1/21 Baby PMPS +11 267 QUESTION Never mind too late now -

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Member Since 2009
Good morning, Lantus Land ~O)
Feeling a little defeated here, on .75 we were seeing wonderful results, now back on .50 it is yellows again. Can I put her back on .75 or somewhere between .50 & .75?
Would love to monitor it with the weekend coming up :mrgreen:
QCR, too early to tell.. but Baby is being herself... cuddly & warm in the mornings & eating her breakfast, Sadi & her got into it big time last night for some reason.. I did notice a litle bit of the Lantus smell on her last night (just the overall smell) not on her fur or anything.. so I wonder if Sadi is picking up on that since their smell is sensitive.
I wish for all you, a Beautiful.. Blessed Day & hope all furbabies are fabulous!!

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 1/21 Baby AMPS 279 Doscrease???

I would hold the dosecrease through today at least. Rebound hormones can last up to 72 hours in the body. Even the blue she saw last night could be making her bounce a little. Personally I would wait and see what happens...just for a little bit longer.
 
Re: 1/21 Baby AMPS 279 Doscrease???

Cassandra, I value your opinion & experience & will hold the dose thru today & then seek advice tomorrow if need be. Thank you for your prompt response! Have a wonderful day ;-)
 
Re: 1/21 Baby AMPS 279 Doscrease???

I agree with Cassandra. It looks like she is still rebounding from the 40's the other night. Hopefully they will clear out today :smile:
 
Re: 1/21 Baby AMPS 279

Heather, thank you to you too ;-)

We will most definitely follow the two of your's advice & I hope you have a wonderful day too!!
 
Re: 1/21 Baby AMPS 279

Baby is a little drama queen. She will get back to those pretty blues and greens in no time. Paws crossed over here cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/21 Baby AMPS 279 +3 197

Good morning, Paige!! Back to Blue.. barely.. but there!! Comfortable # I feel good to tbp too!! Have an excellent day & I am sure we will be in touch ;-)
 
Re: 1/21 Baby AMPS 279 +3 197

Nice response so far, I'm sure she will do even better today. She is making progress. It truly is a sugar dance huh? Have a good day!
 
Re: 1/21 Baby AMPS 279 +3 197

Hi Nicole. No doubt that Baby is doing a little rebound from her low greens that she had. You've gotten great advice from everybody this morning on holding the dose so I am just going to say that I hope the rebound ends soon and she starts to give you some good numbahs. Nice to see she threw you a blew number in there today.
 
Re: 1/21 Baby AMPS 279 +3 197 QUESTION

Thanks, everyone! I always appreciate your kind words, encouragement & excellent advice.
Hoping for continually good #s :RAHCAT

**Does anybody know why .50 was not working, then .75 was & now we go back to .50? I don't at all question going back to .50 because I trust in you all - just trying to learn the method to the madness! Why will .50 possibly work now - when it did not before?
 
Re: 1/21 Baby AMPS 279 +3 197 One more DOSE QUESTION

Nicole - maybe Baby's pancreas started to produce a teeny weeny bit of insulin and therefore she may require less Lantus?? I am just trying to think of the reason. Once her rebound settles down you can tell if the 0.75U is still needed.

confused_cat
 
Re: 1/21 Baby AMPS 279 +3 197 QUESTION

Nicole & Baby said:
**Does anybody know why .50 was not working, then .75 was & now we go back to .50? I don't at all question going back to .50 because I trust in you all - just trying to learn the method to the madness! Why will .50 possibly work now - when it did not before?

Sometimes you have to go up in dose and give the pancreas just a little more help before being able to go down in dose again. By keeping them in normal non-diabetic numbers as long as we can, we allow their pancreatic beta cells to recover. The more the cells recover, the more a kitty's body is able to utilize its own insulin and the less exogenous (outside) insulin is needed.

It is a true dance - one step forward, one step back....and on and on. :smile:
 
Re: 1/21 Baby AMPS 279 +3 197 One more DOSE QUESTION

Thanks, Cassandra and Sasha!!
I am trying not to have soooo many questions.. But I keep thinking of them.. I do appreicate your patience & helping to educate me. :-D
 
Re: 1/21 Baby PMPS 318

Very disappointing after some great #s this week, I will be anxious to get back on .75
This is our worst # yet & I worry about doing further damage to Baby's body :sad:
 
Re: 1/21 Baby PMPS 318

Aww, it looks like she is still rebounding from those low numbers?
 
Re: 1/21 Baby PMPS 318 +2 243

I dont know Paige : (
I am real sad now, .50 is not her dose & she is just gonna be high now.
 
Re: 1/21 Baby PMPS 318 +2 243

Nicole & Baby said:
I dont know Paige : (
I am real sad now, .50 is not her dose & she is just gonna be high now.

Nicole,

I totally know where you are coming from. I just experienced the same thing last night with Sami. Check out her spreadsheet and you will see that she was doing fairly good this week, then last night she spiked up over 400. I was a mess and wanted so badly to give her an increase right away, but decided to stick to protocol and take the advice giving on this board. And check out Sami's numbers today. All yellows and blues, from the red last night. I am so glad I stuck with the dose even though I was so discouraged.

I hope Baby shows you some better numbers soon.
 
Re: 1/21 Baby PMPS 318 +2 243

((((Nicole))))

I am so sorry you are sad. I wish I could help. :sad: But think on the positive side...you know she will go back down, if not tonight but soon. She has shown that before. Let's see if anyone has any ideas on when you can go back to 0.75U
 
Re: 1/21 Baby PMPS 318 +2 243

(((msarobix))) (((Paige)))
I am going to look at Sami's spreadsheet now.. it just hurts my heart that I could be helping her & just when she was showing improvement.. she is higher than ever. I am always going to follow what FDMB suggests, because I know they are right.. but my heart is hurting & I don't want further damage to her body. :-Q

Just feeling sorry for myself & her... :?
 
Re: 1/21 Baby PMPS 318 +2 243

Looks like she's coming down already, that's good. See what tomorrow brings. It's really tough to measure, but for the next dosecrease maybe you'll need something inbetween like a fat .5 or a skinny .75. A drop can really make a difference.

You're doing great. She's new at this, too, and likely had high numbers before the diagnosis, you just didn't know about them.
 
Re: 1/21 Baby PMPS 318 +2 243

Hang in there, kiddo. I completely understand your frustration, but I don't think you're doing any further damage to Baby's body by following the protocol and taking small steps. It's strange the way things work in the beginning - one day you want to leap for joy and the next day you want to pull your hair out. I think it's some kind of newbie initiation. ;-)

You just have to trust that everything is going to work out remember that old saying - "Slow and steady wins the race."

You and Baby are a great team and you're doing a great job!!!
 
Re: 1/21 Baby PMPS 318 +2 243 +4 147

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Guess what guys?? Baby is doin her dance & lookin fine as wine!
 
Re: 1/21 Baby PMPS 318 +2 243 +4 147 +11 267 QUESTION

+11 Baby was very hungry - I typically hold off until getting AMPS, but tested her & went ahead & fed (I have a hard time not feeding when she is hungry)
Anyway, do I go ahead & get an AMPS - or can I shoot at +12 since the +11 was high enough & now will have a food spike or do I have to test again?
 
Re: 1/21 Baby PMPS 318 +2 243 +4 147 +11 267 QUESTION

Nicole & Baby said:
+11 Baby was very hungry - I typically hold off until getting AMPS, but tested her & went ahead & fed (I have a hard time not feeding when she is hungry)
Anyway, do I go ahead & get an AMPS - or can I shoot at +12 since the +11 was high enough & now will have a food spike or do I have to test again?

hey Nicole,

sometimes the number u get at +12 will surprise u.

I know what u mean at +11 before shot time, I had many +11 where some kitty was whining and whining for food, this is where a little treat came in, but treats dont always work lol
sometimes I would give in and gave about a tsp of food, and braced myself for the food spike at +12 shot time

if it were my cat, I would stick to the schedule of +12, even if I went ahead and fed and yes - I would get a BG check too, if it were my cat.
 
Morning Nicole , Baby and Sadi! I am sure you were upset to see a +11 in the 200's. I hope you can start with the 0.75U soon. I would hope that she would have cleared that rebound by now. I am such a newbie though that everyday is a lesson in how difficult this whole dance can be.

(((huggs and purrs)))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top