes, we strongly recommend testing at a minimum before every shot, to make sure it's safe to give insulin. Our dosing methods also need to know how low the dose is taking the cat before we make dose changes, so that means at least a curve and some spot checks somewhere in the middle of the cycle (between the shots).

We typically make dose changes by 0.25 or 0.5 units at a time at the dose size Bella is at.
 
Back
Top